We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance”
Review of The Tasting Room - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Tasting Room
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Neighborhood: West Loop
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West Loop
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Restaurant on one side, wine shop on the other. Attended a wine tasting in the wine shop and moved to the restaurant after. Dim, candlelight dining. Perfect for a few glasses of wine and good conversation. Pizzas were delicious!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Must for Wine Lovers!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I have been here twice with groups and it was great both times. Wine lovers an novices will both appreciate the helpful staff and variety. The small plates are also very tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoSpaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best Taste of Chicago is Open All Year!”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Great location, lots of parking either behind the restaurant or on the street. Very romantic setting, and a great room for a group event. If you love to share, you'll love to try this menu, not to mention the fantastic wine pairings from their robust cellar, or just pick what you like.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InLoveWithChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view, great tastings”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Service was slow in the beginning, but it got better through the evening. We each had a wine pairing and chose 5 items for our cheese flight. Everything tasted great! We also tried the pork mini sandwiches with root bear BBQ sauce. Finally, we ended the night with the chocolate fondue. Great tasting, but too much fruit, not enough pound cake or marshmallows.

Great view of the city from the second floor. It's a little expensive, but definitely a place to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20PANCAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Elegant and laid back all at once”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I was here for my girlfriend's bacholerette party and I enjoyed it! I ordered the bread and butter and had wine with the girls. The bread was warm and fresh with 3 types of homemade butter, very good! The ambiance was classy but laid back. Service was excellent! And the location was great with ample free street parking!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing