We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for BBQ lovers!”

Crystal Lake Rib House
Ranked #70 of 130 Restaurants in Crystal Lake
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Huntley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for BBQ lovers!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hi,

We like the Crystal Lake Rib House. The Pulled pork is great and you get large helping of food. The sides such as cole slaw and baked beans are also very good. Ribs are their speciality and they come out on a big platter ( very tasty)! They also feature large "slabs" of pie ( a great way to end the meal). You can sign up for their emails and get coupons.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alfredandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    17
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Get the Chicken chips my wife loves them. Very good. Nice craft beer selection. They always have a Groupon or Living Social ad so there is a fish hook to stop by. I like the pork sandwich and ribs. You want barbecue and don't want to make it , go here. !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OCRABBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but good”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I noticed in other reviews the discomfort of the small dining room of the rib house and agree that it really has only some 10 tables or so and a few outside. I came after the lunch hour just to avoid the crowd (about half filled) and I found the food to be very good...I had the house specialty which was a large slab of ribs costing $20 and they had a deep flavor and fell off the bone. I could easily see someone ordering take outs and avoiding the small environs. Perhaps knowing what to expect might assist in having a more pleasant experience. The waitress was exceptionally friendly and helpful. They had a wide variety of bottled beers and a few brands on tap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Soooo good”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Some of the best bbq I've had! It rivals any of the authentics from the bbq capitals of Texas, Carolinas, etc. I would have to say the ribs are my favorite, and definitely some of the best ribs I've ever had! But you really can't go wrong with anything on their menu. Huge portions; you get your money's worth.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
“Salty food / crowded inside”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I wanted to like this place. It’s charming on the outside. However my visit wasn’t very good. First there were many folks packed into the small pick-up/waiting area for tables, with nowhere really to move. Once seated, you are almost sitting right on top of the tables around you. The whole dining area is one very small room and the tables are so close you reach out from your seat and grab food off of the other tables and you will hear every word of your neighbor’s conversations whether you want to or not. When the food came, at first I was impressed with the portion size. However that didn’t mean much once I had a taste of the over-cooked and over-salted pulled pork. Very disappointing. I would recommend anyone avoid this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Lake Rib House also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Lake Rib House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing