We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Ranked #117 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had unit 803 from 9/2/13-9/7/13. 803 with views of the Lake. We loved sitting and watching the Lake come alive in the morning. Plenty of closet space and drawer space. Full kitchen. Quiet. Like other have stated the bathrooms are very old and tiny, but functional. There was plenty of hot water and the water pressure was very good. I would suggest the shower heads be cleaned. Linens were fresh and the hair dryer was a bonus. There is complimentary soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The mattress was much too soft for our liking. The is a small work out area and a small steam bath. The lounge area has free coffee, tables and chair and a TV. No maid service, but that was not a problem for us. We called for fresh towels and received them in short notice. The floors were not as clean as I would have liked, but they weren't so bad that I called to have them cleaned, but I didn't go barefoot. The elevators old, but got us up and down. The a/c are window units and noisy. I am not sure how well they would cool in the summer though.This is a perfect location, one block to Lake Shore Dr. and 2 blocks to Michigan Ave. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We felt very safe walking around at night. All in all...I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is not looking for a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
There are newer reviews for Dewitt Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 916 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

This economy apparat meant hotel is located in a great location, close and accessible to everything. The units are equiped with a small kitchen, very small bathroom and a smal TV at is mounted on the wall half way between the kitchen and the bed.
The staff is very nice and helpfully and you are looking for a reasonably priced place to rest your head and cook your own meals, there is nothing better anywhere close to the Dewitt. The place is clean, the linen are nice and comfy and the towels as well.

Recommend for what is is

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a gem. Picked this place for price as well as location and was not disappointed. It was a couple of blocks away from Hancock building, the beach and Magnificent Mile. If you are doing Hop on Hop off bus just up the street. Lots of restaurants. Loved having a kitchen and a seating area for breakfast which overlocked the lake by the way. And a couch area. Many people have said it was dated but our room was clean and the bathroom was good. If you want to be right on the river go elsewhere but if not this is perfect

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7wondersajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I just spent 2 nights here & for the price it was fantastic! I am a shopper so loved having Macys very close (along with other great shops) Very short walk to the water too.
This is not a cookie cutter hotel- more like staying in your own studio apartment which I loved. I had read reviews so was not suprised when the bath tub had stains. This is the only thing I could fault if I had to I guess. Excellent for the price that you pay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hokey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here over the Labor Day weekend for 4 nights. I am absolutely in love with this place. The next time I come back to Chicago, I will definitely be booking this hotel. It's a cozy place equipped with a small kitchen, living room, and dining area. I spent most of the couch because it felt so homey and it was so comfortable. It was a nice spacious area for my mother and me. My mom is even more in love with the room/hotel than me. I requested a room with a lake view and it was a sight for sore eyes every morning. The lake shore view made me want to wake up every morning so I could get a peek of it. The staff is so friendly, the area is really nice and safe and conveniently located to the Magnificent Mile (for shopping) and the lake (for running/jogging). The Hancock Tower is a 2 minute walk from here. It was a perfect location that accommodated my travel plans. The one downside is that the bathroom is a little small and the drain didn't work well so the water drained so slowly. Other than that, I would book this place again in a heartbeat. Definitely stay here!!!

Room Tip: Request a lake view and you will get the higher floors.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over Labor Day weekend. Room was clean, quiet and close to everyhing. Two blocks from Lake Michigan. A few blocks away from Hancock bldg and Michigan ave. One perk to room were the hardwood floors. No smelly hotel carpet. Kitchen handy to have. Also had a full sized fridge. Staff very kind and always had a smile.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galwaywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this nice hotel for 4 night during our last trip in chicago.
We liked it very much.
We booked a little appartment with a bedroom, a bathroom, a living room and a small kitchen.
The location is very good. Near the hotel there are a lot of restaurants & caffes.
In five minutes you can go to the beach and in five minutes you can go to The Magnificent Miles if you prefer Shopping instead of Sun!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solonoi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#102 of 191 in Chicago
2,167 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 191 in Chicago
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewitt Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Address: 900 N Dewitt Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1702 (Formerly DeWitt Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $95 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewitt Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against Chicago’s picturesque lakeshore, Dewitt Hotel & Suites is situated in the upscale Gold Coast/Streeterville neighborhood, just east of the John Hancock Center and the iconic Magnificent Mile. With world-class shopping, beaches, and the city's wide array of tourist attractions, there is an endless list of sites to see and places to visit within walking distance. The vintage 1924 building has 82 tastefully decorated residential-style studio and one-bedrooms units, each with its own full kitchen. Offering our short-term, intermediate and long-term guests comfort and convenience, the hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi, an on-site gym, sauna, and private steam shower, as well as guest laundry facilities. With over 90 years of history, Plan·Do·See – America will continue with a new and exciting chapter, including a multi-million-dollar renovation (2018) that will have our local and world-traveling guests raving about their experience in the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dewitt Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing