We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burgers in the midwest!”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #95 of 168 Restaurants in Decatur
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best burgers in the midwest!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have friends from California, who cannot go to sleep their first night in town without first having a burger from Steak 'n' Shake! Love the burgers! Chilli Mac is to die for! The skinny fries are AMAZING!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IL, USA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy food when served hot”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This last visit, our food was very good because it was served piping hot....the way it should be. I've had to send my luke warm food back several times here in the past.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelCindyIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, IL
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always quick and tasty”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

One of my favorite fast food places. I find their food and their service much to my liking, plus I like the value offered by their constant flow of newspaper coupons!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“old favorite”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

their shakes are just too good. I will always love their burgers and chili mac. A good treat for a rough day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunray712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I always get a good meal at Steak 'n Shake”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Steak 'n Shake in Decatur is a good representative of the franchise. I was seated quickly during the dinner hour, had a friendly waitress who was there at the exact right times (including bringing me refills on drinks before I had to ask), my food was cooked properly and served hot, and the check was very reasonable. I will certainly go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockSteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing