We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paco's Sol Bistro

Paco's Sol Bistro
Ranked #2 of 168 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Paco's Sol Bistro, we believe that every new day provides a reason to celebrate. We believe that sharing something in common is the derivative of true friendship. We believe that taste buds spark the most creative of ideas, and that our favorite experiences in life are evoked while dining. Paco's Sol Bistro invites you to share your experiences with us, and in return, we'll prepare for you a made-from-scratch meal and a few cocktails to complement the conversation.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
299 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have been to Paco's a couple of times this month. The first time I ordered the pear spice salad. It is a starter salad and that is tasty and fresh. The stuffed mushrooms were also good, but filling for an appetizer. The flat bread pizza is also good. The second time I went I had the chicken tortillia wrap with slaw. I really liked the wrap and the slaw was nice and crunchy and a little bit spicy. We ordered chips and salsa for our appetizer which was also good. Nothing bad to say. Our waitress was friendly and gave us good service. The only negative is we had to sit in the bar area which was chilly, but they cranked the heat for us. I look forward to going to Paco's again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carlinda6665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    43
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I get the pizza ever time I go and I love it. It is the spinach and mushroom pizza and I add chicken to it. I know I should branch out and try something else, but I find myself ordering the same thing.

My husband has had the burger and the horseshoe and enjoyed both. We have taken friends and the have tried different pizzas, chicken sandwich, salads and all were good.

Appetizers we have had the salsa and chips and although that was not my favorite, we did have the BBQ bacon wrapped shrimp and they were very very good. We have actually had them multiple times.

Very good food and worth a visit, or two, or...well, you get the picture!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wrlegends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
581 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We chose Paco's for our New Year's Eve dinner and are glad we did. We were greeted and seated promptly and our waitress quickly came to talk our drink orders.

There were lots of new items on the menu (New to us as we haven't been here in over a year.) and they all sounded great. She landed on the crab cakes with chipotle mayo. I had a tougher time and ended up going ordering two things: the steak tortilla and a taco.

Her crab cakes were good. The steak tortilla was good. The taco was great! The taco had a mixture of ground beef and chorizo, topped with onion straws, jack cheese and lettuce. Outstanding!!

We have a great meal and great service. We won't be waiting so long before our next visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food. good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This restaurant serves a white chili which is excellent in taste and very flavorful. It is just a tad spicy, however,not so overpowering as to overshadow the taste. The ham and turkey horseshoe was somewhat different than I expected. The dish came with turkey and ham over toast, The French fries were placed with the sauce over the meat and bread. The crispy onion strings were placed over the entire dish. That is what made the dish quite different than most horseshoes. The sauce was excellent as was the dish. The service was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Martinis, and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived at 7pm, having phoned ahead to be on priority seating list. By 7:15 we had a table (and they honored the priority call order). Jody was a very attentive server.

Well mixed and served martinis (we were able to watch the bartender work) were worth the price.
The chicken meatloaf is...really good. Potato soup was thin. Bacon-wrapped shrimp appetizer was yummy.

Portion for the "horseshoe" is large (understatement). Eclectic menu. Happy room full of diners. Good service. You will probably enjoy being at Paco's Sol Bistro unless you are looking for a quiet romantic dinner!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayfaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paco's Sol Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Paco's Sol Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing