We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, great food”
Review of The Main Hangar Restaurant - CLOSED

The Main Hangar Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: American, Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Main Hangar Restaurant is a family owned and operated business serving authentic Sicilian and American Cuisines for breakfast (Saturdays only), lunch, and dinner. We are one of Central Illinois's best kept secrets. This comfortable restaurant, with big picture windows that overlook the runways and taxiways, provides a panoramic view of arriving and departing aircraft, and the well-kept Decatur Airport grounds. Whether it's a breakfast with friends on Saturday morning, a casual lunch meeting, a dress-up evening dinner or a night out enjoying one of our Stand-Up Comedy events, the Main Hangar Restaurant is a unique choice to enjoy yourself and impress your guests. The expert, courteous service and gastronomic delights provided at the Main Hangar Restaurant ensure a pleasant and memorable dining experience.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fun place, great food”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I reviewed this restaurant over 2 years ago. A lot has changed for the better. Not only is the food amazing but the staff treat you like family. They are also offering Comedy Night which makes for a perfect evening. Have dinner, enjoy some great food, a bottle of wine then laugh for a couple of hours. You can't beat it and it won't break the bank. Go try it our....PS, the salad dressing is WONDERFUL and homemade like the entrees.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Owner at The Main Hangar Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We wanted to THANK YOU for taking the time to write a review about our locally owned and operated business. Thousands of people visit TripAdvisor to learn more about Decatur and Central Illinois everyday. Your kind words and knowledge of our business that you have passed onto others helps our business more then you would ever know. We simply can't say THANK YOU enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    27
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in the area”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I've gone to the Main Hangar for several years and it is one of the very few restaurants that I will go to in the Decatur area. Their staff is friendly, the food is always very good, and the price is reasonable. My meal is always served quickly and a manager always follows up to make sure everything is satisfactory. Although small, their lunch salad/soup/pasta/potato bar is adequate and always well stocked. The Sunday brunch is also a treat consisting of many breakfast and lunch items, carved ham and roast beef, along with several desserts to choose from.

The Main Hangar is a family owned restaurant and you can tell by their attention to detail. When I am asked for a recommendation, I always suggest the Main Hangar.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Owner at The Main Hangar Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We wanted to THANK YOU for taking the time to write a review about our locally owned and operated business. Thousands of people visit TripAdvisor to learn more about Decatur and Central Illinois everyday. Your kind words and knowledge of our business that you have passed onto others helps our business more then you would ever know. We simply can't say THANK YOU enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
“Fly Away to Great Food at Main Hangar”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I frequent the Main Hangar at least once per month and enjoy multiple items on their menu and their weekly specials. The All-You-Can-Eat Fried Chicken meal on Saturday night before the Comedy Hour is a great way to get full and entertained. Also, a full buffet on Sunday for brunch hits the spot every time. My girlfriend is a lover of the lunchtime All-You-Can-Eat potato/salad bar and craves their lemon pepper chicken. Breakfast, lunch, dinner or brunch, the Main Hangar is deserving of your appetite!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zerf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Owner at The Main Hangar Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We wanted to THANK YOU for taking the time to write a review about our locally owned and operated business. Thousands of people visit TripAdvisor to learn more about Decatur and Central Illinois everyday. Your kind words and knowledge of our business that you have passed onto others helps our business more then you would ever know. We simply can't say THANK YOU enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwin, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Our Favorite locally own place to dine”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The food selection is great and the service is fantastic. We have a special server and she is always friendly and very helpful in selecting items from the menu that we have not tried. The atmosphere is great and the view of the airport landing area is nice. We especially like the prime rib served on Friday & Saturday nights.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Owner at The Main Hangar Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We wanted to THANK YOU for taking the time to write a review about our locally owned and operated business. Thousands of people visit TripAdvisor to learn more about Decatur and Central Illinois everyday. Your kind words and knowledge of our business that you have passed onto others helps our business more then you would ever know. We simply can't say THANK YOU enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Better”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This place is incredible. From appetizers to entrees you aren't going to beat the Main Hangar. If I could I would eat every meal there. Add the attraction of weekend comedians, you can not beat this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Floyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Owner at The Main Hangar Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We wanted to THANK YOU for taking the time to write a review about our locally owned and operated business. Thousands of people visit TripAdvisor to learn more about Decatur and Central Illinois everyday. Your kind words and knowledge of our business that you have passed onto others helps our business more then you would ever know. We simply can't say THANK YOU enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Main Hangar Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing