We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value, good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #113 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Doubletree Mag Mile (which isn't actually on the Mag Mile) is a fine place to stay for those seeking dependable chain hotel comfort in great location in downtown Chicago's Streeterville area.
It will be very familiar to anyone who knows Doubletree hotels - a freshly baked cookie at check-in. The lobby is a little dated looking, but fairly large and usually busy. The lower level of the lobby has lounging areas, conference rooms and an overpriced business center.
The rooms are large and very comfortable. They're modern and well-equipped, and the beds are uber-comfy. The bathrooms are also very large with plenty of counterspace, if a little plain. The shower pressure is fine, and there are Neutrogena bath products at your disposal.
The snack tray in the room is touch-sensitive, so don't bump the dresser to hard or you might find an unexpected charge for pretzels on your bill. Thankfully, the coffeemakers are fronted by (very good) Wolfgang Puck coffees and actual liquid Coffee Mate, rather than that powdered crap.
The TV set was an older model, although I'm told the hotel is in the process of updating to the flat-screen standard. The air conditioning was more than adequate - the room was frigid even though the temp outside was approaching 95 degrees.
I didn't use the room service or visit in the in-house restaurant. There's an Einstein Bagels outlet just off the lobby.
The location is a great one for visiting Chicago. It's a couple of (long) blocks from N. Michigan Avenue, and there are plenty of restaurants and stores in the blocks around the hotel, including a Dominick's grocery store and a multiplex movie theater. The proximity to Navy Pier also meant that there were a few too many screaming children in the hotel for my taste.
Two CTA bus lines (66 Chicago and 157 Streeterville) stop right at the hotel's Fairbanks St. entrance. Several other bus lines run up and down Michigan, and the CTA red line Grand subway stop is about a four-block walk away.
The Doubletree is a fine place to stay. My only real gripe was that the four elevators could get very slow at times.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michiganmarlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeMM, Guest Relations Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive and comprehensive feedback. We are happy you decided to stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future!
Very Best,
Guest Relations Admin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,656 - 2,662 of 3,041 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

We had a top floor room, plenty of space for the four of us. Wonderful stop- see the bean, the art gallery is truly world class, the Ledge is scary, the shopping excellent,the zoo terrific and free and having a cocktail in the John Hancock bar after the sun goes down is unforgettable- be patient, it is well worth the wait. The rooms are good, the pool wonderful in the summer and the staff friendly and efficient. Three minutes walk to the magnificent mile- my shopaholic daughter was in seventh heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwlsTrentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Relations Admin. Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

JwlsTrentham, thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit to the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile. We are glad to hear about your satisfaction with the hotel and the service we provided. Please visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed for one night in early August as part of Great Rail Journey party. Unfortunately we ended up in a room with no view at all except for a roof. Location was good for Hancock Tower and Navy Pier though.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montoya99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Montoya99, thank you for your comments on your recent lodging experience at the Doubletree and we are pleased that you had a great time while at the hotel. I am sorry about he view, on your next visit with us please ask the front desk clerk to make sure you have a view room. They will do their best to assist you with this request. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I thought the hotel was very good. Fast check in, always love warm cookies. Room was a decent size with a great view of the lake. It was clean and looked up to date. Bathroom lighting was a bit dim, but that was my only complaint. It could be easily corrected by adding sconces to both sides of the mirror. Location is great with easy access to the Mag. Mile and the Navy Pier.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Servive Admin. Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Dbokie, thanks for your feedback about your stay at the Doubletree Mag Mile. We are glad that you enjoy the cookies and we hope that you will be back to enjoy them again!
We look forward to seeing you back at the Doubletree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We found a deal on Travelzoo for this hotel; it was $100 off per night. We also had free continental breakfast vouchers; food was ok. The hotel was very busy with tourists so there was a small wait for the elevators. Lots of kids. They had an outdoor pool which was suprising for Chicago. The internet is free only in the lobby; a lot of people were taking advantage of it. The parking was $49 per day in the hotel garage. If you park across the street on the surface lot it is only $30 per day; much cheaper. The hotel was clean and the bed comfortable. The location is not far from the Pier or the shopping on the Mile. They also have a reasonably priced shuttle to the airport but we did not take advantage of it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FENTON64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I was a little Disappointed with the doubletree after staying there on August 10th. The room lacked a coffee maker, but had the coffee accessories, there were large black hairs in the tub and the TV was very dated. However we did order room service since we got to the hotel late and the food was suprisingly good. We order a Mac and cheese for my son and when they viewed the order they sent up a beverage free of charge for my son since we hadn't ordered one. The next morning we went to the bfast buffet which was included in our room rate and was surprised by the selection. There was hot food as well as fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt with various toppings and decent coffee. Parking was outrageous of course, but it is at all downtown hotels. Overall the room was a bit dissapointing, but the staff/ service was great.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeMM, Guest Relations Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

Dear trippinmama,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile. I want to apologize for the missing coffee maker in your guest room. Each room comes equipped with individual coffee maker machines for the Wolfgang Puck coffee pouches. I certainly regret to hear that your room was not up to our high standards of cleanliness and fell short of the coffee machine. I have shared your feedback with the Housekeeping department to investigate this issue. I am especially glad to know you had an enjoyable dining experience with us, and you enjoyed the level of customer service our staff provided. I will share your comments with our team and I know they will be appreciative of your feedback. They, along with the rest of us look forward to a chance to welcome you and your son back to the Doubletree Mag Mile.
Best regards,
Guest Relations of The Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had a great stay at the Doubletree. The location was perfect... close to Magnificent Mile, close to Navy Pier, not too far from Millenium Park either. We were on the 6th floor, and had no problems with waiting long for elevators at all. Rooms are spacious, plenty of room for our family. Pool was fun... a little cold... but felt great given the hot weather! It was a good size pool. We enjoyed watching the Navy Pier fireworks from the pool deck Wednesday eveningn. We felt we got a great price for our 4 nights there. Although everyone was friendly the bellhops were by far the friendliest people there... all of them were so friendly and helpful. We saw them throughout our stay and they alway greeted us and asked the kids how their days were - such great service. One noticed my son's socce shirt and had a nice conversation with him about soccer and the World Cup. My son thought that was so cool that a "grown up" would want to talk to him about that!!! We'd definately stay there again when we come back to Chicago. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeMM, Guest Relations Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Dear lorose,
Thank you very much for your nice comments about your recent stay at the Doubletree. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and I am very happy that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one. We will share your comments with the entire team and we hope to be of service to you again in the future!

Best regards,
Guest Relations of the Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $87 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing