We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, cheap breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Decatur
Indianapolis, In
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average room, cheap breakfast.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The location was nice and convenient right off the highway.

I booked through Priceline. I requested a king room instead of queen. Was told they don't give king rooms to Priceline bookings. Most hotels do however. The room was okay. Could have been a little cleaner (furniture arms were a little dirty) but overall not bad. The bed was fairly comfortable. My room was missing a tv remote but the front desk help promptly brought me a new one.

The big disappointment was the continental breakfast. It was cheap cheap. It had the tiniest items I had ever seen (tiny bananas, tiny apples, tiny muffins). There was very little selection overall. Just the little bit of fruit, 2 cereals (one almost empty), toast, English muffins, mini banana nut muffins, and some generic plastic wrapped cinnamon roles. Lots of carbs, very little protein. The second day I stayed, the milk was starting to sour so I couldn't even eat the corn flakes. I never saw any other guests eating breakfast and I think I know why.

If they would simple beef up the breakfast this hotel would be a much better value overall.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Well thank you very much for your review I see we did not meet your standards as far as the continental breakfast goes and as always we have had to serve a continental breakfast with fruits , bread group, sweet roll or muffin or Danish with cereals and milk and also fruit juice with coffee for some it will be very skimpy but that's what the continental breakfast consists of and not hot items such as sausage,eggs etc I am sorry but we offer what we advertise and I hope that I will get a second chance to serve you while visiting Decatur in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
5
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new holland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a nice clean place with big truck parking. Trucker rates are good. Subway next door. Nice bed and full pillows. Good TV. And did I mention clean. Windows are clean, the TV is clean and the bathroom is clean. Plenty of chairs and tables. I would say the room size is average and it beats the pants off some of the Super 8 and Days Inn I have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your reviews and hope to see you soon while visiting Decatur,IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I recently had to do an overnight stay in Decatur and called this hotel, The room was a little small but was sufficient for my needs. I require a clean room and bed, a TV that works, and hot shower in the AM. Friendly desk staff was there. Very reasonable price. Hotel does need some upgrades(parking lot) but it was well worth every penny paid in comparison to the competition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midwestdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your reviews and hope to see you again while visiting Decatur,IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

we were very tired and didn't want to drive any further looking for a motel that would take a dog. this is off the beaten path and we turned the wrong way, which is how we found it. the dog was an extra $7.50 fee, which is OK. we paid a fee at one other hotel on our trip, we usually try to avoid that. the beds were large and comfy, the room was large with a table, fridge and microwave. the only problem was we had an angled room and the door opened on it strangely and the bathroom had no space. no hooks or bars to hang things. also, the heater doesn't have a thermostat so we ended up cooking after a couple hours of sleeping with it on. it was pretty quiet and clean. the breakfast was bare bones. for some reason the wifi didn't work for me. i would stay there again. economical.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I would like to thankyou for your review and rating during your stay with us here in Decatur,Il and hope to see you in future during your visit to Decatur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This was previously the Days Inn. It appears the management is the same. Rooms are large but very basic. I had a queen bed, mini fridge and microwave. Linens are typical for a budget hotel.

The sink was near the entry door and did not have a cabinet. The toilet and tub were in the bathroom.

The hotel was very clean, as it has been on previous visits. The location is near I-72 and Route 36 and is next to the Decatur Conference Center. The Center has a large sports bar with good food and decent prices so I usually eat there.

I never eat breakfast at America's Best Value Inn. It offers very basic cereal, plain donuts and fruit. I prefer to go elsewhere for breakfast.

For a very inexpensive room ($50), this is a good buy. I plan to return there especially since I have never had a bed bug problem there (which I have had at some hotels near Forsyth).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I thank you very much for your comments and I personally assure you of the property going to be under a renovation plan offering much updated ammenties and as per comments for the hotel as a good value for money I would like to earn your trust in us and hope to see you soon THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Although this is very outdated and on the dirty side we have stayed here alot. The bed is comfortable and clean. I am very picky about dirt but it is what it is for $50.00. We have stayed in Forsyth at the Country Inn Suites and paid $110.00 and really don't think it is worth the double price. I look forward to the new ownership cleaning this place up but for $50 i am thrilled it is still here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabbers4605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I thank you for your comments and assure you that we offer a good value for money and being in the budget economy segment of the hospitality industry WE have almost all ameneties and offer a comfortable stay for the price and please be assured we will be under renovation this winter/spring to offer alot more ameneties for the still budget property and would like to ask you for your patronage next time in Decatur.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This inn needs an overhaul. Rugs filthy and stained, furniture stained and shabby, bathroom not clean. Haven't eaten breakfast yet . . .afraid to. It is off the road, so is quiet (except for the noisy air conditioner). Bed is OK and clean. No bugs or smokey smells but hall stinks. Check in clerk efficient and friendly. Plenty of parking. I paid $62+ for a single, expected a bit better.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discoverer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Sir I appreciate your stay I would like to assure you that were are going to be renovating and truly your observation of carpets are one of the major items to be undergoing renovation it seems you stayed with us during our hottest summer and hence the A/C will be underload and sound heavy trying to keep up hence I assure you all our A/C are 4 yrs and I am taking you comments and implementing changes I would like to offer you a 25% off your next booking stay with us in Decatur,Illinois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decatur hotels
8.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur
6.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Decatur
Ramada Limited Decatur
#6 of 12 in Decatur
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decatur Conference Center and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Decatur
6.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel and Suites
Welcome Hotel and Suites
#5 of 12 in Decatur
64 reviews
6.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur
Address: 333 North Wyckles Road, Decatur, IL 62522 (Formerly Days Inn Decatur)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Decatur
Decatur Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing