We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lousy deal for $155 a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Countryside
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Countryside
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lousy deal for $155 a night”
Reviewed June 11, 2006

Originally, my family of 5 had planned to stay in a 2 room suite for 3 nights. By the second night, we were more than ready to cut our losses and get out. The hotel is terribly outdated but to their credit, they are trying to remodel. The bad news is that they are doing it on the same floors where they are putting their guests. The stench of the carpet glue was horrible and to go anywhere on our floor, we had to walk over and around the carpet guys and their equipment.

We had no hot water in our room and neither the coffee maker nor hair dryer worked. The bathroom was dirty and there were only about 6 sheets of TP and a couple tissues when we checked in. The holidome was very nice and a lot of fun till a couple of "escorts" and their clients made a scene in the swimming pool. Trying to talk to anyone at the front desk, even at 10:30 pm, required a 15 minute wait and our complaints were met with apathy.

This hotel has a lot of potential and could be very nice, but it has a long way to go. We might try it again in a few years, after the dust has settled.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Indy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    58
    44
    24
    20
See reviews for
73
25
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 21, 2005

My family and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. we were drawn in by the websites boast of the largest holidome in chicago, well, as long as everything works, perhaps it's okay. Let me first say we have been priority club members with holiday inn since 1999, and usually have 3 to 7 stays per year. I have rarely run into problems but was overwhelmed at this place.

1. Nothing in the game room area worked, no paddles for ping pong, foosball table was broken, only one video game worked.
2. my teenage children, wrestlers, who were very well behaved, were kicked out of the weight room, told it was adults only, yet guests who were not even registered ( a wedding party was there during our stay) and their noisy, small children, were permitted to run rampamt in the weight room.
3. same with the pool and whirlpool, guests and their children absolutely clogged the entire area while boasting they were not even registered.
4. we waited 3 hours for a rollaway bed( which we had requested when we made the reservation) were given the runaround when we called down to inquire about it.
5. when we complained to the manager about all this, and the NOISE ALL NIGHT we were given a blank stare, then rudely asked what they were supposed to do about it.

I guess my warning is, call ahead and make sure everything is in working order.
I want to stress that as the mother of four i am slow to complain about things that others might complain about, but was just so disgusted by the whole stay.
and, oh yes, the bathroom was really dirty also.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Countryside hotels

Bowling Green, KY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2005

We chose to stay in the LaGrange area to commute to Chicago's museums at this Holiday Inn. We were very pleased (except for the city's traffic). The rooms are not state of the art or luxurious, but they are clean, comfortable, and somewhat spacious. The most impressive amenities of the hotel were its pool area and its buffet breakfast. The 25 yard lap pool was warm and clean. A second smaller pool was available for kids. There were 2 hot-tubs available for an enjoyable soak. Additionally, there was a cardio work-out room, 2 saunas, and a game area. All of this was contained in one of the most beautiful indoor complexes that I have experienced. Great "WOW" factor. The buffet breakfast was very good. We ate so much in the morning that lunch was a moot point. There were many offerings in the William Tell restaurant; some for those that wished for hot eats and plenty of juices, milk, cereal, and fruit for the colder tastes. The desk staff were courteous, and our William Tell Restaurant breakfast servers were awesome. A great value in an expensive city!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BGtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2005

MY Family stayed 3 nights. The pool facility is the best I have seen anywhere. The rooms are very nice and the entire Hotel is well kept. The free breakfast buffet was a nice bonus. We will look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Countryside
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicagoland - Countryside
2.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Southwest at Burr Ridge/Hinsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Westchester (Oak Brook)
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge
5.5 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Countryside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Countryside

Property: Holiday Inn Countryside
Address: 6201 Joliet Rd, Countryside, IL 60525-3958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Countryside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Countryside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Countryside 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Countryside LaGrange hotel. Our facility offers 172 comfortable and newly renovated non-smoking guest rooms and suites, as well as banquet and meeting room facilities, situated in a classic setting just minutes from downtown Chicago, Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago's Midway Airport. There is a complimentary shuttle, based on availability 6:30 AM-10:30 PM, for Midway arrivals/ departures. Shuttle must be booked in advance directly through the hotel. We feature a spectacular indoor recreational facility which is a must see! We boast an enticing restaurant on property, the William Tell Restaurant, which offers breakfast, lunch and fine International cuisine for dinner. The new look and menu at Stanley's Lounge offers a great option for lunch and cocktails. Our present clientele reflects our link to downtown Chicago and as a corridor to the western suburbs of Chicago. We are conveniently located to both I-55, the Stevenson Expressway, and I-294, the Tri-State Tollway. The accessibility to all major highways makes us a short drive to many business and leisure destinations. High-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and wireless access in the lobby, new business center, and lounge. You must be 21 years of age to rent a room. *Complimentary breakfast for guests is only Mon-Fri mornings for 2 ppl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Countryside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Countryside Hotel Countryside
Countryside Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing