We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO INTERNET CONNECTIONS and WEIRD A/C THERMOSTATS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Collinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NO INTERNET CONNECTIONS and WEIRD A/C THERMOSTATS”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed at the D/T Collinsville for 4 nights. Room was fine, beds were fine. Halls could be cleaner, noticed when the maids stopped cleaning they left a lot of things in the hall such as dirty towels!! Whats that all about. A/C had two tempertures cold 65 or heat on. I dont mind it cold but if you tried to lower the temp. the heat would go on and you would be sorry since it was close to 100 outside. Also they advertise free wi-fi....good luck....we had 5 rooms 7 rooms at different locations and NO wi-fi. Porters was ok for breakfast for Sunday am but a little expensive but buffet food was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scutler32, General Manager at Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. I apologize about the issues as we are aware of them and they are spotty. We are in the process of a major switch and upgrade with our internet providers. Unfortunately the switch has taken longer than anticipated with a few bumps in the road. As of today, we have been assured that this issue has been resolved. Regarding the A/C not sure why that was happening but I will address the situation with engineering. Some of the units all though brand new can be tempermental at times. I apologize for the issues at hand but hope if you are in the area again you will give us another opportunity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    281
    107
    64
    23
See reviews for
296
154
47
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

As a Hilton Diamond traveler, I see my share of hotels. This is a very nice, contemporary property with a lot going for it, especially low rates and taxes within an easy drive of St. Louis. My room was up-to-date and very comfortable. I noticed a few small imperfections: the plumbing in the shower was difficult to get just right (went from scalding to cold with the slightest move), and having breakfast in a dark steakhouse wasn't how I normally like to start my days (sunlight). While my room was near the front elevators, it did seem to be a large hotel and it may be a pain for some people. Overall, for a quick one-night stay, I can't really complain.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scutler32, General Manager at Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your recent comments you expressed on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I have noted the ccomments for our improvement.

Again thank you for you for time and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Just checked in. The lobby was fantastic and the staff at the desk were very pleasant. We walked to our room 313 and there was hair on the pillows of the bed....the shower needs attention. Outside the hall looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. We asked for another room and was given 319. We walked in, looked around and there was gum on the wall where it looked like a picture should go. The shower looked the same as 313. All this for $120.00.
The restaurant, Porters, was excellent.
Can't wait to go home.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scutler32, General Manager at Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. I must say that it was very embarrassing to read and see. I can assure you that the matters have been addressed and handle accordingly so that this will not happen in the future.

I apologize for your experience and hope that if you are in the area you will give us another chance to prove what we are really about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I felt very welcome with the Doubletree in Collinsville. Close to St. Louis for the 4th of July festivities, the room was clean and comfortable. A great value -- we'll definitely stay at this location when in town again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Overall I thought this hotel was excellent for the price. The room was clean, well kept and bright. The free buffet breakfast alone (gorgeous, chef made omelettes!), served table-side in the dining room was worth 1/2 the price of the room. And the Doubletree cookies are always amazing. That said, this hotel/motel is HUGE! It must have taken me 10 minutes to get from my room to the lobby. They obviously cater to conventions, weddings etc. If you like to get in and out fast, this is not the place for you roadwarriors.

Also, as some people have said, this hotel gets a huge amount of traffic. The public areas and rooms are gorgeous but can take a beating with so many people every day. The pool was crowded with screaming children. I'm sure it's hard for the staff to keep up. All in all a very nice place, especially if you are staying for more than one day. Daytrippers... it may be better to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here on a visit to the Cahokia Indian Mounds, and were very, very pleased with our choice.

Check-in was swift and friendly, and included two actually warm chocolate cookies! Now that's a way to begin a visit! Our room was large and spacious with plenty of room to move around and a nice view of the courtyard of the hotel. Comfortable bed, great lighting, excellent air conditioning and good internet service. Also GREAT TV channel selection (important if you're a sports fan and looking for exotic things like the Tour de France...) There are also complimentary bottles of water in your room which really came in handy on a hot day. As we didn't want to go out to dinner, we decided to try Porter's, their restaurant (they also have room service).

Porter's was nothing short of flat-out amazing. Chris, our waiter, was incredible. He is very knowledgeable about their very large wine list, and they do complimentary "tastes" of many of their wines. Chris is also helpful in making suggestions, such as identifying which appetizers and salads could be easily shared. Our steaks were great; some of the best beef we've had. All in all, we very highly recommend not only the Doubletree in Collinsville for their service and facilities, but their outstanding restaurant as well. If we are ever in this area again, we will certainly stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Overall, this was a nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay there. They were very busy with several family reunions so check-in took extra long. We were finally given our key to our room and when we opened the door to the room, we discovered it had not been cleaned. They were able to give us another room and gave us a coupon for a free breakfast in the hotel restaurant for our trouble. The room was nice and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant for dinner because we had been given a coupon for a free appetizer. The food was delicious but it was expensive.
They give free chocolate chip cookies at check-in and they were delicious as well.
If we were in the area again, we would stay at the Doubletree.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obitwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scutler32, General Manager at Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the services provided. I am upset with the experience you encountered at the beginning of your stay. I sincerely apologize and glad that you have given us a chance to redeem ourselves based on the rest of your stay.


Thank you again and have a safe and enjoyable summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Collinsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
#1 of 11 in Collinsville
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Collinsville
Hampton Inn Collinsville
#5 of 11 in Collinsville
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Collinsville
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Collinsville
Days Inn Collinsville
#7 of 11 in Collinsville
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Collinsville - St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis

Property: Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
Address: 1000 Eastport Plaza Dr, Collinsville, IL 62234-6103 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Collinsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Collinsville
#2 Family Hotel in Collinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Collinsville-St. Louis is located in Collinsville, Illinois just outside of St. Louis. The hotel is located next to the Gateway Conference Center, a premier event space. Downtown is just a quick drive and Lambert St. Louis International Airport is 30 minutes away. Guests can enjoy a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis Hotel Collinsville
Collinsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Collinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing