We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture postcard pretty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Picture postcard pretty”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We loved the pretty little village of Pilsley and the Devonshire Arms was everything we hoped for and more. The staff were warm, friendly and very welcoming. All of the rooms are individually decorated. We stayed in Bramley which is categorised as a small double. It was tastefully furnished with a blend of traditional and modern furniture and lots of lovely little extras like bottled water, a cafetière with quality coffee and a selection of books. The bed was really comfortable and we were impressed with the quality of the bedding. The bathroom was immaculate and again the decor was very easy on the eye.

One of the best things about staying at the Devonshire Arms is the breakfasts. I'm not usually a great lover of cooked breakfasts but the sausages and bacon from the nearby Chatsworth farm shop smelt so delicious that I couldn't resist. We ate at the Devonshire Arms on both of the nights we spent there and, although the menu is quite small, we were pleasantly surprised. All of the food is prepared on the premises and the chef makes very good use of what is available at the local farm shop. In fact you can buy some of the meat products and preserves at the Devonshire Arms. The restaurant is always busy as this is a popular foodie pub with locals, residents and visitors alike. Food is simple, hearty and comes in extremely generous portions.

The Devonshire Arms is a real home from home and makes the perfect base for anyone wishing to visit Chatsworth House (a fantastic day out) which is just down the road.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the term 'small double'. These rooms are perfectly adequate in terms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazy_Daisy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Wow another super review, I was really pleased to read you enjoyed all we had to offer,and thanks for the room tips too!!!!

Regards
Alan
Chef Patron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    125
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
307
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is so gorgeous. Pilsley is a great little town close to Chatsworth. Great food in the pub! Great hospitality. The room was so cosy, quiet, clean and great bathroom. They had plunger coffee available in the rooms which was a lovely surprise. The room was beautifully furnished and very modern. If you want a real British countryside stay, then this place is awesome. I would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: I have a feeling all the rooms here would be good. Ours had the name 'Bottom' in it. Hilario...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynchyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Great review ,all our bedrooms are named by the Duchess whom chose farms on the estate hence Handley Bottom! :o) I will pass your comments on to all at the pub!
Kind Regards
Alan
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just returned home after staying 2 nights at this hotel.If you are looking to stay in the lap of luxury you would'nt pick this Hotel, but read on, if you want a warm welcome, clean comfortable accomodation, friendly staff who care, good food, and a beautiful setting then you would pick this hotel time and again its just 2minutes from chatsworth farm shop and 5 minutes by car to chatsworth house.To see the house and gardens in one day you need 5/6 hours to do it justice we are most definately going to stay again and thanks to all staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks for the kind comments ,I will make sure I pass your thanks onto the team!
Kind Regards
Alan
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

we spent the day at chatsworth went to the farm shop then we found the devonshire arms and had a lovely meal the lady that served us was really good and made us very welcome i told her it was my birthday too hope to return thank you

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alanpriddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Great to read you enjoyed your Birthday Lunch with us!Lets hope to see you for the next one!
Kind Regards
Alan
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Matt & Angus make a formidable team...the Duke & Duchess are lucky to have them. Wonderful welcome, room delightful (Bramley overlooking the village) with fab decor & gorgeous bathroom. We got a late deal of £74/room which was priced right, so we wouldn't pay the full rate (but that's probably us always looking for a deal!). Dinner was relaxed & informal. Special deal menu limited so we chose from the main menu & weren't disappointed. Chef even made me a crayfish cocktail for a starter as I didn't like anything on offer. House white, cheap (£12/bottle) & very quaffable. Breakfast so delicious we hot footed it to the Chatsworth Farm Shop just over the road from the Devonshire Arms to buy up a load of bacon to take home. Will def return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Great to read about your stay ! I will be sure to speak to the guys both at the pub and farmshop.PS.Cant get enough of the bacon myself!!Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alan
Chef Patron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I were married at Chatsworth house on fri june 8th and we along with several other guests stayed at the Devonshire. There is a great vibe and atmosphere around the place and the staff (in particular the bar manager) were extremely friendly and accommodating. A great base to visit chatsworth and the surrounding , beautiful countryside. All rooms are of a very high standard with tasteful decor and ample space. The fabulous breakfast certainly helped with any pre wedding nerves! Will definitely be back for future visits.
Thanks for contributing to our magical wedding day.

Alistair + Laura Crawford

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alman13_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thanks for the great comments ,We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alan
Chef Patron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Arrived for Sunday lunch - intending to check in after eating. The building outside is 'traditional inn' - but interior far from it - modern decor. Could not decide if the intent was pub / eatery or boutique guest house (BGH), and the indecision continued throughout the stay.
The roast beef lunch was excellent (other than the roast potatoes, cooked earlier which had become hardened). Enjoyed the fabulous Chatsworth Gold Ale. The desert was also excellent.
With lunch I ordered a glass of red wine, asked if a Merlot or Cab S was available - Yes, either -so asked for Merlot - this arrived and was very disappointing - I asked to see the bottle - it was the Red Table wine. ! Asked the barman what one he would have given me if I had asked for the Cab S - he said " the same one" ! - I don't think he was 'TTP' he was just not aware.
So had swung from BGH with the fine lunch to pub !
After lunch up to the room - the carpets on the way are really dirty and need a clean (pub) but once in the room - ah (BGH) - our room was excellent, spacious, tastefully decorated. The bathroom - wonderful. We spent the afternoon in these comfortable surroundings watching the Jubilee celebrations on the TV while the rain poured down outside.
Wonderful sleep and now down to breakfast, now we go from BGH back to pub. !
Breakfast served in one of the pub rooms - no problem with that - but not with the lady cleaner sweeping, mopping etc in the adjoining room while we are eating. No door dividing - all part of the same room. ! The 'manager' was in attendance but evidently saw nothing wrong with last nights discards being swept up while he was serving food - most definitively back to pub !
I was beginning to think the food was going to continue in the pub vane - but no ! back to BGH - the humble eggs, bacon and mushrooms had been prepared with attention to detail.
So overall it can only get a medium rating - the price is not slight at GBP129 - the room is great - the service from the kitchen maintains that standard - but front of house lets the side down.

Room Tip: Birchills - a lovely room - !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiarainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
My apologies for the mixed experience I will certainly be looking into what happened that evening! Once again thanks for the comments.
Regards
Alan
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
14.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Property: Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing