We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money & location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Ranked #120 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I just spent 2 nights here & for the price it was fantastic! I am a shopper so loved having Macys very close (along with other great shops) Very short walk to the water too.
This is not a cookie cutter hotel- more like staying in your own studio apartment which I loved. I had read reviews so was not suprised when the bath tub had stains. This is the only thing I could fault if I had to I guess. Excellent for the price that you pay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hokey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 924 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here over the Labor Day weekend for 4 nights. I am absolutely in love with this place. The next time I come back to Chicago, I will definitely be booking this hotel. It's a cozy place equipped with a small kitchen, living room, and dining area. I spent most of the couch because it felt so homey and it was so comfortable. It was a nice spacious area for my mother and me. My mom is even more in love with the room/hotel than me. I requested a room with a lake view and it was a sight for sore eyes every morning. The lake shore view made me want to wake up every morning so I could get a peek of it. The staff is so friendly, the area is really nice and safe and conveniently located to the Magnificent Mile (for shopping) and the lake (for running/jogging). The Hancock Tower is a 2 minute walk from here. It was a perfect location that accommodated my travel plans. The one downside is that the bathroom is a little small and the drain didn't work well so the water drained so slowly. Other than that, I would book this place again in a heartbeat. Definitely stay here!!!

Room Tip: Request a lake view and you will get the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over Labor Day weekend. Room was clean, quiet and close to everyhing. Two blocks from Lake Michigan. A few blocks away from Hancock bldg and Michigan ave. One perk to room were the hardwood floors. No smelly hotel carpet. Kitchen handy to have. Also had a full sized fridge. Staff very kind and always had a smile.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galwaywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this nice hotel for 4 night during our last trip in chicago.
We liked it very much.
We booked a little appartment with a bedroom, a bathroom, a living room and a small kitchen.
The location is very good. Near the hotel there are a lot of restaurants & caffes.
In five minutes you can go to the beach and in five minutes you can go to The Magnificent Miles if you prefer Shopping instead of Sun!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solonoi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised about this place. Chicago seemed expensive for accommodation, and this was very good value.

Situated in a quiet and safe area, and yet only a block from the action. On a five minute walk we were in the bustle of the Miracle mile, under the towering and iconic John Hancock Building.

The service was exceptional, even though this is mainly a longer term residential building.
The room was perfect for our five night stay, spotless and spacious with a little kitchenette that we used to heat up leftover food a few times.

The only fault I could find was that there wasn't really a view, but this was not a problem and understandable in the surrounding concrete jungle.

Wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend the DeWitt. Superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exilednomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is in a very handy location, and you can walk everywhere from it.
The rooms were very spacious, and clean, maybe the bathroom might want a little updating, but its clean and that's the important thing.
The staff were very helpful. It was a good hotel, very worth the money for a longer than a few nights stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandeireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet area between the north end of Michigan avenue and Lake Michigan. I stayed here for one night from August 5th -> 6th. Check - in was a breeze and the person at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The room was very spacious with an ensuite bathroom and a kitchenette. I paid about $120 for one night, which I found to be a very good deal since this hotel is so close to the shops and the beach.
The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and a plus was the complementary wifi.
Check - out was quick and again I found the staff helpful. I mentioned I needed a taxi and the lady at the front desk stepped out, walked to the street and hailed me one.
I would certainly stay here again. There are so many plusses to this hotel and for those of you thinking of staying a while in Chicago I guess the kitchenette would be the biggest plus. There are plenty of stores nearby where you can stock up.
My stay in the hotel was my starting point for a 2,5 week vacation in the USA. I couldn't have picked a better place to start.

Room Tip: I think there are no bad rooms in this hotel. However if you want a lake view room then you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nieb20475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#102 of 192 in Chicago
2,185 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#77 of 192 in Chicago
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewitt Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Address: 900 N Dewitt Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1702 (Formerly DeWitt Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $79 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewitt Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against Chicago’s picturesque lakeshore, Dewitt Hotel & Suites is situated in the upscale Gold Coast/Streeterville neighborhood, just east of the John Hancock Center and the iconic Magnificent Mile. With world-class shopping, beaches, and the city's wide array of tourist attractions, there is an endless list of sites to see and places to visit within walking distance. The vintage 1924 building has 82 tastefully decorated residential-style studio and one-bedrooms units, each with its own full kitchen. Offering our short-term, intermediate and long-term guests comfort and convenience, the hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi, an on-site gym, sauna, and private steam shower, as well as guest laundry facilities. With over 90 years of history, Plan·Do·See – America will continue with a new and exciting chapter, including a multi-million-dollar renovation (2018) that will have our local and world-traveling guests raving about their experience in the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dewitt Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing