We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful break...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A wonderful break...”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

A delightful country pub in the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. The rooms are worthy of a top rank hotel - beautiful bed linen, towels, state of the art fixtures and fittings. Our deal included a bottle of champagne and the Laurent Perrier duly arrived in time for a pre-dinner drink.

The menu for dinner was a bit on the stodgy side for me - a salad or a lighter dish would have been a good alternative, but there was plenty of quality food amongst the steak & kidney pudding, mixed grill and devilled kidneys to choose from. Prices were not out of the way. A modest, but well priced wine list was also available.

I would certainly recommend this pub as an ideal stopover if touring the Derbyshire Peak District, and it is most convenient if you wish to combine it with a visit to Chatsworth House.

A lovely break - would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CugsyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Glad you enjoyed your short break with us we will make sure to put some lighter dishes on the special boards.
Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    126
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
52
308
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this new Devonshire B&B during a recent motorcycle trip. The B&B has only been open a short while and really is very up to date and well appointed. There's a private car park off the road which was great for the bike overnight. The village itself is picture postcard stuff and the trip up to the hotel via the grounds of Chatsworth House was very pretty.
We received a warm welcome upon check in and were shown up to the room and given a brief tour. The room itself was very clean and pretty much brand new. Great shower, but no bath (my wife complained to me). After a hard day on the back of the bike, I probably missed a trick in not getting a room with a bath :-) The room was tiny, but had a great comfy bed with super pillows.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant as well as breakfast. Lot's of locally sourced produce on the menu, but unfortunately a little burnt when served up (bacon, bread rolls and Bakewell tart). Also, I'm a Guinness fan and the strange "surger" set up they have in the bar wasn't to my liking.
Overall, we had a great stay at the Devonshire Arms and felt that is was a good value for money stay. A little more attention on the food preparation would make the difference between almost perfect and perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDevonshireArms, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Should you choose to stay with us again, we will be sure to allocate you a bedroom with a bath. I apologise that we did not exceed your expectations with your evening meal and breakfast; we have now put a more strict ‘approval’ procedure in place, so that no food leaves the kitchen without meeting our usual high standards.
Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is a very good option if you don't want to pay the slightly inflated price of its cousin in Beeley, where we have stayed a few times. Got a great offer to come in the first month so thought that we would give it a go. So it is very clean and contemporary, our room ( Fold) was a little small - great for overnight but don't plan on spending much time in it. Excellent bathroom and fantastic shower. They forgot the included champers, ( but I have experienced that before at Beeley - I don't think the Central Reservations office have a great attention to detail - they also sent me the wrong confirmation! Too much cutting and pasting I think) Breakfast was very good - great ingredients from the Chatsworth Farm shop but I have never seen so little fruit on a plate to share between 4! Finally our room was over the car park and here is the rub....three deliveries between 5.30am and 7.00am made for a very disturbed night.....come on Devonshire Arms you can do better than that!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thanks for the comments ,I have already asked our suppliers to deliver later,so not to disturb guests.
Hope this won't stop you from visiting us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan
(Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My wife and I happened to be the very first guests to stay here, and so I am pleased to be the first to comment on this establishment on Tripadvisor. Staying for 2 nights at this country pub with rooms was an extremely enjoyable experience - the newly refurbished room was furnished to a high standard and very comfortable, but the best aspect of our stay was the staff. Helpful, courteous and accomodating, they went that extra mile to please. Manager Lee and his assistant, 'grandma' Christine, were constantly busy getting this new venture off the ground but still found time to attend to guests' needs with efficiency and good humour, and chef Alan proved that simple food can be of the highest quality if the ingredients and preparation are of the best, whether on the set menu or catering for my wife's fussy vegetarian diet. You simply must try his Steak and Kidney Pudding!
If you are looking for an overnight stay or short break in this beautiful part of the country then I would highly recommend this inn - not five star luxury but comfortable, spotlessly clean, great food and wonderful service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Wow! great first review i will pass your comments to Lee and Christine.
Hope to see you soon
Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
14.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Property: Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing