We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chicken I've ever had!”

Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
Ranked #17 of 85 Restaurants in Danville
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lisbon IA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best chicken I've ever had!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This has to be, by far, the best chicken I've ever had! I don't know what is different about their breading but I could have ate the whole 16 pack of chicken myself I think!! :) Their name says it all! This is another MUST visit stop when in Danville!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsWhite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Chicken”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Their batter on their fried chicken is delicious. You get a lot for your money when you order a meal. This is great food!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesaepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Il
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Local Icon”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken is definitely on the list of "Must Do" when my children come back to town to visit. We all love the original recipe but we eat every style they offer. The Peg Legs are one of the favorites.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank saucitart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fithian, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average and Overpriced”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The chicken is good, not spectacular. The sides are slightly better. Danville natives are crazy for this place, but it's really very average. The prices are way high for this quality. If you've got to have chicken, KFC is probably a better choice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elliot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than KFC”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Love their crispy chicken. The right amount of spice. They also have yummy sweet tea. Service is fast and friendly. Much better than eating at KFC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Visionsinwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing