We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“45 minutes from U of I”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Danville
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“45 minutes from U of I”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night before the Illinois Marathon in Champaign. It's 45 minutes from the University and obviously it would have been nice to be closer (the closer hotels were booked solid) but honestly, after reading reviews of other hotels closer, we most likely would have stayed here anyway. It was very quiet, which was very important to us. The rate seemed high for the location, but perhaps that was due to the event at U of I. Overall, worth considering if you are willing to have a short drive to the University.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    84
    40
    22
    8
See reviews for
109
64
13
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is very nice and seems very new. I got a HUGH room. You could had 2 rooms in 1. Place was clean and Breakfast area is large and open. Pool area is very nice. Only issue was the hot tub was not hot, like bath water. But over all I would go there again.

Room Tip: asked for 2nd floor large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bink86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is not far from active RR tracks & close to the interstate. Danville is an industrial town. The hotel was on a dead end street. The parking lot was very small. A large vehicle would have to park out on the street. The hotel was clean. The room keys were deactivated after the first 24 hours. Since the group was scheduled to be there for 3 days, this was quite inconvenient & unnecessary. The breakfast offered in the mornings was varied each day & offered hot & cold items. This was nice. In the evenings, the group wanted to have adult beverages in the commons area but was told it wasn't allowed. They ended up outside & across the street at the other hotel in their gazebo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAwildrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I travel on business to Danville and have spent a night or two at the Hampton every 4 to 6 weeks for the last year. I have to say that this is one of my favorite hotels to stay in during my travels in small towns in the midwest.

The desk staff is very friendly, I look forward to the cookies served in the lobby in the evenings, and the coffee is very good. You need to drive a few miles to find a good restaurant, unless you like Big Boy which is just across the street. I usually stop in town at the Green Garden Chinese restaurant on my way into town and get take out Chinese food, which I warm up later in my room if I don't feel like going out after driving all day. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

I had to stay an extra night due to bad weather this winter and the storm was so bad I was getting water and ice coming throught the window in my room. Now I don't blame the hotel for this, it was a really bad storm whith gale force winds which is why I stayed an extra night. I called the front desk to inquire if this was happening in the entire hotel or was it just where my room was located? The front desk sent a maintenance person to my room immediately and moved me to the other side of the hotel. It was done in a very professional manner and they upgraded my room. I was just glad to be out of the storm!

There is noise from the train tracks nearby, but all the hotels in the area would be affected by this. When the trains bang it sounds like thunder. If this bothers you I suggest a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel.which is much quieter. The rooms on the first floor closer to the highway (74) are much more affected by the noise then the rest of the hotel.

The breakfast is OK, I've had better at other Hampton's, but the overall quality of the hotel, helpfulness of the staff and updated rooms makes this one of my favorite Hamptons.

The TV's are flat screen, they have HGTV and the Comedy channel which is a step up from most of the hotels I stay in. They also have a little store where you can buy snacks and sodas.

If you are staying in Danville, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Upper floor, back of the hotel if the train noise would bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanilz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The Hampton Inn & Suites at Danville offers an updated style of gathering space for breakfast, and the rooms appear to be updated as well. Check in process was efficient, and I was surprised that the desk clerk gave me the room number of another guest when I asked if I could telephone that person (I anticipated I would be connected to the room for safety reasons without knowing the room number). Breakfast was fine. As for the room, it was ok. It was clean, but had some marks of questionable origin on the bathroom wall. Advertising in the elevator that sheets and duvet covers are changed in between guests is kind of odd, if you ask me. Trains run nearby, and I fell asleep and awoke to the sound of freight moving on the rails (I suspect this would be the same experience at any of the nearby lodging options, too). Bright lights immediately outside my room made me keep the curtains closed. Just leaving a small section of the curtains open made it appear like a spotlight to the bed. If you are in town for dinner, eat at the Beef House. Very good food in a "throwback" setting to the mid 1960s. Oh, and if you use a BlackBerry or cellular phone, don't be surprised if it keeps changing times as mine did since you are staying just over the state line which marks central and eastern time zones.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor (top floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We visited our daughter during the UIUC homecoming football game. All the hotel rooms aournd Urbana-Champaign were booked 6 months in advance. We stayed at Hampton Inn Danville for one night. It is about 45-minute drive from the campus. The hotel is new, clean and comfortable. It is in the middle of nowhere with Holiday Inn and Fairfield Inn right next to it. There are no restaurants or stores close by. It is a good backup hotel if you can't find rooms close to the UIUC campus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auburn indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

stayed 2 nites with my precious daughter at this hotel.pros-room was nice-good bed and nice tv.cons-breakfast not the best, pool needed heat.but, the exercise room was great and the spa was excellent.overall, i would stay here again,but breakfast needs more meat and pool needs more heat!!!

Room Tip: get a higher floor-away from traintracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danville hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Danville
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville
0.1 mi away
Best Western Regency Inn
Best Western Regency Inn
#5 of 11 in Danville
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville
4.9 mi away
Danville Days Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Danville
Super 8 Danville
#7 of 11 in Danville
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Danville

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Danville
Address: 370 Eastgate Dr, Danville, IL 61834-9456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Danville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover hotels in Danville, IL, and book today at the Hampton Inn & Suites Danville. Offering easy access to I-74 and just minutes from outdoor activities and shopping, our hotel will make your stay in Danville a memorable one. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing