We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Nice People, Attentive”

Jameson's Char House
Ranked #5 of 128 Restaurants in Crystal Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice People, Attentive”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Have been here several times, usually a group of more than 4. We gather for a fine meal in a nice dark wood setting. I'm the Bone-in Ribeye guy. It's huge but so good I finish it off. Some times we have a group of 6 or 8. Everyone raves about whatever they had ordered. We always have great service and never try to go during prime times or days. A chef tipped me off on when to go to restaurants to have the best possible experience. He was right. If you are looking for bargains go elsewhere. But if you want some excellent cusine, Jameson's is the place. And we'll be there for early dinner tonight again. Also we don't live near it, but it's worth the drive. The owner always comes to our table to make sure everything is just right. We have nothing but comments and compliments. During busy times he does his best to seat you ASAP.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    69
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too much hype...no punch”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Its a meat n potatoes place. Average food with above average prices. Frankly if you go across the street to Around the Clock you will get the same food at a third the cost!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobnIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't stop, just go there!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

O.K., it's not Ruth's Chris or Mortons but you're not paying $100 a head to get out the door. Jamesons gives you a great steak or seafood with a lot of sides for a price that will not break your wallet. And, their french onion soup is to die for. Virtually everything they have is GOOD and at a good price for all that they give you. Go there, you won't be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GBALLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Thank You”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

First time in this restaurant and we will not return. We did not have a reservation so we expected to wait, but what we did not expect was to spend an hour watching the nervous manager yell at his hostesses. We were seated in a small room off the bar where we waited 15 minutes for someone to come to our table. Our server was very nice and promptly brought our drinks. When it was my turn to order I stated that I had never eaten there. Her response was "what would you like to order?". So much for suggestions. I said that I would like to start with the french onion soup. The response was "that's another 4.95". I have never before been quoted a price off of a menu so I just nodded. Was that the right response? Don't really know. The soup was fine. The salad was a plate of mixed greens (from a bag?) with 1 cherry tomato each. The salad was not dressed. The dressing was served on the side in a plastic ramekin. Very Tacky. We waited an unusual amount of time between the salad and the entree. The steak was very good. I had the kebob and everyone else had filet. Mine was cooked perfectly, but the filets were terrribly over cooked. Not wanting to wait longer we decided against mentioning it. There are so many good steak houses out there so don't waist your time on this one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsHemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Friday night!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went in at 6:30, made a reservation the night before. Arrived and the place was packed, the waiting area was bustling, but with the reservation we were seated within 5 minutes. Very attentive waiter, arrived with bread and water came shortly after. I had the 11oz filet which was cooked perfectly, forgot what my wife got because my food was so good I barely looked up if only to take down some water. We will be returning for sure, quick service, excellent food. One con of the visit was that this place is so loud it was hard to Cary on a conversation at a normal tone.

Helpful?
Thank FoodLvr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jameson's Char House also viewed

 

Been to Jameson's Char House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing