We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST OK” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Crystal Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Crystal Lake
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“JUST OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I would like to complain about the "we ID everyone" policy.. Where do I begin. oh ya, I am a 75 year old man that just had a severe heart attack and when the lovely worker heidi brought up my drink she asked for my ID... Really!! I am 75 years old!!!!!!!!!! of course I left it in my car so I had to go all the way out to my car still out of breath from my heart attack. I really appreciate the ID process with having minors, but come on give me a break!!! If you can tell someone is in there +40s you should not have to show ID especially for myself! Unfortunately you lost my business because of this policy. I have been to other local hotels and they do not ask for my ID. shame on you guys!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicrystallake, Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on our “ID Policy”, we love to hear feedback from our guests so we can better provide service to our clientel. As you stated your age and of course the situation we understand your concern with going back out to your vehicle for your license to show to our employee for alcohol consumption at the Lobby Bar. As a business we try to be consistent in our policy and we recognize that sometimes circumstances to arise with guests, we do apologize if this caused discomfort and we have notified our Food and Beverage team of the issue you stated. Thank you for providing us with your feedback and when you come back to the Three Oaks Lounge please stop by and introduce yourself to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    57
    42
    26
    28
See reviews for
85
35
19
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I spent one night here and found the staff to be helpful and everything was as-expected for a $120 hotel.

I think the hotel has been around a while. I couldn't tell if the room was recently re-done but it was definitely clean and the king bed was just right.

The lobby seemed large and clean and there was a sports bar that was well attended when I checked in after 10pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicrystallake, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on our property and we look forward to seeing you in the future. We are excited to hear feedback our property and the amenities we have to offer. If you have an opportunity to please "like us" on facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the potential to be great but it really needs a renovation badly. The room was clean and that's #1 with me.... BUT, the room is dated, no desk, no microwave, no refrigerator , TV was typical poor hotel selection. Was a flat screen but not HD? Watched TV on my iPad with my Internet air card because the hotel Internet was dog slow?
No included breakfast? Resturant was ...OK. Not great. Expensive.
AC & heat unit was old and noisy. Extremely cold air was leaking in from the AC unit and the wall plugs? Yikes....
I left a note at the front desk with a list of items that needed attention and only one of them was corrected??
Again, looks like the owners are just taking the $ and not reinvesting in their property?
Note to owners and management: you have a property with great classy potential but your not involved and connected to your guests. Renovate, renew, update and make your hotel a place that corporate customers request.
Unfortunately, when I return on business I will request better accommodations .

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kernvilledaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICHICL_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We would like to apolgize that you found out hotel to be a little dated and would like you to know that we are taking your comments very seriously. The hotel has been doing many renovations along the way but unfortunately, some of the items that have not yet been completed are apparently very important to you. We hope you will give another try in the future as we complete more of our upgrades. I am confident you will be quite pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I, along with our two pomeranians, stay for business frequently at the Crystal Lake Holiday Inn. The facility and grounds are beautiful and the staff is always very friendly and accommodating. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floors facing pond have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W Randal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICHICL_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for teh terric comments about our Hotel. We are thrilled that you stay with us often and really appreciate the fantastic feedback. Hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, wi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We visited this hotel earlier this week. To begin with, we found that EVERYTHING you did took forever. Sitting in the bar, the bartender would rather talk about stuff on her iPad with other employees than tend to the other patrons. It took almost 30 minutes to get her attention, not to mention follow up once we had our drinks. The first morning, waiting by the restaurant area we waited, again, for someone to seat us. After 20 minutes, we ended up leaving and going to McDonalds. The third evening, after checking the hotel amenities guide for the workout center hours, worked in the restaurant until 10:00. The amenities guide says (and I quote) "Our Fitness Center is located on the Lower Level, near the indoor pool. Open 5:30 a.m. - 11 p.m., daily...” I went down to the fitness center at 10:05 and found every light to be off and the fitness center closed. After asking the front desk, I was told “the fitness center closed at 10:00 and had been that way for years (to her knowledge)”. To me, this is just another indication of laziness. You mean to tell me they can’t update ONE PAGE? The ONLY redeeming point to our stay was the server during our Wednesday night meal in the restaurant. Service was prompt and cheerful.

The room was fine overall except the heater, the thing sounded like aircraft taking off when running. You could not turn it off to escape the sound because the windows leaked like crazy and you would freeze to death.

They DO have internet access available in the lobby and rooms. The service barely worked and when it did was VERY slow. Do you see a pattern?

These small things added up quickly in my mind. If you just need a bed for the evening and don’t mind the noise you’re probably good. If you require anything else from the hotel I suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Chris T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my sincerest apology for the unacceptable service you received during your stay and any inconvenience your room accommodations may have caused you. I am also sorry for the problems you encountered with our Internet Access. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crystal Lake hotels

New Boston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I wouldn't think this area should be considered a vacation spot, but if you're in the area for a meeting, Little League tournament (there was one while I was there) or whatever else, this is about the best place to stay. The staff were very good, friendly people and the hotel was very clean. The room was large with a kitchenette which I really didn't use much. The bed was comfortable and the A/C ran very well with a fan that stayed on all the time - one of my pet peeves. The bathroom was spotless.

My room overlooked a small pond where I could see foot-long Carp swimming around. I went down to the pond to feed them but they weren't very interested.

The only non-accolade is the restaurant on site. Don't expect great food and they're not cheap, either. There are many restaurants if you wanted to explore in downtown Crystal Lake, however. Still, the convenience of having a restaurant on site, even a mediocre on is a plus.

Over all, this is a very nice hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending it if you're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICHICL_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so very much for the wonderful comments about our hotel. We are very proud of it as well as our staff. I was sorry to hear that you did not find our restaurant up to the same standard as the rest of the hotel and you may be interested to know that we have focused much attention to this area in the last couple of month. Our guest responses tell us that we are definately headed in the right direction and hope you will try us again soon. The Chef dares you!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

HI chains are a well known commodity - same-old, same-old. If you're in the northwest suburbs of Chicago and are looking for a totally friendly, clean, guest-oriented Holiday Inn hotel, this one is the ticket. We've stayed there at least 6 times over the last 3 years (it's close to family) and every time has been excellent. I really screwed up my last reservation (dates wrong, used points plus charged) and without a blink of an eye, the Front Desk said - no problem, we can get it straightened, don't worry about it. She didn't even pause to think it through, just did it!!! They have a nice pool (grandkids love it), a nice, although small workout room (daughter loves it), a friendly bar, if you're inclined and predicable breakfast fare. Lots of convention, meeting traffic. Bell Captain has been there forever and is the sweetest person. Servers at breakfast are a dream!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICHICL_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Crystal Lake, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Wow what an amazing review. I was thrilled to read the tremendous comments about the staff and particularly what you stated about the front desk. I hope we will so see you for stay number 7 and since you mentioed the pool, you may be interested to know that we just completely painted it inside and out. It looks fantastic! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Lake
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hoffman Estates
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Crystal Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Crystal Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Address: 800 South Illinois Route 31, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Crystal Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Crystal Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Crystal Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McHenry County, Illinois' only full service hotel, the Holiday Inn Crystal Lake and Conference Center is situated in a park-like setting filled with oak trees and overlooking quaint, sparkling Lake Acorn. Perfectly situated near several corporate centers for Sage, Medela, Snap on Tools, Affinia Brake Parts, Centegra Healthcare, True Value and more. Less than five minutes from Pingree Metra Train Station serving the northwest suburbs and downtown Chicago, the area boasts unique attractions including Three Oaks Recreation Area and the Quarry Wakeboarding Park, Raue Center for the Arts, Woodstock Opera House, Sanfilippo Museum (reservations mandatory), Algonquin Commons Shopping District, Volo Auto and Illinois Railway Museums, Grand Victoria Riverboat Casino and several championship golf courses. 11 miles north of I-90 Elgin interchange, we are 45 minutes from O'Hare and Rockford Airports. On-site amenities include 24-hour business and fitness center, large indoor pool, complimentary high speed Internet (Wi-Fi), Simply Smart Bedding Collection, 18,000+ square feet of meeting and banquet space, Three Oaks Dining Room and Lounge, Wedding Services and more. Car rental agency located on site and a complimentary shuttle runs within a 5 mile radius, based on availability. We are also a pet friendly hotel, with a pet deposit required at check in. Holiday Inn Crystal Lake staff prides itself on service in a hotel boasting value and variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Crystal Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake Hotel Crystal Lake
Crystal Lake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing