We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Man Vs Food- Outside Wrigley”

Lucky's Sandwich Company
Ranked #644 of 9,655 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Wrigleyville
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Man Vs Food- Outside Wrigley”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great place to grab some grub prior to a Cub's game. Smallish, so seating is not always available. Grab a beer and wait. Sandwhiches are good- be hungry, plenty of food. Everything is served on the sandwhich- coleslaw, fries, meat, etc. Be a man, eat it. Waitresses are interesting, crowd is looking for fun, only a few blocks from wrigley. Check it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wisctravfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    53
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Perfect pre-Wrigley Field meal”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Given the prices of food/drink at ballgames, you would be wise to fill up a bit at one of the many establishments around Wrigley before you enter the stadium. Based on reviews, I decided to try this place.

I sat at the bar and had an RC Cola and a two bagger sandwich. It's good, what can I say? A huge pile of a sandwich with slaw and fries that required a fork at the beginning and end. Also, the total bill was only $11 which is pretty great. I'd definitely return but there are so many choices in the area, I could easily be tempted to try another establishment also. What a great eating town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BikeArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best place to watch a Yankee game with Cubs fans”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yes, you read that headline right. I wandered into this bar and grill on Opening Day 2013, and sure enough, one of the TV's had the Yanks on ESPN. Now, granted this is Cubs territory, in the heart fo Wrigleyville, but the staff made me feel right at home, and the food was great. Four stars. Check it out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not as tasty as expected”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were in the Maxwell street locations.
The beer and the chicken wings were really good, but the sandwiches (main reason why we were there) hadn't the expected taste (the fries were buried), but probably we chose the wrong sandwich (the roast beef one, nothing special).
I think that this place is over rated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Biggest sandwich ever”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This place is a must if you are in the Wrigleyville area. Almost every sandwich is $8, so you can't beat the price. The meat portions on the sandwich is average BUT what makes it so great is the fresh bakery bread, the home made fries and the coleslaw piled in the sandwich. I am probably below average eater so I could only finish 1/4 of the sandwich, but my adult children who are big eaters barely finished more than 1/2 of their sandwich. They even have a Wall of Fame for the big eaters that have tackled atleast 3 sandwiches. The place is small with only about 6 tables and some bar stools on the perimeter and at the bar. We went on a Sunday early and had no problem getting our party of 7 seated but I would prepare yourself for a wait normally. We were celebrating a birthday and made the trip out from the suburbs on request just to go here. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lslyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky's Sandwich Company also viewed

 

Been to Lucky's Sandwich Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing