We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welcome Hotel and Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Decatur
Red Bud, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

I was surprised at how clean and new looking the room was. The service was good and employees were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florida2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    7
    15
    4
See reviews for
14
9
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed overnight, ate breakfast, and my children used the pool. The hotel is convenient to shopping (across the street from the shopping mall), the city of Decatur, and the highway (right off of 72). The room was clean and nicely furnished, there were a variety of breakfast items to choose from, and the pool was small but perfect for children enjoying a swim. There are at least a dozen restaurants (eat-in or fast food) within a mile of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

Breakfast was gross! Overcooked burnt dried out. Coffee was weak and flavorless. My room was not cleaned well every day.

  • Liked — Priority club points
  • Disliked — Horrible breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aw_kingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

I have stayed here several times since it opened in 2002, and must say that it is better than the many other chain hotels (all budget-type) that are nearby. At my May 2007 stay, I found the lobby and decent-sized room well-maintained; a/c working well and not bad on the noise side. The bathroom is definitely nicer than the usual Hampton/Fairfield/Country Inn standard. The breakfast offerings were pretty good as these places go. The Wingate simply is a budget hotel, still rather new, that has been well-maintained.

On the cleanliness side, while my wife is rather picky on such matters, we have always found the hotel to be fine.

  • Liked — Good sized, clean room at a low price.
  • Disliked — Just another cookie-cutter budget hotel.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank FairBalanced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

I was very disappointed in this hotel during my stay. I've stayed at many Wingate Hotels from Illinois to Florida and this hotel may have been the one that will keep me from staying in another one. My hotel room was extremely dirty, the front desk clerk was extremely rude upon check in. To mention a few problems, the bathroom was filthy, rust like spots on the door casing, floor and the tub was pulling away from the wall at the corner. The floor had someone's hair on it and looked as though it hadn't been scrubbed in a very long time. The sheets on the bed were not that crisp, clean look I'm use too in a hotel. I don't mind paying $89.00 for a room but do expect cleanliness. This hotel is rated as a 3 star on the internet but if it's 2 star, I would be surprised. I would not stay at this site again or recommend it....Room 119 needs to be cleaned by someone that knows what cleaning a room consists of. The clerk that worked at 3:00 p.m. on April 2, 2007 needs a lesson in "how to treat a customer".

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

One night stay.

room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel staff friendly.

Good location: Shopping Mall, Chedder's, Texas Roadhouse, Applebee's and several other places to eat nearby.

Decent price for room

A little hard to find if not familiar with area.

Our room overlooked a corn field. If you are not from the midwest you'll love that view.

  • Liked — Location / clean room
  • Disliked — Hotel is showing a little wear / bathroom showing wear
  • Tips/Secrets — Big city folks, ask for a room with a view of the corn
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

First off, you don't have much to choose from in Decatur for hotels. There are no 3 star hotels here so you're options are all the standard 2 star next to the highway types. I figured the Wingate was my best bet. I'm here on business. It's not really a new Wingate which I think might be the biggest problem. The bathroom tub was really gross (brown mildew in the cracks all over) and the room was blah and outdated. Ugly "bed spread" and there's no central air. It's the cheapy one by the window that makes the room very musty. My particular room smelled like stale old smoke although it was a non-smoking room.

It's a cheap rate so don't expect much....I just don't think they have good cleaning service here.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank mustangcynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Decatur
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Decatur
Ramada Limited Decatur
#6 of 12 in Decatur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Decatur Conference Center and Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 12 in Decatur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Decatur-Forsyth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel and Suites

Property: Welcome Hotel and Suites
Address: 5170 N Wingate Dr, Decatur, IL 62526 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Decatur)
Location: United States > Illinois > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Welcome Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welcome Hotel and Suites is located in a suburban area with shopping, dining and movie theaters within a half mile of the property. We are conveniently located right off Highway 51 and US Interstate 72. We offer a hot buffet breakfast, a light dinner from 5-7pm Monday-Thursday, Indoor Pool, Hot tub, Fitness Center, Microwaves and Refrigerators in every room, as well as free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Welcome Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing