We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location andExcellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Countryside
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Countryside
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location andExcellent staff”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

For business, had the opportunity to stay in this hotel for 7 months. The location is great, close to highways and rail connections into Chicago. And the free shuttle is helpful for Midway and other local runs. A full service restaurant and sports bar themed lounge offer a wide selection of foods. Lots of restaurants in the area also. Beyond all this, and most important, the staff was excellent. Helpful, smiling, responsive. They made my stay pleasant and pass by so quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    57
    43
    23
    20
See reviews for
72
25
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was very easy to find and had a lot in the area if you need anything. The front desk was nice but we had a mix up and ended up with an occupied room at first. My husband opened the door and let our kids go in first so we really dodged a bullet that the man in the room was only working out and was understanding. They fixed it quickly though and kept apologizing. The rooms could use major updating but it worked for our short stay.
The pool is dangerous! The tile is so slippery, even walking slow you have to be very careful. They had 2 hot tubs by a small pool for younger kids which was nice that we could relax while our 6 year old was right there. They have the local YMCA using the pool on tues and thurs morning so that put a kink in our plans and then Friday morning the pool cleaner was there at nine, also kinking our plans. Pool opens at 6 am, why not clean then?
Didn't try the restaurant but was bummed they don't follow most of the other Holiday Inns and offer a small free breakfast. Would have saved us a ton of time and money in our short, packed trip to Chicago.
Over all it was a decent stay but they could definitely make some improvements.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjbailey713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here for a group meeting. The location is in a near-southwest suburb of Chicago and is about 10 miles (as the car crawls) from Midway airport. The immediate surroundings appeared to be mostly car dealerships and some big-box retailers.

The property seems to be an older one that has undergone some renovations over the years. My room was not that large and had a brick wall on one side that appeared to be a holdover from the 70's. There was more furniture than the room could handle and while there was a nice easy chair and ottoman, it had to sit directly in front of the bedside table. There was a small fridge and microwave in the room, which was convenient. The bed (king) was comfortable. The TV got a fairly good selection of basic cable channels and a few of them were in hi-def. There was a wired internet cable in my room, but it did not work so I had to use the wireless. The wireless speed was adequate for e-mail and web surfing, but not for any serious video.

Any of the meals I ate at the hotel were part of my group and were served banquet or buffet style and, while adequate, I can't say whether or not they are representative of the restaurant overall. I did discover that the town center of LaGrange is only a couple of miles away where there are many good dining options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4959keeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Countryside, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear 4959keeton,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was here for one night and it was adequate. Front desk helpful. Decent breakfast. The restaurant for dinner was very good as well as our bartender there. It wasn't what I was expecting when I pulled up and it was fine for our overnight stay in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank amy_ammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Countryside, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear amy_ammo,

Thank you for your candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for the Park & Fly option since we were flying out of Midway & they offered free shuttle & 7 days of free parking. I was also scouting this hotel for a future tour group in August.

Our stay was okay. There were some loud weddings. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and one of the wedding parties was constantly walking through drinking and swearing.

The shuttle driver took us to the airport & told us to call them when we returned later that week for pickup. We called the hotel at noon & they said they wouldn't have a driver there until 1:30. I asked how much a taxi is & was told $21. We needed to be back for a meeting so we decided to take the cab. The cab cost us $45 as they charge fare plus half for driving to the suburbs where this hotel is located. I was furious. My meeting participants will never stay here nor will I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rams747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Countryside, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Rams747,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Huge rooms at a great price! Friendly staff! We came to swim...huge pool and a medium size pool for smaller kids! 2 jacuzzis...only 1 was working but that's ok! Huge game room and exercise room! Kids eat free and the breakfast was good!! We are planning another visit soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leswes62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Countryside
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicagoland - Countryside
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Southwest at Burr Ridge/Hinsdale
6.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview/Chicago Area
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Countryside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Countryside

Property: Holiday Inn Countryside
Address: 6201 Joliet Rd, Countryside, IL 60525-3958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Countryside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Countryside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Countryside 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Countryside LaGrange hotel. Our facility offers 172 comfortable and newly renovated non-smoking guest rooms and suites, as well as banquet and meeting room facilities, situated in a classic setting just minutes from downtown Chicago, Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago's Midway Airport. There is a complimentary shuttle, based on availability 6:30 AM-10:30 PM, for Midway arrivals/ departures. Shuttle must be booked in advance directly through the hotel. We feature a spectacular indoor recreational facility which is a must see! We boast an enticing restaurant on property, the William Tell Restaurant, which offers breakfast, lunch and fine International cuisine for dinner. The new look and menu at Stanley's Lounge offers a great option for lunch and cocktails. Our present clientele reflects our link to downtown Chicago and as a corridor to the western suburbs of Chicago. We are conveniently located to both I-55, the Stevenson Expressway, and I-294, the Tri-State Tollway. The accessibility to all major highways makes us a short drive to many business and leisure destinations. High-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and wireless access in the lobby, new business center, and lounge. You must be 21 years of age to rent a room. *Complimentary breakfast for guests is only Mon-Fri mornings for 2 ppl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Countryside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Countryside Hotel Countryside
Countryside Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing