We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Breakfast Spot”
Review of Jam & Jelly

Jam & Jelly
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Darien
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Perfect Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our every-Saturday-morning-breakfast spot. We live less than two miles from J&J and from Spring to Autumn, we enjoy riding our bikes to the cafe for breakfast. There are outdoor tables (during moderate- to warm- weather); sometimes the wait is a little bit longer (15 minutes) but it's worth it.
This really is the perfect breakfast cafe. THE BEST homemade yogurt parfait with fresh fruit that I have EVER had. I look forward to it all week!
The food is fabulous and the staff are friendly and attentive.
The only two suggestions that I have are (1) liquor license - it sure would be nice to have a mimosa or bloody mary ocassionally; and (2) patio heating units to permit outdoor seating when the temps are little cooler in spring and fall.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hidden Café has a very large menu to choose from. Our party of 3 did 2 breakfasts and 1 lunch. They have some unusually tasty scrambles on the breakfast menu, so I tried one and the only disappointment was I wanted more feta cheese in it. The rest was excellent. The scramble came with fruit, and choice of toast or pancakes. It was a lot of food for the price. We were promptly seated, the noise level was appropriate for conversations, and the server was attentive and friendly. I would definitely come back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BonDiver_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“my weekly lunch spot--everything is great!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I frequent jam and jelly with friends every week for lunch. They have everything on the menu - from omelletes to eggs benedict for breakfast and sandwiches and salads for lunch. The best part is toast or pancakes come with the majority of the dishes, and their famous jelly comes with the toast. Ask the server what jellies and jams they have that day. Their variety changes daily an they usually have 4-5 to choose from. Strawberry and peach are the BEST!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hydro46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
233 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Expensive Breakfast”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stopped in the Jam & Jelly on a Sunday afternoon for brunch with the family. There was no wait for a table for four at noon. A very good list of menu items, but most were in the $9 - 12 range. The least expensive food item was $4.75 for one egg! I ordered the plain crepes for $6.25. Service was efficient and quick - server was very familiar with the menu items.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikejack52pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
318 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went to the one in Woodridge, newly opened in Seven Bridges. We have been for lunch and for 3 breakfasts.. all good. Service is very attentive as well and not obtrusive. All breakfast plates are enormous, enough for two. This is just the way it is in most breakfast places so, it is not a negative.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank thomasrydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jam & Jelly also viewed

 
Bolingbrook, DuPage County
Darien, DuPage County
 

Been to Jam & Jelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing