We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paco's is a favorite of ours”
Review of Paco's Sol Bistro

Paco's Sol Bistro
Ranked #2 of 168 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At Paco's Sol Bistro, we believe that every new day provides a reason to celebrate. We believe that sharing something in common is the derivative of true friendship. We believe that taste buds spark the most creative of ideas, and that our favorite experiences in life are evoked while dining. Paco's Sol Bistro invites you to share your experiences with us, and in return, we'll prepare for you a made-from-scratch meal and a few cocktails to complement the conversation.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paco's is a favorite of ours”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We live near Decatur, but have taken several out of town friends and family of ours to Paco's for supper. They update the menu from time to time, but just about everything we've tried there is wonderful! Our favorites include the shrimp and scallop ceviche, chicken meatloaf, barbecue chicken and mango pizza, and any specials that they offer. The service is good - the waiters are friendly and professional but not too intrusive. We like the little cornbread jalapeno muffins they serve while we're waiting for our meal to come. The atmosphere is laid back. Usually it's mostly an adult crowd - which we prefer when we're going out on a weekend evening. The restaurant is downtown with ample parking in a lot across the street, and within walking distance of several other places to get more drinks after dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aj8821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    44
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I had their pork chop and my friend had a horseshoe, the pork chop was EXCELLENT. Honestly the best I have had. Great atmosphere and the waitress was very good. Constantly making sure everything was alright with our meal. Went for late lunch and restaurant was not busy,which initially concerned me but my concerns were quickly put to rest by the jalapeño corn bread, and sweet tea. Bottom line. I will be back here often and will recommend it to my friends, neighbors, and customers!

Helpful?
Thank J W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Upscale but approachable food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had dinner with a group of colleagues and clients. The menu is definitely a little more adventurous than the average restaurant in Decatur but contains a lot of familiar dishes and some local specialties like 'horseshoes'. Almost everyone at the table had to try the Chicken Meatloaf in one incarnation or another and all of us found it to be fantastic. The service was great as was the atmosphere and there are options on the menu that won't empty your wallet, as well as ones that will.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank albedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Well Worth the Price”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you havent been, TRY IT! They have an appetizer with shrimp wrapped in bacon. NO LIE. I hate seafood. ITS THE BEST THING IVE EVER ATE! EVERYTHING is FRESH!!!!!!!!!!!! It will cost you. Without alchahol figure 30 a person. However if your going for lunch. They have cheaper specials. Try somehting with Chipotle! They make it themselves. ITS MONEY!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregoryCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unique, interesting and EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a fabulous restaurant! The entrees were unique and so,so good! Clearly, the chef is creative but not wacky which I appreciate. Really enjoyable!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paco's Sol Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Paco's Sol Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing