We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A lovely hotel where lots of attention given to detail and nice touches such as a cafetiere and real coffee in your room.Room well furnished with a comfy bed and well appointed bathroom.Very helpful and friendly staff . I'm a vegetarian and because Sunday evening the menu is more restricted than usual they prepared me a delicious veggie meal. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and everything top quality- the best marmalade I've every tasted!
In a great popsition on the Chatsworth Eastate in the same village as the farm shop so easy to buy lovely lunch food if you're out for the day.Pleasant walk to Chatsworth House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris5Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    121
    41
    9
    5
See reviews for
48
301
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Devonshire Arms as we had been so impressed with the sister hotel at Bolton Abbey, and had been considering this as a venue for my husband's 40th birthday later in the year. We stayed on a Sunday night on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly local who recommended the food, which was a good start! Check in was OK, shown to our room which was small but beautifully decorated and fine attention to detail. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very elegant with power shower and massive mirror which made it feel much bigger. One nice touch (which I don't usually bother with) was 2 complimentary toiletries - shower gel and shampoo, which were actually very nice and I actually used them! No unnecessary / cheap toiletries which makes a refreshing change.
We went down for dinner, chose our meals after much deliberation, and were looking forward to the specials - steak and ale pie and another dish (can't remember now what it was!), only to be told that they had run out. This was a bit disappointing, as we'd come a long way specifically to try the food and there weren't many options left on the menu. However, we chose steak and gammon and chips. The food was freshly prepared and was nice but not outstanding for the price. Also the pub was very quiet, no background music, but they did have excellent ales at the bar. I suppose for a Sunday night, it is going to be a bit quiet.
I can't recommend the breakfast highly enough - it was delicious! Lovely local bacon, delicious sausage, perfectly poached egg - every last bit was finished! Possibly the best we've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Enjoyed a fabulous two-night stay in this fantastic village pub at the heart of the Chatsworth Estate. The Devonshire Arms team are so friendly and we received a very warm welcome. Our room (Dunsa) was beautifully decorated and appointed. There is real attention to detail and high quality throughout. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel on both days - the food is superb. Hearty pub fare, done with sophistication and delicious local ingredients. Pilsley is a ridiculously pretty village and literally across the road from the Chatsworth farm shop. I would highly recommend a stay in this wonderful location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have eaten at this cosy pub in the past and liked it, but had never stayed as we usually rent a cottage nearby. As we love the location, this time, we booked a room for an overnight stay. The pub has plenty of parking and overflow spaces and is situated in a wonderful little village which is also home to the fantastic Chatsworth Farm Shop and a lovely little interiors shop - Penrose. The locality is beautiful, and easy drive to Bakewell and lots of other locations. Chatsworth House itself is a few minutes drive away.

We had a small double room (Bramley), which was beautifully decorated in a classic modern style and looked out over the front of the pub at the pretty village street. The bed was comfy, bathroom well appointed and, whilst small, had everything we needed, including a decent sachet of fresh coffee for the morning tray. Breakfast, served in a cosy dining room, offered a good choice of ceareals, yoghurt, fruit, porridge and a well cooked Devonshire full breakfast. Staff were helpful and friendly. All in all, good value for money in a lovely location. If we stayed for more than one night, I would book a double or large double, but for overnight, the small room was fine. As you would expect of a normal pub on a summer's evening, there were some guests who were outside until a little after closing time whilst they finished their drinks. As our room faced the front we experienced a little noise from this (not a problem), but once they had gone home, it was very quiet.

Would we stay again? Definitely. We will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jben40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Spent 2 nights here. Made very welcome by the pub and all the locals (hadn't realised we'd arrived at the start of their village fair). Our room was lovely (Ewe close), bed was very comfortable and there was a large walk in shower. Breakfast was excellent, all sourced from the Chatsworth estate. Excellent base to explore the Peak district with lovely quiet roads and beautiful countryside. Took a walk to the Chatsworth estate. Really peaceful all through the park surrounded by sheep. Meals were good and all the pub staff were extremely helpful. Will definitely be back. Many thanks to everyone

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Room was fabulous with luxurious furnishings and a very comfy bed. Once arrived we did the Pilsley Walk down to Chatsworth house and through the local village of Baslow. 6 miles and took about 2 hours. The pub stops serving food at 9pm and we made it back with minutes to spare. Such a peaceful sleep, the location is fab. Breakfast is a must. Tasty ingredients from the farm. Set us up for the day. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vix758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 1 night. The village of Pilsley is beautiful, very quiet & traditional. The Devonshire Arms has a lovely bar/restaurant downstairs, we had a meal which was reasonably priced & there was choice of a 3 courses for £10 menu if you wish. The staff were helpful & friendly too.

Our room was one of about 5 I believe. It was clean (compared to most hotels standards, although our loo seat & lid wasn't great & either needed a deep clean or replacing & the outside of the shower tray needed a good wipe due to other peoples hair being stuck to it).
The room had a modern, organic feel to it with flatscreen tv on the wall, lovely ensuite, tea/coffee making facilities, desk, wardrobe.
The bed was so comfortable, pillows, duvet & white linen great, we didn't want to get up but had to as breakfast is served 7:30-9:30. A little early for us but if you want breakfast then you get up!
Breakfast consisted of a choice of cereals, toast, fruit juices, yogurts, fruit salad or a full English. We enjoyed it, everything cooked fresh, and great coffee served along with it.

Our only niggle was with the noise. The village is so quiet during the day but first thing on a morning there is residential noise (cars, neighbours, a school being feet away from the pub) and unfortunately we were also awoken by the refuse collection truck outside our window. We had to have the window open with it being warm during the night.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, we would definitely go back. We paid £49.50 each which included B&B and entry to Chatsworth & it was very good value & would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tris102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Property: Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing