We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good Tex Mex”

El Corral Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 168 Restaurants in Decatur
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Corral Mexican restaurant has been serving Mexican cuisine since its opening in February 2006. We feature a colorful decor, reasonable prices and a relaxed atmosphere where customers are welcomed and appreciated. While many restaurants serve pre-cooked foods, we take pride in preparing your meals fresh to order, using only the best products available. This provides optimum flavor and enables us to meet most special dietary needs. El Corral's staff is friendly, efficient and always ready to answer questions. Our bar is fully stocked and features margaritas and a wide variety of beers. At El Corral, we are sincerely thankful for our customers and always strive to improve your experience. With that in mind, we welcome your feedback and will seriously consider any suggestions you make.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good Tex Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

very reasonable prices and good selection. Service is speedy though sometimes a bit of a wait for a table.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gaye-and-dodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This restaurant has been remodeled and looks great. The food is really good and the sangria is wonderful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FKVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose H, Owner at El Corral Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello. We are glad that you enjoy the remodeled restaurant! We are dedicated to providing our delicious food and friendly service to our guests. We are happy that you also enjoy the sangria. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return in the future! Best, Jose (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This used to be our favorite Mexican dinning in town. I think they have concentrated more on their decor than there food. The salsa taste has totally changed. Salsa used to have a great taste now its like watered down tomatoes. The prices have raised considerably and the staff have slowed down. We went at a slow time and it seemed like forever before we ever received our food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IHaveAnOpinion0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose H, Owner at El Corral Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello! We are disappointed to learn that you have lost faith in our delicious authentic Mexican food! We did focus on the decor to enhance the atmosphere for our guests but we have not changed any of the menu items because everyone loves the traditional taste. We tweaked a few of the recipes but nothing major. Also we have always been dedicated to providing great service so we hope that we can make the previous experience you had by impressing you once again. We really do hope that you will join us again so that you will remember that we are all about great customer service, delicious food, and a warm inviting atmosphere! Best, Jose Hernandez (Partner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A lot of food for a good price. Margarita's are excellent. Staff is great. Fast friendly service. Plenty of room to accommodate large groups.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sherryntomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose H, Owner at El Corral Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are happy to see you enjoy our delicious food for a customer friendly price! We enjoy making delicious food and authentic margaritas for our guests! We are dedicated to providing fast, friendly, and attentive service each and every time we serve our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Have a wonderful day! Best, Jose Hernandez (Partner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Decatur!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

El Corral has the BEST guacamole in the area. If you are a guacophile, you must try theirs. I could make a meal out of just chips & guac. They offer all the basic Mexican dishes. Chicken fajitas are excellent. Have never heard any complaints about other entrees ordered. They have a good selection for kids too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyssiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose H, Owner at El Corral Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate all of your positive feedback and we are glad that you enjoy all of our Mexican meals. I must agree with you about the Guacamole, because you could make a meal out of that and chips!! We appreciate your kindness and your support, we definitely look forward to having you in again soon! Best, Jose Hernandez (Partner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Corral Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Corral Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing