We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can not be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Ranked #123 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed at DeWitt Place during a very warm period in June and the window mounted aircondition unit was very inefficient and very noisy. We had to sleep with earplugs and it would have been impossible to watch the TV using any normal sound level (we did not try).

The location is perfect, close to everything central in Chicago. Our room had a little kitchenette and was big enough for two persons but with a sofa that was not at all comfortable.

Keeping the location in mind it would have been an excellent value if the aircondition had been up to date and the furniture of a better quality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mebj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 950 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2010

I was going to give this place a pretty good write-up even before Juan helped us out after God decided to blow up Iceland and we were detained in Chicago for another week. Despite not working on the weekend, his mobile number was available and he arranged to let us (and others) stay on day by day at short notice. Plus he let us check out late when we were finally ready to leave. But all that aside i would definitely come back. $71 per night, for a well appointed studio with a decent kitchen which was a real Godsend. The gym, sauna and steam room were always empty and a lot better than some efforts i've come across in 4 star hotels. As well as all the other amenities mentioned in the other reviews, Dewitt place is also a block away from the MOCA and a great little park with a running track, tennis courts and a gym bars. And at $71 a night it was cheaper than a hostel. Why anyone would stay in a 3 or 4 star when there are places like this around is beyond me. But hopefully they will so that I can still get a booking. Anything it could do better? If pushed i would have to say that the only inconvenience was the lack of a kettle. Coffee maker but no kettle. Okay, so it's not too much hassle boiling water in a pan to make a cup of tea, but maybe they could keep a few kettles in reception for the Brits....

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barefootboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed at DeWitt Place for five nites. The extended stay hotel is terrific in every way; the location near the Lake and the John Hancock building, the Magnificent Mile and restaurants. Our room was clean and the staff was flexible and available to meet us at the hotel after our train arrived at 10pm Sunday. I'd recommend bringing paper toweling and toilet paper as these items aren't supplied. Our rate thru booking.com was unbelievable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Dewitt place is a nice and safe place to stay if you are looking to say at a hotel with no hassles. The building is very historical and beautiful. The room I stayed in was very clean from the kitchen to the bathroom. The bathroom is small so if you are traveling alone it's perfect. The location was great and quiet as it is only two short blocks from Michigan Avenue. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
Thank Envy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I spent a month in Chicago in November/December 2009, and stayed here. Certainly, this was a nice compromise between staying in a hotel and renting an apartment.

The location is unbelievably good: saying to cabbies, "I live one block east of the John Hancock Tower" felt kind of cool. And the lakeshore is lovely to walk along in the morning, assuming it's not frigid or windy in the Windy City. Water Tower Place gives lots of good cheap food options, and there's a lot of other stuff nearby.

I think one thing that could make DeWitt Place better would be if they pre-stocked the apartments with cleaning/bathroom products. It was, honestly, kind of a pain to have to buy {toilet paper, dish soap, laundry soap, ...}. They supply IKEA pots and pans (which are fine, though I did miss my own kitchen of course), but having to buy all of that stuff kind of sucked. I just dumped my leftover laundry soap in the basement laundry room, and I'm sure someone used it. But it was kind of a waste.

I had some trouble with a neighbour who was smoking in the ostensibly smoke-free building, but that ended a couple weeks before I left. Still, all told, it's a great home-away-from-home, in a great location in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This January my three friends and I stayed at DeWitt Place in Chicago for a girls weekend. When we first enter the hotel until we left the hotel, the service was wonderful. We were greeted upon arrival and was given a tour. They have a gym which included a sauna which was very nice coming back from a day of shopping. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I had a great night sleep without waking up to back aches. It was also a great location. Being very close to Michigan Ave. made things extremely easy. I would recommended this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank almom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Juan was very kind in greeting us as we checked in, he gave us a tour and showed us to our two rooms. He also made himself available to us should any problems arise. The hotel itself was very clean and quiet, it is also conveniently located near Michigan Ave. Juan let us know about the grocery store right across the street, that was very nice as well since the hotel had a full kitchen. It was a really nice weekend and I'd definitely stay at Dewitt Place again when I travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brilbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#91 of 192 in Chicago
131 reviews
Hotel Felix
#121 of 192 in Chicago
1,654 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#145 of 192 in Chicago
1,901 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#100 of 192 in Chicago
602 reviews
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#106 of 192 in Chicago
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewitt Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Address: 900 N Dewitt Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1702 (Formerly DeWitt Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $71 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewitt Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against Chicago’s picturesque lakeshore, Dewitt Hotel & Suites is situated in the upscale Gold Coast/Streeterville neighborhood, just east of the John Hancock Center and the iconic Magnificent Mile. With world-class shopping, beaches, and the city's wide array of tourist attractions, there is an endless list of sites to see and places to visit within walking distance. The vintage 1924 building has 82 tastefully decorated residential-style studio and one-bedrooms units, each with its own full kitchen. Offering our short-term, intermediate and long-term guests comfort and convenience, the hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi, an on-site gym, sauna, and private steam shower, as well as guest laundry facilities. With over 90 years of history, Plan·Do·See – America will continue with a new and exciting chapter, including a multi-million-dollar renovation (2018) that will have our local and world-traveling guests raving about their experience in the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Dewitt Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing