We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost there, but good beer list” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hop Haus - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hop Haus
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost there, but good beer list”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you're looking for a place to have a burger, a beer, and take in a game; you found it. This place does nothing special, but nothing poorly. The service was acceptable, but not special and the atmosphere was typical. The burger was pretty good, but again it was not special or craft-like. All in all, for the price this place is a good value for what it is. I'd go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grgaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Diverse menu selections accommodate any appetite. From the "sliders" to full size sandwiches, salads, and excellent beer selection - delicious. Forget the martinis though - the "electric lemonade" I had tasted like powdered mix lemonade and cheap bar brand vodka, and for $10, I expect better, The food made up for the slooow service - understaffed? Our bus-person was far more attentive than wait person. The food and friends made it very good.
http://www.thehophaus.com/aboutus.html

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been here probably 20x. Each time, my friends and I come around 5-6pm and get the happy hour specials: beer and nachos :) Also, the sliders are fabulous. I recommend any of them!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ctepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food slow service and it's closing down or moving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have been hear a couple times and had good food, drinks at the bar, never had crazy slow service but everyone I know says the service is slow. Doesn't matter now cause they are closing up shop here

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GuidoTheKilerPimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Burgers and Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Great value gormet burgers, huge selection of beer and very friendly staff. Worhtwhile stop indeed!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg_and_Rachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing