We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in the Forest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cobden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shawnee Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Cobden B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Visited this beautiful B&B and stayed in the Log Cabin Room for our anniversary. We were greeted warmly by the owner and shown to our cabin which is connected to the main house by a hallway and common use room. I can't say enough about the Cabin. It was beautifully decorated, extremely clean and cozy. They have thought of everything to make it special. From special soaps and lotions, bathrobes, even chocolates. The cabin has a large private deck overlooking the beautiful Shawnee Forest. Breakfast was included and set outside our room at a time we chose. Pancakes and fresh strawberries. Delicious! Don't miss this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bewitchedfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Wife and I just recently stayed at this B&B while on our visit to the Shawnee Hills wine trail. As we arrived we were greeted on the drive. The owners were very nice, kinda felt like going to a grandma's house. Are room was ready and beautifully decorated with antiques. A very nice hot European style shower and a nice claw footed tub in a good sized bath. The bed was very comfortable along with a nice simple furniture to relax. The deck was nice and relaxing, although we did not have the chance there is an antique store and 2 stock ponds on site. Breakfast was very nice along with very fresh from the orchards right down the road. A very nice all around stay coming back in the fall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSlide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We didn't really know what to expect, but overall we were very happy with our choice. The inn keeper was not in when we arrived, but had our room and key ready to go. We changed and hit the wineries right away so it worked out ok. The room was very clean and decorated to theme-Victorian style. My husband and I really enjoyed the side deck. The inn keeper was nice enough to let us take the fire pit and put it on our deck. So it was very romantic...had a nice fire, sitting under a clear starry night, sipping on wine we had bought that day. The only thing that we were not used to...which may have been because we were spoiled at a B& B in Calistoga, CA. was we did not know we had to go pick up our breakfast so it was just a little cold, not too bad. And also we always had food made from scratch which we could tell our pancakes were from a box. Again, we may be a little picky because we were spoiled at our other B&B's in wine coutnry. Overall, very enjoyable stay and we would definitely reccomend it:)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carebo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We spent 1 night in the Victorian Room. The other is the Country Cottage. Both are lovely, decorated with antiques. Of the 2 rooms, I prefer the Victorian because it has the temperature control for both rooms. The queen bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is large & has both a shower & tub. Each room has a private deck. No cable, so the TV only receives ABC & CBS. However, there are both DVD & VCR with a large assortment of movies available. The property itself it gorgeous. It is very private and surrounded by Shawnee Hill National Forest. Very convenient to the Wine Trail and hiking. We opted for the full breakfast, which was well worth it. The hostess is very friendly and helpful. We're looking forward to returning. This is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazywabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indianapolis, IN
15
Reviewed September 16, 2004

We stayed at the Shawneee Hill B&B at the end of July for our 12th anniversary. It is in the middle of the Shawnee National Forest and you are surrounded by the forest and there are hiking trails that you can take right there by the B&B. The units are filled with antiques -- and yet have modern touches like vcr/dvd and they have a great selection of movies to choose from. Make sure and get the full breakfast; it's served on antique dishes and is all made from scratch.... orange glazed french toast, home-made blueberry muffins with local blueberries, strawberry bread, etc. We have stayed at many a B&B both in and out of the USA and the food here tops there all and the accomodations were great! Highly recommend!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shawnee Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawnee Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 290 Water Valley Rd, Cobden, IL 62920-3525
Location: United States > Illinois > Cobden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cobden
Price Range: $65 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing