We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out”

Greenacres Animal Park
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We visited Greenacres for the first time yesterday, we had a fantastic time, our 6 year old had plenty to do and lots to see. You can get close to all the animals which is a real bonus. This place is fantastic for a day out, clean, tidy and lots to do. We ate at the café, pretty basic but clean & tidy, and the food was lovely. This is one place that I would definitely recommend and we will be visiting on a regular basis that's for sure. Our day flew by, we were disappointed to leave. Greenacres appeals for all ages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    49
    36
    26
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“More like 'Brownacre' but fun for young children”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Don't know much about these sort of places, but this seems typical I guess. You know, animals, swings, rides that drain your pound coins.

Fiver each to get in, even for toddlers over 2. Want to relieve the farm feed bill? Spend 2 quid on 3 tiny bags of food and do the keeper's job. Having said that, the nipper seemed to like feeding piggies and turkeys. But she can go to gran's house and see budgies.


There's a shop and cafe which were both busy, and the playground was packed (I suppose even kids get fed up feeding goats after a while. No puns intended) but a bit rundown... As was most of the place actually, kind of small, shabby and under funded.


However, if you're looking for a bronze position alternative to Chester Zoo's gold, this place might do.

Just don't go by the glossy website. Whilst it may not be a 'Santa's Lapland Adventure with threads of artificial snow and abysmal horse with antlers stuck on', a magical fairyland of cute 'n cuddly disney refugees this ain't.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank anglowelshTGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“More animals than expected ”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Worth a visit.
Hadn't been here in over 16 years but when i went back I wasn't disappointed.
There was a large array of animals to see and stroke!
The goats and sheep were especially friendly.

Despite being aimed at children greenacres is suitable for any age!
Time flew whilst there too. What seemed like half an hour had infact been just over 2hours!

Cheap entry fee too, £5 per adult!

Helpful?
Thank Nm-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab day out for all the family”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Went here last week with my little boy who is 1 and my friend and her daughter who is 4. Lovely day out. The day consisted of feeding the goats their milk and petting them. Going into several different animal enclosures. They have rabbits, chicks, ducks, pigs, piglets, a sheep, horses, parrots, reptiles etc! All the usual you would expect from a farm.

At certain times throughout the day they hold a meet and greet where they bring different animals out for both children and adults to pet. The staff will tell you some information about each animal and will answer any questions you may have. My son loved it and stroked a snake, a millipede and a large lizard! (Brave!)

The farm also consists of a playbarn which was good as we were freezing! There is also an outdoor park area with swings slides grass etc. The farm has picnic facilities and toilets. Couldn't find the baby change so had to change my son in his pram.

Can purchase tokens from the main entrance for fair rides and a tractor ride. The tractor ride was brill and fun for the little ones. This was £1 each. The tractor driver again gave information about the animals and we got to meet "smiley the horse".

Lovely full day out. Can't wait to go back in the summer :-) brilliant cheap day out. The kids loved it :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank toni_denham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this one”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for one night with our motor home and our grand daughter. We were joined the next day by my two daughters and more grand kids. You have to read this. The place is absolutely brilliant for kids and grown ups. Lots to do, you can feed the animals, Emu's dear, horses, pigs, goats Parrots, and yes they do talk to you, hold a snake if you wish Alpaca's etc etc and Peacocks wandering all aver the place. There is a fair ground, tractor rides, café, gift shop, and bar. I cant fault this place. It's only a fiver to get in and they charges about £15 for our motor home for one night with hook up. Karen who own's the place is great, really helpful and most friendly.
We will definitely return in the summer, even if we don't have one this year.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnandwendy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenacres Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Greenacres Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing