We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so-so....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Welcome Hotel and Suites
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Decatur
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just so-so....”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We visited Decatur because my husband had some work in the area. We packed up the kids and we all came along. The people at the front desk were very nice, especially the ladies who were working in the morning. They were exceptional.
My problem with the hotel was that it appeared to be in need of some cleaning and basic fixing up. There was also a mold/moisture issue in the pool area. There were lots of spots in our room where the wallpaper was peeling off the wall, a super dirty bathroom area, and even some mold in the room. I'm not a good housekeeper by any means, but there were places in the room that kind of grossed me out. My husband swears the hotel is only five years old or so, but judging by the rooms I don't think that's possible. You might want to check on that.
In any case, the location was great and it was nice and quiet for sleeping. The pool was kinda small, but kids don't really care about that as long as they can swim and have a good time.
In short, it was just so-so, meh.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishwormgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    9
    15
    4
See reviews for
15
10
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Check in was fast and smooth. Stayed one night, large clean room. Front desk was helpful with directions. Breakfast in the morning was very good!! Tiny pool.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unomartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I stayed in Decatur for a business meeting in the first week of March. Everything was fine until the day of my last meeting. I turned the shower on but no hot water. I had to take a cold shower. I told the front desk. They told me that others had complained also but the maintenance person would not be in until later. No other explaination given. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HASAN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bud, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I was surprised at how clean and new looking the room was. The service was good and employees were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florida2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed overnight, ate breakfast, and my children used the pool. The hotel is convenient to shopping (across the street from the shopping mall), the city of Decatur, and the highway (right off of 72). The room was clean and nicely furnished, there were a variety of breakfast items to choose from, and the pool was small but perfect for children enjoying a swim. There are at least a dozen restaurants (eat-in or fast food) within a mile of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Breakfast was gross! Overcooked burnt dried out. Coffee was weak and flavorless. My room was not cleaned well every day.

  • Liked — Priority club points
  • Disliked — Horrible breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aw_kingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Chicago, Il
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

I have stayed here several times since it opened in 2002, and must say that it is better than the many other chain hotels (all budget-type) that are nearby. At my May 2007 stay, I found the lobby and decent-sized room well-maintained; a/c working well and not bad on the noise side. The bathroom is definitely nicer than the usual Hampton/Fairfield/Country Inn standard. The breakfast offerings were pretty good as these places go. The Wingate simply is a budget hotel, still rather new, that has been well-maintained.

On the cleanliness side, while my wife is rather picky on such matters, we have always found the hotel to be fine.

  • Liked — Good sized, clean room at a low price.
  • Disliked — Just another cookie-cutter budget hotel.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank FairBalanced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
7.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Decatur
Ramada Limited Decatur
#5 of 14 in Decatur
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Decatur-Forsyth
6.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel and Suites

Property: Welcome Hotel and Suites
Address: 5170 N Wingate Dr, Decatur, IL 62526-9709 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Decatur)
Location: United States > Illinois > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Welcome Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welcome Hotel and Suites is located in a suburban area with shopping, dining and movie theaters within a half mile of the property. We are conveniently located right off Highway 51 and US Interstate 72. We offer a hot buffet breakfast, a light dinner from 5-7pm Monday-Thursday, Indoor Pool,Fitness Center, Microwaves and Refrigerators in every room, as well as free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Welcome Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing