We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for young or older kids”

Children's Museum of Illinois
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Decatur
Attraction details
illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for young or older kids”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great place for fun & learning activities. Took my grand-kids there - ages 6 and 12 - both liked it immensely! The new 'silicon sand' had all the adults amazed as well! All exhibits are 'hands on' that the kids love!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank itcbtcscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great fun for smaller children”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a lot of fun for children up to about the age of 10. There are lots of hands-on activities to keep them busy. There is a very nice accredited zoo adjacent to the museum and both are in a lovely small park with a very nice playground and shady spots for a picnic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank foodiefromDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place for young Minds”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Children's Museum is a cool place for kids up to about 8 or 9. They change exhibits up every year so there is some good ebb and flow to keep thing interesting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabrjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kids will love it!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

There's a little something for every child here - painting, giant bubbles, climbing, role play, science, building, and so much more. My grandkids and I spend hours there!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pattyb519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“More to do this time”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This visit was our second with different ages of foster children. They always go crazy here. They have added a new area since last time we visited. Slides and giant tinker toys galore. My same and only complaint both times, is that parents have to pay to get in. There is absolutely nothing for adults to do here. I feel that a suggested donation be put for parents as my wife and I paid $10 to watch our foster child run around. I can do that for free all day. Other than that, the place is great for kids.

Helpful?
4 Thank eroom5721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Illinois also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Illinois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing