We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Embassy Suites Stay in Metro Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
147 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Good Embassy Suites Stay in Metro Chicago”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here for a 4-day Chicago-land vacation; picked the hotel due to its rates and since it was not downtown, its proximity to a Metra train station. The Embassy Suites here is like most of the others - two-room suite, breakfast buffet, manager's reception, etc. The room was great - two room suite with a sofa bed in the outer room and THREE sinks - so, we never had a problem getting ready or having to share space. One extra benefit this particular hotel provided was a shuttle bus that would take you to and pick you up from anywhere in a 2 to 3 mile radius - including (and this was extremely important) the Lake Cook METRA station. We bought 10-ride Metra passes and took the train to/from downtown each day. That was a huge benefit, we just had to allocate an extra hour each way for the train time.

The room was clean and kept that way during our stay. The common areas not so much - the breakfast area was decent if you got there at the beginning, but they had a hard time keeping up with it, so consequently things looked kind of "disarrayed" the later it got. I was also surprised that the breakfast was only open until 9:00 am on weekdays; usually it's 10:00 - so we were surprised the first morning, and got down there earlier the next few days.

The staff were friendly enough - the shuttle bus drivers were great; extremely friendly and helpful, and had good recommendations around the area for places to eat, shop, etc. There's really not much within walking distance, you need to take the shuttle to go out to eat or do things, but there was plenty within the 2 to 3 mile radius that they would drive to. Front desk was a mixed bag - some really nice, others kind of ambivalent. I tried to book a shuttle ride to the train station on Saturday morning, and they said quite casually, "oh we don't have a driver on the weekends". So had to figure it out myself and call a cab.

In conclusion, it's what you'd expect from an Embassy Suites, so good value, and apart from the weekday shuttle (and drivers) not much to set this apart from the others. I would consider staying here again only if the rate was really good; otherwise I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The breakfast area is on the West side, so East side rooms may be a bit quieter, but not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Reviewer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H, General Manager at Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Travel_Reviewer20,

Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Deerfield and for taking the time to provide the feedback from your recent visit. Thank you for the kind words regarding our drivers and the other positive aspects of your visit. I also thank you for your suggestions and recommendations. I apologize for the areas that were not exceptional during your visit.

Feedback such as yours is reviewed and we take corrective measures to continue to improve our services. Please contact me at the hotel if there is anything I may do either now or in the future.

Warm regards,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    243
    122
    36
    19
See reviews for
385
129
29
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, IL, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here for several nights in a row with my wife and 2 yr old son. We always look for a suite to stay in so that our son can sleep in a seperate room. This room had plenty of space for the 3 of us, and was very comfortable. I loved the courtyard area where they serve a great free breakfast every morning and have a "manager's reception" every evening. At the reception they serve very nice cocktails, beer, wine and have snacks.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_Pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad H, General Manager at Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Dana_pt,

Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Deerfield and for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were able to join us for the complimenatary breakfast and managers reception in the evening.

I agree that it is nice to have the separate parlor area for the children when traveling and many guests visit us for that very reason.

My hope is that you will visit again in the future and please let me know if I may assist you in any way.

Warm regards,

Brad

Brad Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Big rooms and 3 sinks which came in handy when 4 women were trying to get ready in the morning. Clean room, friendly staff and nice breakfast buffet. Easy parking, right off the interstate. Not too much close by to walk to but plenty close to drive to. We went to Ravinia park which was right up the road.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise in the morning. 2 double beds are not queen size but you can fit 2 no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerwith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family. Atrium is beautiful, rooms were very clean and loved the breakfast in the morning.
The only negatives I had were the mini fridge froze our milk and sodas and someone stole my daughters swim vest from the pool area while it was drying.
Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Wisconsin so that we could visit the Botanical Gardens, and the location is perfect for that. I was disappointed in the president's reception -- plenty of free booze, but only popcorn and chips to eat, basically. Unit was large and comfortable. We went swimming as well, and the pool was nice. My grandson enjoyed looking at the koi in the stream. Running water is always soothing after a long trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldlawmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful time in the Chicago area; stayed 3 nights at the Embassy Suites. The rooms were clean and exactly as pictured. The staff were wonderful and the gal at the front desk recommended the best pizza for delivery.

The Complimentary breakfast and Manager evening drinks with snacks was great-even though we only took advantage of the drinks one time.

The pool however was the only thing I was not too happy with, the water was cold and there was not shallow end for the the little ones. The shallowest was 3 ft with just a ladder, no steps. But I guess that is what you get when you stay at a Business hotel.

Other than that we had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Only 1 mile from the METRA train, great for getting into the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdrz1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My family and I stayed 3 nights at the embassy suites for my sisters graduation. The hotel was about 30 minutes from Great Lakes and about 30-45minutes to Chicago. We wanted a central location so this served us well. The hotel was nice and clean my nephew really enjoyed the koi fish pond. We really enjoyed the breakfast and mangers special. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
#2 of 6 in Deerfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
4.0 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Highland Park/Northbrook
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
2.4 mi away
The Westin Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield

Property: Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
Address: 1445 Lake Cook Rd, Deerfield, IL 60015-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the newly renovated full-service all-suite hotel located 14 miles from Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. Embassy Suites Chicago - North Shore/Deerfield is situated in an excellent location for easy access to several Fortune 500 headquarters, Chicago attractions, world-class shopping and a diverse array of restaurants. Relax in your spacious two-room suite and enjoy a range of home-like amenities such as two flat-screen TVs, a wet bar area with a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Accessible rooms are available.Start your day with a free cooked-to-order breakfast, and savor complimentary beverages and snacks at the Evening Reception*. If you’re busy, Room Service is available from Cadwell's Grille. Take advantage of the hotel’s BusinessLink™ Business Center and express mail service. Hold a meeting or conference in one of the five event venues, and enjoy the range of business amenities and services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Embassy Suites Deerfield
Deerfield Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing