We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Favorite!”
Review of Bert's Chuck Wagon

Bert's Chuck Wagon
Ranked #10 of 79 Restaurants in Collinsville
Restaurant details
Janhome7
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Favorite!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant and the one in Fairview Heights have been around since 1970. The Mexican and BBQ are great. Haven't tried the rest of the menu because I always want the those two items when I come in. You only stay around this long if the food great. Reasonable prices also!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janhome7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tradition”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Berts is a tradition. I have been eating here for over 30 years. Family from out of town make it a point to stop and eat at Bert's. Roger is the best !

Helpful?
Thank Asilhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall of yumminess!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Bert's is the best. What a great place for inexpensive great food. I highly recommend the deep fried burrito or the tacos. My husband LOVES the BBQ chicken on Saturday's. Don't miss the fountain soda's with shaved ice and a squirt of cherry. Roger, the owner, is funny, friendly, welcoming and wants to make sure everyone is happy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is place is amazing!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Read about this place on Yelp, it's better than I can describe!

We would have thought it was closed on a Saturday afternoon, as the windows are all dark. We would have gone past had it not been for the sandwich board sign on the sidewalk. You walk in through a small lobby and into what looks like an old gymnasium. There were several families around the room but it was QUIET. WHY? Because the food is so good, who has time to talk?

Order at the counter, take a seat and be pleasantly surprised! I got the Mexican platter and it was a beef enchilada, a taco and refried beans and rice. The corn taco shells were thin, thin, thin and crispy, not greasy at all. LOVE THEM! The flavor was excellent. The enchilada was flavorful and fresh. They offer a nice taco sauce on the side. My husband got the nachos and they were gone before I could have a taste.

Next time were trying the b-b-q. And maybe some more Mexican! Now I want to go back to Collinsville, unless they want to open up in the Chicagoland area. We sure could use a great place like this!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great people, great price”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I LOVE THIS PLACE!!! The food is awesome! The staff are fabulous!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel8793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bert's Chuck Wagon also viewed

Collinsville, IL
Collinsville, IL
 

Been to Bert's Chuck Wagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing