We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NASTY”
Review of Super 8 DeKalb IL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 DeKalb IL
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in DeKalb
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NASTY”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Well if you have ever seen the movie vacancy, this hotel totally looks like it. Checked in and looked for an elevator but there's only stairs. Then on the way to the room the lights in the hallway are a bright light that should be outside. Once inside the room, there was a nasty undescribable smell almost like a hospital, and two of the lights didn't work in the room. And most hotel doors swing shut and you can hear them click shut, well this one didn't click and doesn't lock. Neither do five or six other doors we tested on the way down to the lobby, if they are not dead bolted shut you can just push them open... A little scary if you ask me. And once I told the front desk attendant we were going to stay else where he seemed offended, an like he wasn't going to refund me, but he eventually did. Overall the five minutes I was there, I would never come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    52
    62
    35
    32
See reviews for
116
33
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Worst experience ever! First was given misinformation by the desk staff as to check-in times and billings so was charged TWICE for a one night stay (and the manager is still refusing to refund!), horrendous staff (don’t bother asking for clean towels, they won’t have any! But they’ll tell you to go to Walmart and get your own!) and DISGUSTING ROOMS! Hairs on the towels, trash stuffing into the toilet paper rolls, holes and stains on the walls of all areas; nasty! The County and State Health Inspectors have been alerted of this unsanitary place and I hope it shuts down! Awful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these DeKalb hotels

CHICAGO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My stay was terrible due to the smell of the room. It smelled stale and like urine. It was unbearable. I would have left if I could have found another hotel in Dekalb that night. But, there were no vacancies. Also, I couldn't get room on first floor. I didn't know there was no elevator. I would have requested it at time I booked. And finally, I was told I couldn't get late checkout for noon because they needed to accommodate someone who MAY want to check in early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACINE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

There is nothing in walking distance but the drive is not that far just woud have prefered to stay closer to anywhere. Everything about the room was outdated. The beds were uncomfortable. My son actually slept on the floor to get some sleep and the tvs were old and only one light in the room was working. The toliet in our room would not flush. The guy at the front desk came and opened up the lid so for the whole trip we lifted the lid to get the toliet to flush and pull the chain. The reason we picked the hotel was for the pool. well the heater was broke and the pool was frozen so we could not use that either,overall this was the worse super 8 hotel that I have ever stayed at. they also stated they had free breakfest but when I went down there well before the nine o clock ending time there was nothing left and no one re filling anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank racinegomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeKalb
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
5.2 mi away
Motel 6 Sycamore
Motel 6 Sycamore
#4 of 4 in Sycamore
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
15.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Rochelle
80 reviews
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 DeKalb IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 DeKalb IL

Property: Super 8 DeKalb IL
Address: 800 W Fairview Dr, I-88, exit 91 (Annie Glidden Rd/ NIU exit), DeKalb, IL 60115-8770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DeKalb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in DeKalb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 DeKalb IL 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Dekalb IL hotel is located off the Annie Glidden Exit of Interstate 88, next to River Height Golf Course and minutes from downtown Dekalb. Northern Illinois University is less than two miles away. Rely on our Smoke-free hotel to provide convenient amenities. Our comfortable rooms come with coffee maker, refrigerator, microwabes, iron/Ironing boards, High speed free Wi-Fi and access to guest laundry facilities. We offer free parking for your large truck, bus or RV. If you need to unwind from a busy day of travel, take a swim in the indoor pool or book one of our spa suites. Wake up refreshed in the morning and enjoy free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza with Hot fresh Waffle maker. Pets are welcome, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Super 8 Dekalb, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 DeKalb IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 De Kalb
Super Eight De Kalb
De Kalb Super 8
De Kalb Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing