We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, comfortable and convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2011

An excellent base for our trips to Chatsworth and to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park.
The room was on the small side but well equipped.

Hospitable and friendly staff, good pub food. Breakfasts impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mminhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards, Alan Hill (Chef Patron)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 468 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

A really homely comfortable inn that has been brilliantly modernised. We had a double room overlooking the pretty village. Room pristine and bright and bed extremely comfortable with large bathroom with bath and shower over it and lovely toiletries. Location excellent with good walks and Chatsworth on the doorstep

Christine the manageress is a real asset to the Devonshire hotel group and single handedly was checking guests in, serving behind the bar and taking food orders and was rushed off her feet but kept smiling at all times and again at breakfast she was there taking breakfast orders and checking people out - so a big thank you to her for such an excellent welcome and good service.

Food in the evening was really good with an excellent selection and huge portions and a roast on the menu each day and wine is really reasonably priced. Breakfast also excellent and sets you up for the day. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsMarple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Thanks for your great comments I will pass them onto the team especially Christine!hope to see you again in the near future Kind Regards Alan.(Chef Patron)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We had dinner at The Devonshire Arms Pilsley at the end of a day out.
From the outside the Inn looks like any other small village pub but inside its most certainly not. The restaurant is well furnished in contemporary style with a good wine and beer selection. Local ales take centre stage. I had the house white and it went down VERY well.
I opted for Corned Beef Hash with eggs. I couldn't decide whether to have it as a starter or a main. In the end I opted for the main but it was a huge portion. The beef was succulent and with a pleasant aniseedy taste hiding in the background. Forget the Fray Bentos corned beef, this was the real deal. Next time I will definitely have the starter size portion! My partner had the mixed grill and it was glorious. All the meat was locally sourced and cooked to perfection. The menu has a good selection with a specials board for extra treats.
All the staff were polite helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They are a great advert for the restaurant. From the moment we walked through the door they welcomed us and made us feel at home.
Just have to save up to stay over in the hotel part.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callisto1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Great to see you enjoyed the Corned Beef Hash and the Mixed grill with us i will pass your comments onto the kitchen team.Hope to see you again soon maybe even for that overnight stay!
Kind Regards
Alan(Chef Patron).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We only stayed for 1 night on a DB&B basis including two tickets for visiting Chatsworth House and a bottle of champagne (Laurent Perrier !!). We had been made aware that the room we would occupy (Dunsa) was a small double but it had everything we required, was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Our evening meal was 1st Class...well cooked and presented. Breakfast the following morning was a 'Full Englsh' at its best !! We are definitely going to recommend this Inn to two sets of friends.....and to anyone reading this don't wait for an excuse ...just go !! Real value for money...a delightful stay made all the more by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyBordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Thank you so much for your great review . We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and took pleasure in everything we had to offer.Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Alan(Chef Patron)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We visited the pub for sunday lunch for a family birthday, the food was presented with care and tasted great. The menu has something for everyone.
There was no rush to vacate our table, it's a place to relax and enjoy the food and drink .
We will return and plan to stay a night or two.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnetic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Chef Patron at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Thank you so much for your comments and lovely words. We are so fortunate to be located in such a picturesque setting at Pilsley. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
Alan Hill, Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed one night and had a wonderful sleep - always a sign of a good hotel! Food and wine were of good quality. The new manager, Rob, is really affable and his team were all friendly. Someone even came to our room to alert us that breakfast service was ending.

Booking was a bit of a phaff because we tried to book directly at the pub and not via central reservations - be warned ...the team at the pub is not allowed to take bookings!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Chef Patron at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Thank you for this lovely review! Rob is delighted with your comments and has passed them on to all involved. We believe that having a dedicated team of reservationists ensures the best service to our guests and enables us to take reservations even during busy times at the inn - I apologise that on this occasion you found it to be an inconvenience.
Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We have just come back from Derby and spent one night at the Devonshire Arms Pilsley. Lovely location within walking distance to Chatsworth House, and the Pub has just recently been tastefully renovated and looked lovely. We were given a very warm welcome and shown to our room. The room is called Dunsa, and unfortunately very small. We are well travelled and to be quite honest with you, we have never stayed in such a small room before! We had the worst nights sleep because the room was stuffy, but also, there was a plastic matress protector on the bed and a heavy duvet, which made us incredibly hot and very uncomfortable. We were quoted £99 for the room but discovered in the Devonshire Arms fliers all over the hotel, that they were offering 45% discount on rooms during January! When we queried this with the Mangeress she said we hadn't been offered this because we had booked through central reservations!
The food and wine were lovely and the beer was in fine feckle however the room and breakfast were certainly not worth £99.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redders54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2011

Thank you for your recent visit to The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley and for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, food and wine, and that you like the style of the inn. However, I was disappointed to read that your bedroom was not to your liking. I am aware that you have spoken to our reservations department about your room rate and I am pleased that they explained to you that our offers are subject to availability and Friday and Saturday nights are sometimes not eligible for discount. I am sorry that this was not made clear when you were at the inn.
Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
498 reviews
6.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range: $148 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing