We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Takashi - CLOSED

Takashi
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Cross street: Armitage
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had the omakase recently and was blown away by every bite. The ribeye, pork belly, and scallops are out of this world. I've been to Takashi a number of times, but always leave marveling at how great the food and experience was. If you don't get the omakase, order a bunch of small plates rather than entrees.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    26
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
140 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Up there with the French Laundry and Boulud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had the 11 course Japanese Kaiseki Dinner offered on Sunday evenings.
The pacing of the courses was perfect, the food was so outstanding that we wished we could start all over again, but we were too full. We ordered the wine pairing with the dinner. Best choice ever. We were introduced to sakes we had never had and particularly loved the sparkling sake. Each course was so different, but the flavors were fabulous in each one. I don't prefer ales so they just poured a larger Vouvray for me that would go into the next course perfectly. This is one of the best values in town. It is a special event with dinner at $100 and the wine pairing $55 per person. We did not feel cheated in any way. The food was fabulous, meticulously prepared, the service incredible and the wine pairings perfect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had the 7 course tasting menu, and all 7 courses were good. The scallops were the star of the show, but the monkfish and pork bellies were also quite superb. The dessert course, the egg, is perfect and just the right portion size. It's more expensive than I usually pay but well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We had great expectations from all the review we have read. We were impressed with the big eye tuna tartari and the pork belly appetizers. Our main entrees weren't as carefully prepared as the starters. The fluke with risotto though tasty had several bones in it. It takes away from the tasting experience when you have to worry about finding bones in your food. The duck breast was overdone making it quite chewy and the scallion tempura was cold making it greasy. We also ordered 2 desserts and instead of giving us 1 of the desserts for free or informing us of a complimentary dessert, the kitchen sent a 3rd dessert as an apology for the bones in the fish. It seemed like an after thought to us. The desserts were good but not wow good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Chicago favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

When visiting our son in Chicago we love to sample the great restaurants in Chicago. So far Takashi is the hands down favorite. We have been there three times and each was memorable. It is worth going there just for The Egg, an indescribably and surprising little dessert. The chef's menu is delicious, but just sharing a selection of small dishes also offers a satisfying delight of creative and tasty morsels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing