We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Lunch for Two”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We called in on the way back from Collecting my wife's new car. The day was perfect and with a new cabriolet to enjoy we looked forward to a nice lunch. Not disappointed! Fabulous Fish and Chips with a local ale. Premises are immaculate and staff wonderful

Room Tip: We did not stay on this occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 483 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a great friendly pub,from the moment we walked through the door to when we left.We stayed in Bramley which is ok for 1 or 2 nights but not much room for clothes to hang up.Comfort and detail superb en-suite best bar none.Food and service in bar excellent.Deal was entry to chatsworth and b&b great value

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilkhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from our stay at the Devonshire Arms, we had always wanted to visit Chatsworth and our daughter booked it as a treat! The food was fresh and tasty and well presented. The cooked breakfast was delicious and plenty of it (you will not want lunch) .The staff were most attentive even though it was very busy nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The room we had was clean and well presented,
Thank you very much for a relaxing stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just back from a one night break at this lovely place. Special deal which included entrance fees to Chatsworth House and Gardens.
Accommodation well up to Devonshire group standards - rooms spotlessly clean and crucially, quiet at night.
The food was excellent - classic inn fare, but beautifully cooked. The Full Derbyshire breakfast is to be recommended with produce sourced form the Chatsworth Farm Shop just up the hill (recently featured in the Times 20 posh farm shops in the UK).
Special mention to Helen Bown-Brownridge, the manager, who was very friendly and welcoming and most helpful.
You will love staying at this place

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urwinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just back from a three day break at this lovely inn.It really is a truly special place.The rooms are very tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable with a lovely welcoming tea tray complete with cafe tiere,filter coffee,tea bags.There was also some delicious home made shortbread and bottled water left each day.We really couldn't fault anything.The manager Helen is a lovely lady and has a great team of staff.Alex and Jeanette we thought were so friendly but we really found all the staff so friendly and welcoming.The breakfast you could not wish for better.We loved every minute of our stay and cannot wait to return.Very soon I hope. Thank you all for such a lovely break.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirleainscough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We travelled for a special birthday for a one night stay in the Peak District and were not disappointed! The rooms were very clean, with modern and perfectly designed en suites of a good size. The outside of the hotel does not at all do justice for the lovely bar and rooms within. A comfy bed for a good night's sleep. Had a fantastic tasty meal in the pub - the posh corned beef hache was a must! The landlady even treated my partner to a pint on the house as it was his birthday! Great location, dangerously near to the Chatsworth farm shop (!) and great for walking too. A lovely place!!
PS the full English breakfast was tailored just as I liked it, and was one of the best ever!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We found that this inn at one of the Chatsworth Estate villages offered excellent accommodation, food and beverages. Staff were friendly and attentive, rooms were clean and food portions more than adequate and well cooked. A good basic traditional inn type menu was available with a variety of choice and each meal was a pleasure. The village is quiet and uncluttered and as such a good night's rest is assured.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyNorthWestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
505 reviews
9.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range: $145 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing