We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food off the beaten path!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Boar

Blue Boar
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Cobden
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: (618) 833-7788 / (800) 440-4489
Southernmost Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food off the beaten path!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Blue Boar is a great choice when you are in the mood for something a little different. The menu has something for everyone and every mood. I recommend the pulled pork nachos as an appetizer. My favorite entrees include the grilled chicken and the fried fish. Others in my party said the Cajun fettuccini was really good. Four star rating attributed to last visit which was a slight disaster. Went on Sunday for lunch. The restaurant had sufficient seating, however it was fuller than on our past visit. When we arrived our party of six was seated promptly. Drink orders and appetizer arrived in due time, however it seemed like an eternity before our entrees arrived. Apparently, while there was sufficient seating to accommodate our group, the kitchen staff was inadequate for the amount of people seated. Waitress was attentive and apologetic and the owner even came over at one point to apologize for our wait. It was a long lunch. Would have been nice to have been informed before we were seated that we might be in for a 2+ hour lunch! especially given that we had two kids with us. If informed, we would have went somewhere else that day and came back to the Blue Boar for a nice meal at a less busy time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoILTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
1,010 reviews
514 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Great Discovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Blue Boar is our favorite place in the area when we go to visit my mother-in-law. It has a lot of seating, but we have found that if we go by 5 p.m. there is no wait. They have a lot of choices on the menu and we generally get some type of fish or the ribs. We have never been disappointed. This last time my food was not very warm. However, it was no problem. I politely told the waitress and she told it away. When she came back, it was obvious that I had a fresh plate with piping hot food. It is probably a little more expensive than most restaurants in the area. But you have great atmosphere, great service and great food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

You could spend the whole time looking at the decor which includes everything from a lion holding a hyena by the throat to displays of fishing gear to musical instruments and more. The service was average to above average. Be careful on the food. It ranges from delicious poboys to lousy italian beef sandwiches. The steaks were satisfactory but not great. The gumbo is great. You will be better served at Wok and Roll just five minutes away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Rare Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This restaurant is owned by the same people as the Boars' Nest Bed & Breakfast where we stayed. By staying there you get a 10% discount off your meal. The discount was great but I would definitely pick this place to eat any day of the week. The BBQ ribs were to die for. A friend of mine had a Delmonico Steak and said it was the best steak they had ever had! Service was superb. The only thing I disliked was that it was hard to find. They need a large sign in their parking lot. We drove right past it the first time. Once you know where it's at, you'll be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lots of yummy choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The fried dill pickles were scrumptious!
Interesting menu, many BBQ and meat choices. The outside seating adjacent to the brook and waterfall was so pleasant. Near the end of the meal, the service seemed a little slow, but the server was friendly and responsive. I think she had tables both inside and outside, so they may have been. understaffed or not well organized the night I was there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing