We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Onion Blossom can't be beat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #67 of 129 Restaurants in Crystal Lake
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Onion Blossom can't be beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Their steaks are marvelous and we love their Onion Blossoms. it's always a pleasant dining experience, with nice polite waiters.

Helpful?
Thank quiltmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always Busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Staff greats you at door. They offer a snack while you wait. Usually a reasonably short wait, sometimes longer. Food, I find is always good, but now the portions have gotten smaller and the prices have not. Service is always great. Will come back again though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CVP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ewww...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We moved from Mishawaka, Indiana to Crystal Lake, IL. We don't have a lot of eating out money, so we chose a restaurant we knew and loved. We figured if we stuck with a chain we could be guaranteed a certain quality & flavor. Boy were we wrong! Our Outback back home was good with salt and knew how to grill a steak. This outback had soup that tasted like a salt lick and a salad that tasted like it was more than a week old. I held out hope and wait for my steak and potatoes to come. When I FINALLY, after 2 requests and 45 minutes, received my food, I found a fingernail and band-aid in my food. I nearly threw up. I will NEVER go back! The manager then wanted to remake my food and did not offer to pay for it... REALLY how about I just call the health department in the morning! DISGUSTING. It was the worst service I have ever had. We tipped less than a dollar and since I used to wait tables and know what it takes to earn a tip, even for bad service we tip 10%. Terrible experience which makes me sad because our Outback steakhouse back home was a great place with great people.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FDenlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

oUTBACK IS STILL TASTY- lOVE THE ONIONS nobady makes them better! However- i am not a fan of their "wood fired" grill- trying to take after some of the newer steak houses- the specail is still tasty- but the portions have gotten small- not smaller- but just small. Still love it- hope the economy turns so they can get back to old form.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DGwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
333 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Outback serves a consistent product, and the Crystal Lake franchise contributes to the company's positive brand. We are always welcomed at the door, and seated quickly if we get there before it's too crowded (which it often is on weekends; do call ahead seating!). Servers are friendly and helpful, and food is good. We visit this Outback probably monthly and have yet to receive an order that was not cooked as requested.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing