We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The property is considerably improved from a couple years...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Crystal Lake
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Crystal Lake
Reviewed May 29, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Fabian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank 985CHUCK_L_12985
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Let me begin by saying that I’m a person who generally stays at economy hotels so the experience of staying at a place that is not a five, four, three or even two-star hotel is not unknown to me and I don’t judge accommodations by higher standards if they are a lower-end facility. And there are many, many places that I’ve stayed that, though inexpensive and minimalist, have been very good places to say – sometimes exceeding even the high-end hotels in certain areas such as customer service. Having said that, this Super8 is below the standard that I can accept and I would not stay at this facility again.

There are things that I look for when I stay at a hotel: is it safe, is it clean, is it restful, is the water pressure good, does the internet work? Since this review is going to have negative aspects, I’m going to be detailed.

Upon my arrival, the first thing I noticed was that the exterior of the building is not attractive – dingy is the word – and it was not swept and clean. It was trashy and this was not today’s trash; this was long-term dumpy. The dumpster was unconcealed, overflowing and smelly. One of the entry doors was broken.

The reservation, however, was correct and check in was quick and easy as was checkout a few days later.

This seems to be a hotel with some long-term residents – I saw people coming in different times with business ID’s and in business attire - and people were hanging about outside at all hours of the afternoon and even late at night. The part of town that this facility is found is an otherwise nice area. It’s a block off the main road and there are good restaurants and good stores nearby, some in walking distance, and a Starbucks a half-block away. This facility, however, did not seem quite safe to me. It was the first time in a while that I’ve removed the faceplate from the car stereo out of concern for the safety of a hotel. I did not feel threatened by any of those staying there, but the general ambience was not appealing.

The hallways were dark and dingy, with stained and worn carpet. This facility accepts pets and there were a lot of them – mostly dogs – and again, some of those animals may have been longer-term residents.

Once in the room, it appeared that they had tried to refresh the room and update it some but the result was that it was very crowded. It is a small room that had a TV cabinet with a chest of drawers below the TV, a desk and desk chair, a settee, a refrigerator and a microwave. And an armchair in the corner which, oddly, was the location of clothes rack because there was no closet. The armchair had to be relocated in order to hang clothes. The beds were not firm, though not uncomfortable to sleep; and the pillows were thin.

My companion remarked on the stained condition of the bedspreads and needed to wipe down the surfaces with disinfectant wipes before feeling comfortable to put things on them. This is the first time I've ever done that in a hotel. After the first day, we did not feel the need to do that, so it appears that the maid service does the best that they can with what they have. When we first entered the room, there was a strong smell that was a mix of chemical and something else we could not identify – previous pet activity perhaps – and each time we came into the room, before we aired it out, the smell reoccurred. We wondered if it could have been a flea treatment.

For those bringing items that need to be plugged in, don’t look for easily available outlets. The only ones that I found were two in the lamp on the desk. It was not possibly to sit on the bed with the laptop and have it plugged in. However, internet access was fast and very easy to connect – and one of the few positive things about this hotel.

The bathroom was as clean as the maids could make it but there appeared to be some mold in the ceiling over the shower peeking through the new paint. Under the sink, one could easily see the dust and rust on the fixtures. Water pressure was barely adequate but no more, though there was always plenty of hot water.

Standing outside the door of the room and about to enter, I could clearly hear the conversation my companion was having with a friend by phone and at the same time could clearly hear the television in the room across the hall. Sound intrudes into and out of these rooms very readily. There really is effectively no privacy. Sound also transfers easily from room to room and even the floors seemed thin. We could hear any movement in the room above and someone walking around made enough noise to keep you awake. The curtains were for privacy but did not keep out the morning light so that was also intrusive to sleep.

I don’t determine my stay by the quality of the breakfast provided but I will say that I was glad there was a McDonald’s ajoining the property and it was there that I obtained my breakfast.

Overall, the negative aspects of this hotel are my concerns are the overall lack of cleanliness which is exacerbated by the many pets that are staying there, the crowded and jammed condition of the room and lack of outlets, the noise and light intrusion and interference with rest, and cost of the room which was excessive for the level of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nighthawk416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Mr. B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Lake
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#2 of 4 in Crystal Lake
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
442 reviews
9.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Barrington
7.8 mi away
Super 8 Woodstock
Super 8 Woodstock
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Crystal Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Crystal Lake

Address: 577 Crystal Point Dr, Crystal Lake, IL 60014-8005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Crystal Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Crystal Lake
Price Range: $75 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Crystal Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Crystal Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Crystal Lake
Crystal Lake Super Eight
Crystal Lake Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing