We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, new hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn St. Louis-Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn St. Louis-Columbia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceburg, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice, new hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Beautiful hotel - the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and very nice. The hot breakfast was really good with plenty of choices, and the dining room clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again when we visit St. Louis.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank hugheslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    75
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
164
74
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Staff went outside of their way to help us out. Especially Nick who went way & beyond to help us with printing our boarding passes. Room was clean & very nice. Only negative was no hot water one very cold morning, no explanation, just we are working on it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jud7878_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very clean facility, friendly staff members, and a wonderful overall experience. First time staying in this location, but I think this is a location we will stay at again when in the St. Louis area. Pool is indoors and heated which is a plus during the winter months.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park MD, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Extremely clean, friendly staff and comfortable beds with feather pillows makes this a great place to stay! We stayed for five nights with our two dogs. The location was extremely convenient for a wedding we attended at the nearby Falls. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jonnee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at this location for seven nights during a recent trip to the Columbia/Valmeyer area. We rented two rooms for four people. Before continuing, I should say that I frequently stay at Hilton properties, including Hampton Inns, for business and personal reasons. Based upon years of experience at properties all over the country, I have a pretty good baseline by which to judge this property.

In a nutshell - this is an average place with relatively poor construction, moderate amenities, and the only reason it gets positive reviews is because it is relatively new. While the staff is very helpful, the facilities themselves are not up to Hampton Inn's usual standards and it is clear that the company went cheap on a hotel in a rural area. It is noisy, the amenities are pretty poor, and it lacks any real character. It's, at best, a place to spend a night when you're traveling on the road or for wedding weekends.

Tip from the locals: Only stay on the first floor. Friends and family all laughed when we said we were staying there because they say the fire department has to visit the property frequently to free people trapped in the elevator!

Room: The room was fairly small and we were ripped off. We booked and paid for two rooms with queen size beds. What we got was two rooms with two full beds. When asked, the front desk manager said that was all they had. The doors are too heavy and the walls too thin, so you hear people in the halls all night long and doors slamming constantly. The room is effectively a large rectangle with a couple of beds and cheap dressers and a desk thrown in. It is not well laid out and not suitable for more than a day. There isn't even a "guide" channel on the television.

Food: Admittedly, food at the "free" breakfast buffets all begins to taste the same after the while, but this was a whole new level of bland. That and the fact that they ran out of most things every day. Breakfast was available from 6am to 10am; however, if you didn't get there by 8am then the pickings were pretty slim. There are few four-person tables, so grab one if you can get one.

Pool: There is an indoor pool at the back of the property. We didn't try it, and there wasn't much there.

Workout facilities: A very small room almost right across from the breakfast area - nothing like putting on a show for the people eating breakfast! There was a treadmill, an elliptical, and a bike. If you want more, you will need to go somewhere else.

WiFi access: Free for guests.

Construction: Again, it appears that Hampton Inn cut costs when building this property. The air conditioning/heating system doesn't work well and temperature cycles between extremes making it hard to sleep, the walls are thin, the doors are heavy (for fire protection) and slam all night long.

Parking: Free and plentiful

Room Tip: - Stay on the first floor to avoid the fire department having to free you from the elevator (accordi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMaker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Easy access to St. Louis, great breakfast, ok beds, fast internet. We stayed here because the Downtown hotel was full, wow it was a way better value. The staff even helped us with an ice scrapper in the morning to scrap our windshield.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a new property (5 years old or less) and has a nice, fresh look and appeal. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the washroom was clean and the noise was minimal. Parking is plentiful and there are restaurants and a grocery store closeby. A CVS is directly across the street and a Sonic is just around the corner. There is easy access to downtown Columbia, which is a quaint little area and worth exploring a bit. The property is also within easy driving distance to South St. Louis County and downtown St. Louis with major arterial roads to get you to those places quickly. Waterloo is 15 minutes to the south.

If you are looking for your Starbucks fix, don't bother searching for one in Columbia. And you don't need to, as "Our Coffee House" on Rapp Street is lovely and makes great coffee drinks. I didn't have breakfast there but was told it is quite good. Seek it out, you'll be glad you did.

As for my stay, I was most impressed by the service at the Hampton Inn. The desk staff was uniformly friendly and accomodating. Maintenance and cleaning staff members I encountered, however, went way above and beyond in being friendly, offering assistance and providing for various room-related needs. I have stayed at five star hotels whose staff could learn much from these folks.

I can't really comment too much on the breakfast at the Hampton Inn other than to say it was pretty standard for a hotel-included breakfast. I'm not a big fan, however the coffee was hot and plentiful and there was fruit included, so that is a big plus for me. I didn't use the indoor pool, but there is one and it looked like it is well-maintained and in good condition. The fitness center is small, which could be problematic at times the hotel is full/busy, but it suited my needs with an eliptical, recumbent bike, treadmill and some free weights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EPLFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
Super 8 Waterloo
#1 of 1 in Waterloo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
River City Casino & Hotel
#16 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Arnold
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Louis-Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Louis-Columbia

Property: Hampton Inn St. Louis-Columbia
Address: 165 Admiral Trost Rd, P.O. Box 506, Columbia, IL 62236-1997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Louis-Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Louis-Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing