We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suburban Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you need to be in the Northern Suburbs of Chicago this is a great bet. If, you do not have a compelling reason to be there and prefer the ambience of the city of Chicago...then do not stay here.

This is a very clean, efficient, quiet, and comfortable modern hotel with rooms that are layed out as mini suites set next to the interstate and within a suburban office park. You need a car! Don't even consider staying here without your own transportation.

The hotel lobby is very beautiful and comfortable. This is a wonderful hotel if it fits your needs to be up in and close to all the Northern suburbs of Chicago.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

phk123-

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, with regards to your recent stay with us!

We greatly appreciate your business and hope you'll return soon to see us! I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Deerfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 577 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

So not impressed. Staff was pleasant and I didn't really deal with them, so this is totally not a service or staff issue, it is simply based on the fact that this place charges more than other hotels, yet provides less and tries to nickle and dime customers for everything!

- no free wi-fi
- no free breakfast
- smaller rooms (at least my King room was small)

Mind you the lobby was nice - but I don't plan on sleeping in the lobby. Definitely would not stay here again, unless it was free or really really cheap and I had nowhere better to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julianmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

julianmom-

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the staff!

All of our rooms are suite-style, so they are almost double the size of the average hotel room (there is a separate living space and sleeping area). As is the same with all full service hotels in this area (and most across the country), wifi and breakfast are not included in the room rate. There are plenty of low-tier hotels in the area which do include those amenities, but they are a much lesser quality property in all cases.

I hope you come back and see us again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went to a wedding and this was the closest hotel booked for out of town guests. Rooms were good size as their was an adjoining sitting area with a sofa bed so you can accommodate up to 3 or 4 people in a room. You could upgrade your room to include breakfast if you wish. It's a suburbia hotel and works if that's where you are visiting otherwise the city is our choice. Limo service was arranged by the hotel to take us to the airport however when we paid the driver we were charged extra then what was quoted by the hotel as we were three travelling.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebear59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

thebear59-

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel! We greatly appreciate the feedback... Being that we are a quick drive or train ride from the city, people enjoy staying with us so they can save $100-$200 per night on room accommodation... I hope the wedding was enjoyable and you'll stay with us again next time you're out this way!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My son's hockey team stayed here for the weekend. Starting with Taylor who set up the reservations and was able to accommodate us with the additional rooms and other requests, to Greg who checked myself and another mom in. We arrived first thing in the morning to do a day of shopping before the team bus showed up.
The front desk staff were very efficient in checking the team in, considering the team bus showed up 2 hours ahead of schedule!
The rooms were clean and modern. Just wished the pullouts were a little more comfortable.
Restaurant was pricey for breakfast, but there was nowhere else to go, unless you had a car.
I'm not sure why the charge of $9.95 a day for Internet. It should be free, as most hotels offer it for free.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busymom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

busymom64-

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the hotel... We were happy to have the hockey teams stay with us tht were in town for the tournament... We hope to have everyone back for next year's tournament!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great room. Clean, modern. Quiet. It is what you would expect from a Hyatt.

My son accessed the expensive wifi for $10 a day, but they kind enough to refund this money.

I understand the cash cow wifi is, but it is time to get over it and offer it for free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltime98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

traveltime98-

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience... We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel! Thank you again for your business... we hope to have you back soon!

Adam Patenaude
Hyatt Deerfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am a travel agent and arranged for my daughters soccer team to stay at this hotel the end of July. We chose this hotel because it was perfrectly situated between the location of the tournament in Waukegan and Chicago. Depending on the time of day it could take you anywhere between 30 and 60 minutes to get in and out of Chicago. It was very close to a train station and many restaurants. The hotel provided a list of restaurants that was very helpful but if they have not updated the list beware that some of the restaurants had been closed for almost a year.

The rooms were great especially for an extended stay with families. Updated, clean, roomy and very comfortable beds.

My breakfast buffet was perfect and was inlcuded in our rate. Had many options.

One of the biggest assets of the hotel is its lobby. It is huge and open with many sitting areas. It was a perfect gathering place with many TV's and ideal for the soccer team. Unfortunately, this asset is why I gave the hotel a 4 and not a 5. Any time we tried to gather in the lobby with any kind of food (pizza for the girls or cupcakes to celebrate my daughters birthday) we were told by the front desk staff that we were not allowed to have food there. Keep in mind we were cleaning everything up and not leaving anything. I am sure the reason for this is they wanted us to eat at the hotel. That is a bit unrealistic for the demographics of our group. Additionally, management needs to understand that if you have a lobby like that people are going to gather and want to possibly bring in pizza or something else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

luv2travel068-

Thank you for the feedback! I'm sorry to hear the desk gave you an outdates restaurant list; I'll certainly follo-wup to ensure that gets corrected. Guests are free to order pizzas and other outside food to be consumed in their rooms, however, for liability reasons, we do not allow this in public areas, without the appropriate waivers being signed and on file in advance. I'm sorry if this wasn't explained to you fully.

Thank you for your business, we hope you return soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Checkin quick and efficient. No reference to Priceline, was asked if I preferred a room near or away from the elevator. Room was clean and request for extra towels was handled quickly. This property has been recently remodeled; however they missed the mark on the bathrooms (should have ripped out wallpaper and added tile) and added outlets to the room. There was a powerstrip along one side of the bed and the other side had no place to charge my phone which I also use as my alarm. Also had to unplug a lamp in order to charge iPads during the evening. The management also needs to address room service dishes and trash being left in the hall for for extended periods of time.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank KathyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

KathyWI-

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience...We greatly appreciate your business and hope you'll stay with us again in the future!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
0.7 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
4.4 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Westin Chicago North Shore
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Deerfield/Lincolnshire
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Highland Park/Northbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Deerfield

Address: 1750 Lake Cook Rd, Deerfield, IL 60015-4628 (Formerly Hyatt Deerfield)
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range: $108 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Deerfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel. Newly Renovated Suite sized guest rooms to include 6 Executive Suites, 1 Presidential Suite, and 1 Hospitality Suite. Amenities to include: living room area with pull out couch, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, referigerators in room, turn down services available, business class floor, newly renovated restaurant and meeting space. A premier suburban corporate hotel located in the heart of Chicago's Northshore. The Hyatt Deerfield is ideally located just 14 miles from O'Hare International Airport and minutes from Fortune-500 companies such as, Abbott Pharmaceuticals, Kraft Foods, Baxter Healthcare, and Morgan Stanley Discover. Enjoy an evening at Ravinia Festival, a day at Chicago's Botanic Gardens, or the excitement of Six Flags Great America, all in close proximity. The Hyatt Deerfield offers cigars at our outdoor patio, newly renovated restaurant, atrium lounge, in-room dining, and a full fitness facility including indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and full line of cardiovascular equipment. Located off 294/94 express way 14 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Deerfield Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing