We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant!”
Review of Bizou

Bizou
Ranked #17 of 168 Restaurants in Decatur
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Decatur is a small town. But the food and service in this restaurant is outstanding and is of big city quality!

Excellent restaurant for Decatur.. Price is reasonable)... not low, but not extremely high either)

Service is excellent.. very friendly. (Another restaurant in town, the Beach House, also has excellent food, but the service is very bad)

Great for special occasions..Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tturgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This place is such a delight for my home town - food was fantastic as well as the service. very fresh ingredients!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal at Bizou”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have been going to Bizou for several years and have never had a bad meal. Went there last night for my husbands birthday and had the best scallops, miso soup(the BEST) and roasted broccoli. The servers always make us feel welcomed as do the owners Mike and Megan and Ray the Chef. The Ahi Tuna is also wonderful and is the Chili . Ray always has the most flavorful soups. We cant be happier that we found this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharonjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Who would have guessed that you get get this level of food and service in Decatur? My husband and i were in Decatur on family business and lucked into Bizou. We almost walked past the restaurant as there was no one eating inside at 12:30 on a weekday, but we decided to give it a try and are happy we did.

The restaurant is rather eclectic for Decatur with modern furnishings and a menu that you will not find in the chain restaurants that are so prevalent or even in the other specialty restaurants in the downtown area. We started with the sesame ginger beef satay which was a melt in your mouth offering. This was followed by crab cakes for me and a special of the day open faced medallion sandwich for my husband. Both were perfectly cooked, beautifully presented, and attentively served. The beef medallion sandwich was an absolute winner with a touch of goat cheese and a scoop of garlic mashed potatoes. The crab cakes came with a lick the plate pesto aeoli.

While we were eating a group of ladies entered and asked to be served outside. Although the tables outside were not ready for service the staff whipped into action and accommodated the request. We love to see that kind of responsiveness.

One thing of note, it was very, very cold inside, although the temperature outside was in the eighties, inside it must have been about 70 degrees. YIKES! Bring a sweater.

We highly recommend Bizou. We have since returned and again enjoyed a terrific meal and service. Once could be luck. Twice means this place knows how to do food and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of Decatur's Best”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The prime rib was excellent as well as the green beans and au gratin potatoes that went with it. The house saled was good with walnuts, Granny Smith apple bites and a tangy apple cider vinaigrette dressing. By day the atmosphere may seem a bit cold due to the metal chairs, glass block and other elements in the eclectic decor, but at night it felt inviting and restful. The server seemed rushed, bringing dinner long before I finished my highball and salad. We had what the menu called Crepe Suzette for dessert, but they were really creeps folded into a triangle and topped with orange marmalade and artificial whipped topping. Tasty, but not Crepe Suzette.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HistoryBuff075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bizou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing