We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nice, but bad choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Sometimes when I'm in the Chicagoland area, I stay at the Hyatt in Deerfield. Sometimes the rates are surprisingly low (e.g. I got an excellent rate of $69 over Thanksgiving).

The main lobby is bright, modern, well-designed. There's a great gym and swimming pool. Beds are wonderfully comfortable.

The major cons:

The staff is unhelpful. Simple questions like 'Does the hotel offer a laundry service?' or 'How much is the breakfast buffet?' baffled the front desk staff.

Everything is extra. If you drink a bottle of water in the room, you pay. If you want internet, you pay. If you want to use the business center, you pay.

The MAIN TERRIBLE THING is the following:

Twice out of the three times I've stayed here, I've been assigned (different) rooms, all with one feature in common: a leaking toilet that is annoying as hell and that persists 24/7. On one occasion it was just a constant drip, drip, drip, but sometimes it's like a waterfall in there - and not in a soothing way. On one occasion I called to have it fixed and nothing was done. This time, a service person did come but I'm not sure whether the problem was solved completely.

I'm thinking this must be a common problem in the hotel, since it has happened to me on more than one occasion. It's certainly annoying enough to potentially put me off staying here again, even though the hotel is lovely in other ways.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Carly S-

I'm sorry to hear you thought the front desk staff wasn't helpful... That is very much unlike the team here, but I'm sorry if that was your experience. I will certainly share your comments with them, so they can improve upon the concerns you had.

We hope you decide to give us another chance, the next time you are in town.

Adam Patenaude
Hyatt Deerfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 607 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel knows how to do it right. Great customer service. Modern, comfortable, lobby area. The room showed some signs of age but nothing out of the ordinary. Prompt room service. Everyone was super helpful and accommodating. The price was great. I will surely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ginger2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Ginger2074-

Glad you enjoyed your stay... We look forward to having you back soon! If you ever need anything, don't hesitate to reach out.

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here with a hockey team.
Service at the front desk was spotty,depending on the time of day. I requested 2 wine glasses and was told I needed to call room service, the bar was right beside the desk. There was no staff at the bar or I would of asked there. I am not going to pay room service to deliver 2 empty wine glasses.
The charge for WIFI is outrageous . Every hotel provides free wifi these days.It wasn't even available in the lobby. Lots of unhappy kids unable to use their devices.
The coffee shop closes during the day.
The pool was great.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank northerngal_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

northerngal_7-

I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area of the hotel is clean and spacious and all services are on-time and of the highest quality. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here as part of a group attending a local field hockey tournament. I was in Chicago for work a couple of days prior, so I actually stayed here an extra night before most of the field hockey crowd arrived.

The hotel and rooms were clean. The amenities were in line with expectations. It is true that there was some noise in the halls in the late evenings once the field hockey girls arrived, but they generally had curfews, and I am not aware of any issues during the later hours. The price was good, the location was fine, service was good, and the the place was clean. That adds up to a good stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pick6king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

pick6king-

Thanks for the note; glad you enjoyed the hotel... Hope to see you again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend for a hockey tournament, and the management and so-called security were a joke.

First, they claim that they take care of their customers, yet I had to call the front desk three times to get them to quiet down some of the unruly guests located near my room. The next day I tried to discuss this with the manager, but he did not want to hear it. His excuse was that they were packed with hockey parents and they could do control the noise--what a joke. The manager even went so far as to say that some of the unruly people on the floor were with me, and this was not the case.

He did not even have the decency to be understanding. Clearly, this manager realized that he had me and everyone else in his hand, so he did not need to be helpful.

Never again will I stay here, and I will make sure anyone from my area who visits Chicago knows about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuBoy--Pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

christu-


I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent experience. I want to personally apologize for the noise that disturbed your stay.

We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. I am sorry if that was not the case during your stay. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel goes above and beyond to have great service! They make you feel at home from the time you check in, get to know your name at the restaurant and bar, and are always friendly. The hotel and rooms look recently renovated with modern furniture and finishes. Luckily it's a frequent stop for work, it's a great home away from home!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank cptra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

cptra-

Glad you enjoyed the hotel... We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We got our room at a chapter rate through a third party site but even at their standard rate it would have been fair. We were only here one night but it's a nice place for a long weekend. It was about 45 minutes from downtown Chicago with traffic but we enjoyed being in a suburb type area with a mall nearby.

Our room was nice and we enjoyed that we had a small sitting area that was divided from the bedroom. We had our 9 month old son with us and we were able to set up his pack n play in the living area and feel like we had our own "space". The decor was nice in the room and trendy in the lobby. Wish we had time to try out the bar. Not sure if all the rooms come with a mini fridge but ours did which was nice to keep bottles in. Also enjoyed that the TV could swivel between both rooms.

The hallways were a little dingy and needed some sort of aesthetic fix. The shower and toilet had a separate area with a door that was pretty cramped inside but I enjoyed being able to use the sink without needing to wait. My husband however pointed out that the light switch for the shower was on the outside and anyone could turn it off if they wanted.

Overall though the staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable and for the price it really was a great deal. Definitely recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank TheIrishSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

TheIrishSmile-

We are glad you enjoyed your stay... Hope to see you again soon!

Adam Patenaude
Hyatt Deerfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
0.7 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Deerfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Deerfield
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Deerfield/Lincolnshire
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Highland Park/Northbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Deerfield

Address: 1750 Lake Cook Rd, Deerfield, IL 60015-4628 (Formerly Hyatt Deerfield)
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range: $100 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Deerfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel. Newly Renovated Suite sized guest rooms to include 6 Executive Suites, 1 Presidential Suite, and 1 Hospitality Suite. Amenities to include: living room area with pull out couch, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, referigerators in room, turn down services available, business class floor, newly renovated restaurant and meeting space. A premier suburban corporate hotel located in the heart of Chicago's Northshore. The Hyatt Deerfield is ideally located just 14 miles from O'Hare International Airport and minutes from Fortune-500 companies such as, Abbott Pharmaceuticals, Kraft Foods, Baxter Healthcare, and Morgan Stanley Discover. Enjoy an evening at Ravinia Festival, a day at Chicago's Botanic Gardens, or the excitement of Six Flags Great America, all in close proximity. The Hyatt Deerfield offers cigars at our outdoor patio, newly renovated restaurant, atrium lounge, in-room dining, and a full fitness facility including indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and full line of cardiovascular equipment. Located off 294/94 express way 14 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Deerfield Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing