We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Collinsville Hampton Inn is dirty; stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Collinsville
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Collinsville
Covington, United States
1 review
“Collinsville Hampton Inn is dirty; stay somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our room smelled, had flies and mosquitos, stains on the walls and an unidentified stain on the ottoman. No towels in the pool area, and hotel staff could care less. More worried about socializing with their friends who appeared to be there for free wifi. Stay at the Super 8 and save yourself money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Collinsville, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for reporting the problems with your stay. We would like to apologize for problems you encountered. We appricate all comments as it helps to improve the hotel for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    96
    67
    34
    13
See reviews for
130
91
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a good experience in this hotel. The rooms were clean, breakfast was nice, and it was an easy drive to St Louis. The only complaint I have about the room we had was the air conditioner didn't run constantly which is a must for me. By the 2nd or 3rd night the maintenance changed it for me, so I was happier. We didn't have a fridge in our room, but we didn't request one when we booked the room (I assumed it would have one, but not a biggie.) Overall the stay was great. My mom had a few problems with a rude staff member, but the next night we were there he was better. The thing that really stands out in my mind though is the cleaning staff. The young lady we had make up our room in the mornings went above and beyond. She made up my little blow up mattress, which I found exceptional. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennDub17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice hotel with average rooms. The bed is a bit lumpy and the pillows are lacking in comfort and you can hear footsteps in the room above you (so book a room on the top floor), however, the hotel was very clean with pleasant staff. There is a pool and decent workout room. Free breakfast was outstanding. Hot waffles, eggs, fresh fruit and yogurt, etc. The best part of the hotel is the free coffee bar that offers fresh coffee 24 hours a day. Free mints too! There are many places to chose from for food in the area and the World's Largest Catsup Bottle is located 5 minutes from the hotel. Fairmount Park is located about 5 minutes away as well and downtown St. Louis is only a 10 minute drive. There is a Walgreens and Walmart located nearby, in case you need to pick something up last minute. There are many hotels in the area to choose from including, a Double Tree (same hotel chain) down the street where you can stay for $10 more a night and has more amenities. I would try to reserve that for any return trip I might take back to the St. Louis area since it is ranked #1 on Trip Advisor, but the Hampton Inn is a good, decent place to stay, none the less.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor to avoid hearing footsteps above you all night long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you look at my reviews, you know I like Hampton Inns. I can always count on excellent service, super-clean rooms, a great free breakfast. This Hampton is a very conveniently located adjacent to I-55/I-70, and minutes from St. Louis. Stay here, save money, and enjoy the Gateway City.

But I noticed one very, very important thing on this visit to the Hampton Inn Collinsville, and I hope it is something that Hampton has done chain-wide. We had a king room, and there was a nightstand on each side. Each nightstand had three easily accessible oiwer outlets. I use a CPAP machine, and so does my husband. Having a outlet right there was a welcome convenience. I cannot tell you how many times I have been frustrated trying to dig around behind a nightstand to find an outlet, and even then possible having to unplug something else to connect my CPAP.

Hooray, Hampton! THANK YOU for making a good night's sleep even better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the midwest
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 6 years. The staff is excellent. Donna at the front desk was extremely helpful and gave us our night free. Beware of the outside flood lights, they shown in our room all night long, the curtain was not wide enough for the window. If we had some duct tape we could have taped the curtain shut. Needless to say, little sleep that night. Thank you for standing behind your guarantee of 100% satisfaction.

Clean hotel but is starting to show some age. Our only problem with this hotel is whenever we stay on the 3rd floor there is a odor of cigarette smoke in the rooms. Also walking outside the front door we were overcome with smoke, but that is not the hotel's fault. Wish people would not smoke at the front doors. We have stayed on different floors before so the next time we will request a lower level.

Breakfast is the typical fare for this chain. The hotel was packed and the breakfast lady did her best to keep things filled and tables clean, with a smile on her face the whole time.

We stay here because of the easy location to get to Busch Stadium. It is an easy drive into St. Louis. The staff has always been extremely friendly and will always say hello to you. If you are not looking for the Ritz, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level room to avoid cigarette smoke smell and also a room that is not over an outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

While on a weekend getaway to St. Louis we decided to find a hotel when we got there. We chose this because it was right outside of the city and a nice area. All they had left was a suite, but we were ok with that and they gave us a fair price. Very large and clean. Staff was very friendly and continental breakfast was a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanut2rec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stay at Hamptons across the country and this one is the lower tier in quality and decor. It's "tired" and dated - not to the standards we are used to with Hamptons. A remodel is due. That said, the price was cheaper and staff very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Collinsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
#2 of 11 in Collinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Collinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Collinsville - St. Louis
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Collinsville
Days Inn Collinsville
#6 of 11 in Collinsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Collinsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Collinsville

Property: Hampton Inn Collinsville
Address: 7 Commerce Dr, Collinsville, IL 62234-6112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Collinsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Collinsville
#4 Family Hotel in Collinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Collinsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Hampton Inn Collinsville, located within walking distance to Gateway Convention Center and just a short drive to Fairmount Park Race Track. Watch TV or stay connected with free WiFi in every guest room. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast including our delicious waffles and if you're in a hurry, grab a free, healthy Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Catch up with work in our free business center, rejuvenate in our free fitness center or take a refreshing dip in our indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Collinsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Collinsville Hotel Collinsville
Collinsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing