We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captivating Chatsworth !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bordon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captivating Chatsworth !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We only stayed for 1 night on a DB&B basis including two tickets for visiting Chatsworth House and a bottle of champagne (Laurent Perrier !!). We had been made aware that the room we would occupy (Dunsa) was a small double but it had everything we required, was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Our evening meal was 1st Class...well cooked and presented. Breakfast the following morning was a 'Full Englsh' at its best !! We are definitely going to recommend this Inn to two sets of friends.....and to anyone reading this don't wait for an excuse ...just go !! Real value for money...a delightful stay made all the more by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyBordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your great review . We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and took pleasure in everything we had to offer.Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Alan(Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    115
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
44
284
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

We visited the pub for sunday lunch for a family birthday, the food was presented with care and tasted great. The menu has something for everyone.
There was no rush to vacate our table, it's a place to relax and enjoy the food and drink .
We will return and plan to stay a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnetic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Chef Patron at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments and lovely words. We are so fortunate to be located in such a picturesque setting at Pilsley. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
Alan Hill, Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed one night and had a wonderful sleep - always a sign of a good hotel! Food and wine were of good quality. The new manager, Rob, is really affable and his team were all friendly. Someone even came to our room to alert us that breakfast service was ending.

Booking was a bit of a phaff because we tried to book directly at the pub and not via central reservations - be warned ...the team at the pub is not allowed to take bookings!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Chef Patron at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for this lovely review! Rob is delighted with your comments and has passed them on to all involved. We believe that having a dedicated team of reservationists ensures the best service to our guests and enables us to take reservations even during busy times at the inn - I apologise that on this occasion you found it to be an inconvenience.
Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

We have just come back from Derby and spent one night at the Devonshire Arms Pilsley. Lovely location within walking distance to Chatsworth House, and the Pub has just recently been tastefully renovated and looked lovely. We were given a very warm welcome and shown to our room. The room is called Dunsa, and unfortunately very small. We are well travelled and to be quite honest with you, we have never stayed in such a small room before! We had the worst nights sleep because the room was stuffy, but also, there was a plastic matress protector on the bed and a heavy duvet, which made us incredibly hot and very uncomfortable. We were quoted £99 for the room but discovered in the Devonshire Arms fliers all over the hotel, that they were offering 45% discount on rooms during January! When we queried this with the Mangeress she said we hadn't been offered this because we had booked through central reservations!
The food and wine were lovely and the beer was in fine feckle however the room and breakfast were certainly not worth £99.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redders54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley and for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, food and wine, and that you like the style of the inn. However, I was disappointed to read that your bedroom was not to your liking. I am aware that you have spoken to our reservations department about your room rate and I am pleased that they explained to you that our offers are subject to availability and Friday and Saturday nights are sometimes not eligible for discount. I am sorry that this was not made clear when you were at the inn.
Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed here last week as we visted Chatsworth House for a Christmas evening opening. The Hotel is a perfect place to stay. Covered in snow it is picture postcard pretty and inside the warmest welcome and stylish interior just made us glad that we were in England in the snow in December. The rooms are beautifully decorated in soft colours and the standard to which they have been renovated very high. We ate in the pub after our evening at Chatsworth and the food and wine were both reasonably priced and we all were very impressed with the value for money. The bar is cosy with log fires and the breakfast was excellent. I would highly recommend this gorgeous litle pub to anyone wishing to visit Chatsworth House.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildamay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us I will pass your comments on to the team,hope to see you again in the near future!Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Where better to stay ahead of a morning visit to Chatsworth than the village pub in the estate village of Pilsley? The pub-with-rooms was all I had anticipated after viewing its excellent website - and more besides. My room (Bramley) was sumptuously furnished with the very best of everything and had a bathroom to die for. OK, it wasn't over large but it was perfectly adequate for my needs, and there was certainly 'room to swing a cat' (not that I was even tempted to try). Food and food service is simply fantastic. The biggest problem I had during my stay was trying to decide what to have for supper as the menu choice was mouthwatering. It is perhaps important to bear in mind that this is very much a village pub with rooms rather than a full-blown hotel with restaurant. That said, preferential service for overnighters is offered when food is ordered at the bar. My only gripe (and its a minor one) would be that wifi is not currently available for guests but I understood that that's already 'in hand' for future guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thanks for your fantastic comments hope to see you again soon in the near future or maybe even at Christmas!
Kind Regards
Alan.(Chef patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed in "Bramley" for 3 nights taking a long weekend break. The Devonshire Arms markets itself as a "pub with rooms" and if this is what you are expecting with the touch of Devonshire class you will not be disappointed. Our room was not huge - what do you expect in an old pub? - but definitely big enough for our stay with a large and well decorated bathroom with good quality towels and toiletry and a great shower. The bed was extremely comfy and the bedding of very good quality.

On the first night my wife's train didn't arrive from London until 21:08 so Lee managed to get us into dinner at "The Devonshire Arms, Beeley" which finished serving at 21:30 wheras Pilsley finished at 21:00. The restaurant was empty when we got there but they were expecting us and provided great service and food, despite us being their last guests of the evening. The food at Beeley was really enjoyable and a step up from Pilsley. The lamb cutlets in a cumin crust were delightful and I'd put this on an excellent brasserie level, at least the same level as the brasserie at Bolton Abbey. In terms of cost it was probably twice that of Pilsley for food and worth it for the culinary quality.

Let that not detract from the Pilsley food. Firstly, breakfast was absolutely great, I had the cooked breakfast for three days and it was perfectly prepared with excellent ingredients, good quality sausages and fantastic bacon. I think all produce came from the Chatsworth Farm shop and we purchased their bacon and sausages based on breakfast.

Evening meals - we ate there twice - were at the standard of very good pub food. Beware the steak & kidney pudding. I had no starter, and was completely full after the steak & kidney pudding, it was full of meat and a great meal, but did mean I missed out on pudding!

Remember they are aiming at being a pub providing food, the food is probably half the price of the Beeley and I would happily eat at both, treating the Beeley as a special treat and the Pilsley as a great place for good pub food. It really is a restaurant now, with the bar available for a drink but every table seemed to be used for diners.

I thought the staff were great and Lee couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. It's a new venture and I'd make the most of it. We will definitely be back.

I do have very small gripes but will direct these directly to Lee so as not to detract from a great stay.

Things to do - there is a lovely walk (up to 6 miles) directly from the hotel across fields and tracks to Edensor, past the side of Chatsworth to Baslow and then back up to the pub. Great way to spend a sunny morning.

There were an additional 7 parking spaces available to residents off road just down the way from the pub if you couldn't get a space in the car park attached to the pub.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MycroftAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonshireHotels, at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind review, both Lee and I are delighted that you had a great time with us. I am also please that you enjoyed the food at our sister property The Devonshire Arms at Beeley. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Alan Hill (Chef Patron).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Property: Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing