We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Retreat after days sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have wanted to visit Chatsworth and surrounding area for ages and got round to it eventually for my Birthday Treat.We booked 3 nights at The devonshire Arms after studying Reviews on Trip Adviser.
We were not disappointed,rooms were very comfortable and cosy,large spotlessly clean bathroom with lovely white fluffy towels replaced daily.
All of the staff were friendly and very helpfull with directions etc.The weather was not very good,rained 2 of our 3 day stay.But it was lovely to come back to Devonshire Arms after long days visiting Chatsworth,Hardwick House,Bakewell and surrounding villages.
Must also mention the lovely breakfasts which included cereals,fruit juice and a full english which set us up for the day
If we are ever in that part of the country again,will most definately stay here if we can get booked in of course.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncypruslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Great review thanks ,nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us the sightseeing and even the rain.
Kind regards
Alan
Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 506 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

On a recent visit to Chatsworth we stayed at the Devonshire Arms in Pilsley. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the accommodation excellent and the food delicious - a varied menu and everything beautifully cooked. It was the perfect place to return to after two very wet days sight-seeing!

Room Tip: Check out the website, which gives descriptions of the rooms and prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroomeBungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks I was really pleased to see that enjoyed everything we had to offer here at the Devonshire Arms.See you soon.
Kind Regards
Alan
(Chef Patron)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I only managed to stay one night as the rest of the week was fully booked but I'm so glad I took this option. I had tried to stay here before but it's obviously very popular so just keep trying! The village is really lovely and it's only a very short walk to the Chatsworth Farm Shop which must be the very bestof its kind in the country and well worth a visit. My room was comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. The food was excellent and the service was very good. I'd accidently left a very precious photograph in my room when I checked out. Imagine my surprise when I walked into the next hotel bedroom to see my late husband's photo smiling out at me from the dressing table. The lovely lady from the Devonshire Arms had remembered I was moving on to the Cavendish in Baslow and took the photo round for me. Now that's service!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for your great comments I will be sure to pass them on to the team.Hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We searched all hotels and inns near Chatsworth for our five night stay and this seemed to be the best for our requirements - we were not disappointed!
A beautiful and spacious room (Birchills) awaited us with a lovely comfy bed and chairs, flat screen TV, free wireless internet and an excellent bathroom - lots of shelf space and a proper hanging wardrobe and chest of drawers with good overall lighting meant we had a very comfortable stay indeed.
We eat in the inn on all five nights with a good choice of dishes and daily roasts and specials and all food was very well cooked and presented - delicious eating every night and very reasonable prices.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a reasonably priced short break in the Peak District.

Room Tip: Birchills is the largest double of seven rooms in total and is highly recommended for the space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardenhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Great to read your comments the team will be very pleased that you enjoyed all we had on offer!Hope to see you again very soon!

Kind Regards
Alan
Chef Patron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The devonshire arms sits in the most picturesque village imaginable. The food at the arms is of great quality, you certainly get your monies worth, and really is very reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful, letting us leave our bags after we had checked out so that we didnt have to lug them around our day at chatsworth. I would definately recommend this B&B to couples, the decor is traditional but finished to a high quality contemporary standard, We would definately visit this B&B again.

Room Tip: The Bramley room is a cosy size but perfectly adequate. try and book more than one night so you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNaomiSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

I was pleased to read about your stay with us and will definately be passing on your comments to the guys,its great that you enjoyed your birthday treat with us!
Kind Regards
Alan
Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We loved the pretty little village of Pilsley and the Devonshire Arms was everything we hoped for and more. The staff were warm, friendly and very welcoming. All of the rooms are individually decorated. We stayed in Bramley which is categorised as a small double. It was tastefully furnished with a blend of traditional and modern furniture and lots of lovely little extras like bottled water, a cafetière with quality coffee and a selection of books. The bed was really comfortable and we were impressed with the quality of the bedding. The bathroom was immaculate and again the decor was very easy on the eye.

One of the best things about staying at the Devonshire Arms is the breakfasts. I'm not usually a great lover of cooked breakfasts but the sausages and bacon from the nearby Chatsworth farm shop smelt so delicious that I couldn't resist. We ate at the Devonshire Arms on both of the nights we spent there and, although the menu is quite small, we were pleasantly surprised. All of the food is prepared on the premises and the chef makes very good use of what is available at the local farm shop. In fact you can buy some of the meat products and preserves at the Devonshire Arms. The restaurant is always busy as this is a popular foodie pub with locals, residents and visitors alike. Food is simple, hearty and comes in extremely generous portions.

The Devonshire Arms is a real home from home and makes the perfect base for anyone wishing to visit Chatsworth House (a fantastic day out) which is just down the road.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the term 'small double'. These rooms are perfectly adequate in terms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazy_Daisy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Wow another super review, I was really pleased to read you enjoyed all we had to offer,and thanks for the room tips too!!!!

Regards
Alan
Chef Patron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is so gorgeous. Pilsley is a great little town close to Chatsworth. Great food in the pub! Great hospitality. The room was so cosy, quiet, clean and great bathroom. They had plunger coffee available in the rooms which was a lovely surprise. The room was beautifully furnished and very modern. If you want a real British countryside stay, then this place is awesome. I would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: I have a feeling all the rooms here would be good. Ours had the name 'Bottom' in it. Hilario...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynchyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Great review ,all our bedrooms are named by the Duchess whom chose farms on the estate hence Handley Bottom! :o) I will pass your comments on to all at the pub!
Kind Regards
Alan
Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
741 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
510 reviews
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range: $172 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing