We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Ranked #120 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for a convention at the McCormick Center. Great venue near to the heart of things and good value with free coffee in the lobby. Elevator very slow and slightly scary, but I don't know what they can do about that. Room was fine with good facilities. I've stayed in nicer places, but not in the centre of a great city like Chicago. Very good for the price and location. If you bring a car it will cost you an extra $24 a night and it has to be valet-parked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    228
    92
    23
    23
See reviews for
103
247
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Dewitt Place for a get away weekend. The location is perfect, in between Michigan Ave and Lakeshore. Close to great shopping, restaurants, public transportation and Oak Beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. The manager was very kind also. They talked with us like friends not the typical front desk short answers. The apartments were spotless and it was so nice to have a fully equipped kitchen. I try to get to Chicago every year, this is the best price I have ever paid to stay in this area. I can't wait to go back in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boardingtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are looking for no frills accommodation then DeWitt will exceed your expectations.

What we liked:
* Very friendly and helpful staff (the concierge lady was lost in her reading anytime we went past though!)
* Good, quiet location. One block from the lake and a 10 minute walk from Michigan Ave. Cabs plentiful too.
* Good quality towels and plenty of them.
* Free wifi throughout
* Lounge area with free coffee
* Good price


What we didn't like so much:
* It's not a hotel, so changing your sheets costs an extra $25 and a full clean is $50.
* It's an old building so the heating (which you can't control) makes a bit of a racket every so often.
* No view where we were. Just scaffolding and a building.
* Decor a little tired. We didn't really want to spend any time lounging in the room.
* Queen beds rather than King in the double room we had.

So, it's a solid three out of five. If you want a decent base to do Chicago, this is fine. If you like some luxury, keep looking!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the lake. Our room didn't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EndaGuinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

DeWitt place was a bit disappointing. It looked so lovely in the photos on the internet. The room appeared clean when we first entered. Getting into bed the first night we realised there were hairs in the bed. The bed made a horrible creaking sound whenever we moved. The bathroom needed a bit of TLC, it was very worn down. We wanted to do some laundry while we were there - they offered no detergent. It is in a great location though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at DeWitt Place while attending a conference at a neighboring hotel. The location was ideal, and the rate was very competitive. The room had a double or queen bed (I'm not good at judging sizes) and a fold out couch. There was a small kitchen area and table, plus a large closet, drawers, TV, small bathroom, and free wi-fi. The windows let in plenty of light. It was perfectly comfortable for a five-day stay.

What was really outstanding, though, was the service. Everyone at DeWitt Place was courteous, quick to respond to any queries or problems, eager to help, and very thoughtful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareMWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Dewitt place for one week.
What we liked:
- the kitchen in the appartment
- the neighbourhood: close to shops, restaurants and very safe
- the view of the lake from the room (although all rooms do not have views)
- the gym and sauna
- the rooftop
- the friendly staff

What we didn't like:
- in the first room we were given there was a strong gas smell. However we asked to change rooms and got a different room
- the heating made an awful noice which sometimes woke us up at night. It was also very hot in the room. We asked if we could turn it off or change the temperature but we were told we could not.
- the cleaning is not included which was not indicated when we booked the room. We were told cleaning was only included if we stayed less than 4 nights.
- the cleanliness: there was a lot of dust under the bed so I don't think that part had been cleaned.

Overall good value for money as the price is quite cheap for Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katiemimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

For my Christmas present, my boyfriend booked (through Booking.com) a 2 night stay for us at Dewitt Place for the end of January of 2013 (over 1 month in advance). Early January we decided to push our trip out a little further (to March 2013) due to complications with our work schedules, so he called Dewitt Place and talked with a gentleman at the front desk who moved our dates to the beginning of March and said we were set and good to go. We arrived on our check in date right at 3 pm (check in time) and the front desk informed us that we were listed as "no shows". After confirming with them that they had in fact moved our dates, they informed us that our card had already been charged and they had no rooms available for us. They couldn't refund our card until the GM, Juan, was in on Monday (this was on a Saturday) and for whatever reason he couldn't be reached. They had nothing to offer us, and we had no place to stay. They didn't even offer us a list of places to try, until we went back in to get one. The front desk said that Juan would call us on Monday to sort it out. Despite almost having to cancel our vacation, and then paying over twice as much for a hotel and not having the money Dewitt owed us, Juan never called on Monday. Late Monday afternoon, my boyfriend called the office at Dewitt to talk with Juan and Juan told us we would not be refunded, without a reason as to why. He refused to take responsibility for any slip up and even went as far as blaming it on Booking.com- saying it was our fault for using Booking.com. After having to pull teeth to get Juan's supervisor's name and contact information, we got it. And now, after two days of calling, multiple times, they are "not available". EVERY TIME we call. They will not refund our money. They will not offer us anything for our trouble/having to pay over twice as much for another hotel. And they will not talk with us or call us back. Both my boyfriend and I work in customer service and the complete lack of care and professionalism from Dewitt Place is astounding. We chose Dewitt because of it's sparkling reviews, never would we ever have thought this is how our trip would turn out. Though we can't review the rooms themselves, we would not recommend this place without a very strong warning of being cheated. Yes, it's cheaper and I'm sure the rooms are fine, but now we are in a (completely unplanned) $600 hole because we had to pay $435 for another hotel (one of the cheapest in the city) and Dewitt won't refund our $156 and some odd change bill for a room we never received. BEWARE.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#63 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#95 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewitt Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewitt Hotel & Suites

Property: Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Address: 900 N Dewitt Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1702 (Formerly DeWitt Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dewitt Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeWitt Place offers Chicago corporate housing and temporary furnished apartment rentals for short-term, intermediate and long term temporary housing solutions. Whether you are looking for short term housing or extended stay for business or vacation, we offer a combination of exceptional service and affordable prices which has made us a leader in Chicago corporate and leisure housing and a wonderfully unique departure from area boutique hotels.Our intimate, newly renovated and restored 82 unit 1924 vintage building offers tastefully decorated furnished studio and one-bedroom apartments that are a unique and affordable alternative to area hotels, located just blocks from Chicago's premier business and leisure destinations, while providing you with a comfortable home during your stay. Our attentive and courteous staff is always available to help make your stay with us a wonderful experience and as enjoyable as possible. At DeWitt Place you have a rare combination of convenience at your finger tips, while maintaining your individual privacy. Located one block from Lake Michigan and just steps from the famous Magnificent Mile in Chicago’s upscale Gold Coast neighborhood, DeWitt Place is conveniently located just minutes from the downtown Loop business district and steps from world class shopping, dining, nightlife, cultural and sightseeing opportunities. Our flexible housing terms allow for short or extended stays.With amenities that includes a fully-equipped, eat-in kitchen, bed and bath linens, wireless broadband internet access, satellite HDTV service, private telephone line with free local calling, a fitness room with steam shower and sauna and all utilities included, guests at DeWitt Place enjoy all of the comforts and conveniences of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Dewitt Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing