We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Ranked #115 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok for the price”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because we stayed in Chicago for a week & the price was right. I knew it would not be fancy or modern. My priority is CLEAN. I was not disappointed. The room was very clean. It's a very old & quaint building but not bad for less than half what others charge. The walls are thin, plumbing is noisy & the radiator occasionally makes banging noises. The staff was nice. I would recommend as long as you know what you are getting.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Seadiverjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    335
    152
    61
    39
See reviews for
225
322
73
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just got back from spending 3 days in Chicago.We did have a little trouble finding it, and were dropped a block away by the cab driver who pointed at a building which he said was our hotel - it was not, but we did locate with a little help from some locals. Well located. We had a Queen Studio, very well equipped, comfortable clean beds. The fridge was quite noisy but as we were not using it we unplugged it at night. We had an apartment on the 2nd floor. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
The building is one block from the Lake and near to John Hancock tower and shopping at Water Tower place. We ate at The Cheesecake factory which was nice and close. Also Tempo café for breakfast not too far away on E Chestnut street.

My son used the gym which was small but adequate. There was complimentary coffee served in the lounge. For the money you could not complain. Would recommend the hop on hop off buses as you see so much more of the city and a good way to get around. The closest stop is near the John Hancock observatory. Would also recommend the Millennium park and Sky deck - the Willis tower.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bletchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We chose DeWitt Place due to the many good reviews it had. It turned out to be a big mistake.
Our room was soooo dirty. And not just a little or in places that could have been simply overlooked by the cleaning staff. It was really filthy and disgusting. We never used the kitchen, even though that was the reason we booked that hotel, so safe some money. But there was no way to handle food in that dump. We ate out every day. And we are not rich, we usually stay in much cheaper places and are not bothered easily. But this was too much. We have posted some pictures so we will let them speak for us. To top it all, housekeeping didn’t make up our room two out of three nights, even though we had put the sign out. The second time they even turned around the sign, so it looked like didn’t want them to „clean“. Might have worked out, only that we had both made sure, that it was hung out correctly, as housekeeping hadn’t shown up the day before. So we both double-checked and therefore knew… Nice try though.
A couple of other things:
The fire alarm was broken.
Our oven was leaking gas. It was a terrible smell, especially at night. We always had to leave the window open.
The fridge was incredibly loud and the freezing compartment didn’t work right.
The a/c was also much too loud and it was right next to the beds so you had to turn it off whenever you were on the bed.
Generally, it was very loud in the rooms, as the a/c was built into the window and so there was no glas but just some sort of cloth.
Our safe didn’t work.
We were pressured by the hotel staff to do a river cruise by some company they obviously had a deal going with. We didn’t. We took the architectural river cruise by ArchitectureFoundation.org. Eventhough it wasn’t cheap (don’t know how much the other companies take though) it was great and we really enjoyed it.
We booked at least three months in advance. The day we booked the hotel, we figured out, that we would stay another night in chicago and quickly booked one more night at DeWitt Place. Afterwards we wrote them an e-mail to let them know and we asked, if they could arrange for us to have be in the same room for the time of our stay. We never got a response. We figured that it would be no problem. When we got there, we asked again and NO, we had to change rooms.
And the bathroom really does need to be renovated.
As we finally left the hotel for good, we asked the woman at the front desk if she could call us a cab. She said yes. It turned out that she called some cabdriver she knew (again some weird deal). She said it would be a flat fee of $35 of which we had to leave $5 dollars at the hotel as „deposit“.
It took 10 min. until some guy showed up. He smelled really badly and didn’t even help us with our luggage. We got in his POS-cab and all the windows were rolled down and the a/c was off (probably didn’t work) - great for driving on the highway and getting sick. We couldn’t roll the windows up from our seats either. We had to ask him to at least roll up the windows in the back. The other windows had to stay open because of the heat AND the stink!
When we FINALLY got to the airport, he didn’t get out to help us with the luggage, no, he just wanted his money. I got out quickly to get the luggage just to be sure he would not drive off with our suitcases. My boyfriend stayed in the car to pay and guess what price the driver named: $35!
Well, not a surprise by this point. My boyfriend told him no, it was just 30 because of the deposit. He tried to argue but my boyfriend said if there was a problem he would have to settled it with the hotel. After that, my boyfriend just handed him exactly 30 bucks because we’d had enough at that point. Then the driver was like: „What is that, no tip???“ Are you kidding me??? First of all, I would rather walk then get in a cab with you again and then you try to rip us off and you have the guts to ask demand a tip??? Wow! So my boyfriend was like „No, it’s a flat fee.“ and got out.
I have NEVER been happier to get out of a cab. And that was the guy that the hotel called and new by name!!!
Seriously, we DO NOT recommend DeWitt Place. Never ever! We travel a lot all over the world and this was such a bad experience, that it drove us to write our first review to warn you guys.
The ONLY good thing about it was the location. But not worth it!
Chicago is a great place though. We had a very good time and met a lot of nice people. Don’t let DeWitt Place ruin your stay. We definitely cannot understand where all the good reviews are coming from…

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jaja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very well located, efficient appartments at an excellent price, given the location and overall prices in Chicago.
Highly recommended for stays over 3 days in the area
Staff is not present 24/7 so do plan ahead

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Dewitt for 5 nights just after the Marathon. Check-in very quick and without problems. We had reserved a Queen Studio which comprises of a kitchen, fridge, sofa, widescreen tv.... We didn't use the kitchen as ate out all the time but it looked well equipped. We had a room on the 10th floor (1008) which is situated just below the exhaust fan for the building and so had a constant motor engine throb between 8am and 10pm. We asked to change but they had no availability for that night. They did however change us the following morning to a room on the 8th with a lake view. A great improvement!

The bed was comfortable and as other reviewers have said the bathroom is outdated (in the first studio the bath ceramic was cracked and worn away) but functional.

Staff very friendly and helpful (change of room). Complimentary coffee in the lounge and the location couldn't be better really. Just off Michigan Ave. No maid service but not a problem.

The place is great value for what you get. But don't go expecting a five star, double glazing, big bathroom, sound proof room

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmace101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is excellent for an extended stay but it also works for short stays. The room is quiet essential, you get the basics but is is clean and everything works fine. The price is very good compared to any other hotel in the area. You get a kitchen and can save a lot on meals.
Location is perfect, a block away from the lake shore, two blocks away from North Michigan Ave, minutes away from Hancock Tower and Water Tower Mall. There are also nearby bus stations.
This is one of my favorite neighborhoods in Chicago. The buildings are beautiful.
Wifi is very fast.
There is no staff at certain times of night.
I would pay more attention on cleanliness so to be really excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our family of four stayed 3 nights. The location is excellent. It is 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave. It is 2 blocks from Lake Michigan. There is a bus stop (weekdays only) right on the corner. There are other bus stops 2 blocks away.

Do not expect to be pampered here. You get the essentials only. A clean room in a great location. We had some friends who were also staying in Chicago. I thought our room was small until I saw their room at the Holiday Inn Express. The bathroom is small and there is no vanity in the bathroom. There is a pedestal sink, a stool and a bathtub/shower. The room is cleaned before you arrive but there is no daily maid service in the room, which is just fine with me. The decor is a little dated. But we weren't there for the room. We left in the morning and returned in the evening.

They have free coffee in a lounge just outside of the lobby. There are plenty of small tables there where you can sit and talk. There is a large TV in the lobby as well. There is an exercise room, which we did not use because we walked so much during the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,557 reviews
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#100 of 190 in Chicago
2,156 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewitt Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Property: Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Address: 900 N Dewitt Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1702 (Formerly DeWitt Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewitt Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against Chicago’s picturesque lakeshore, Dewitt Hotel & Suites is situated in the upscale Gold Coast/Streeterville neighborhood, just east of the John Hancock Center and the iconic Magnificent Mile. With world-class shopping, beaches, and the city's wide array of tourist attractions, there is an endless list of sites to see and places to visit within walking distance. The vintage 1924 building has 82 tastefully decorated residential-style studio and one-bedrooms units, each with its own full kitchen. Offering our short-term, intermediate and long-term guests comfort and convenience, the hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi, an on-site gym, sauna, and private steam shower, as well as guest laundry facilities. With over 90 years of history, Plan·Do·See – America will continue with a new and exciting chapter, including a multi-million-dollar renovation (2018) that will have our local and world-traveling guests raving about their experience in the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dewitt Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing