We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #107 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Good Location”
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I stayed here this past weekend with some friends to go to an event in the city. I was satisfied, but the hotel has some things to work on for sure...read on:

-I used Hilton's "Requests Upon Arrival" system online where you can order things like extra towels, pillows or beverages to have delivered to your room before you even check in. I knew that there were going to be 4 guys in 1 hotel room, so some extra towels and pillows would be great. These items were NOT in the room, even though I specifically requested them months prior when making the reservation. What gives?

-3 bath towels in a room that is meant to hold up to 4 guests. That's the hotel being cheap right there, clearly.

-We did not find out the hotel has an indoor pool available to guests until we checked in so we did not bring our swim suits. Why is this information not on the website?

-Housekeeper tried to enter our room on Sunday morning without announcing herself when we had a Do Not Disturb sign up. Thankfully the room was locked, but still...come on now.

-After returning late from a bar one night, we got in the elevator and had a security guard come in after us. He did not say a word to us, but just followed us to our room and then left. SO CREEPY. I am really not okay with this...made me feel like I was a criminal or something.

-Location is very good...just maybe 2 blocks from Mag Mile and a few more to other good areas like State Street and the Red Line CTA. We could also walk to Vision/Excalibur where our event was at.

-The hotel has been renovated and brought up to date with contemporary furniture, but you can still tell it was once a Holiday Inn back in the 80s just by the architecture and layout. The remodel really did do a good job though and it's on par with other Doubletree hotels, although they did not replace the TVs. Rooms really could benefit from some flat-panel TVs. Really like the window-seats in the room, great for storing luggage or extra clothes.

-Friendly bellmen, always saying hello and seeing if we needed a cab.

-Easy access to 7/11, McDonalds, bagel shop and Dunkin Donuts for quick bites.

-Free WiFi in the lobby

SO, all in all, I would stay here again if I got a really good rate; however, I think there are better hotels in this city with more personal service and a better attention to detail...two things that are very important to me as a guest.

I would welcome a management response to my comments.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcadrenaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 2, 2009
Mcadrenaline, thank you for your feed back regarding your recent stay at the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile. I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, I assure you that this is not the standard of the hotel and I have also shared your comments with the operational staff. I truly appreciate you sharing your experience as it is with feedback such as yours that we can continue to provide exceptional customer service that our guests expect and our reputation is based upon. Thank you for your business and for choosing us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    1,094
    544
    196
    121
See reviews for
884
615
150
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This hotel is close to the magnificent mile. Check in was swift. Room was spacious, especially for a city hotelroom. Nice view. Very comfortable beds. There's is a nice breakfast restaurant across the street (The Egg Cafe).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Elmer&Lizette, thanks for choosing the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Mag Mile! We strive to give our guest the best possible customer service and make them feel at home. I am happy to hear that is just what you received! Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
717 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We travelled across the USA on a tour organised by Great Rail Journeys of York between the 7th and 27th October 2009. We stayed at the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile between the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier for one night. We were impressed that rooms had been prepared for occupation at 1145 on our arrival and we were presented with cookies on arrival and from our 20th Floor room we had a magnificent view although we could hear traffic noise from below. The room was large and comfortable and we slept well. The hospitality tray was limited. The hotel was very clean with modern decor and a large and busy foyer area. The staff in the gift shop were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Topkoppite, thanks for commenting on your stay here at the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Mag Mile! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and visited the great city of Chicago. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2009

This hotel had a nice clean room newly updated. It was a few blocks from mag mile. The service was good. It did not have a workout room or pool. Also some hotels in this class have complimetary breakfast and this did not.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Jen332, I am glad that you had a nice time here at the hotel. We have a brand new workout room located in the lobby level of the hotel; we hope that you will visit us soon so you can get a chance to use the state of the art equipment! Thanks for your feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I landed this hotel via Hotwire ($69), having a good idea that where Hotwire would place me in Streeterville would quite possibly be here. It totally suited my purposes and comfort as I was in the area for a few days for a friend's wedding in this area. It was lovely to be able to walk to the various locations (Ivy Room, Conrad Hillton, etc) we were to be at - and pay the rate I was able to secure for the quality of accommodations. The bellman who greeted me at the door and was on duty several times in the 3 days/2 nights I was there was cheery and helpful. Loved having Einstein's Bagels on the ground floor area for on the go lunch or breakfast option. Totally pleased with the 2 double bed room. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Suzelle, it is great to hear that you had a very nice stay with us at the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile! We always like to hear back from our guests, we hope that when you are in the Chicago area that we will be your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc MI
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Two room suite with the usual Doubletree cleanliness. This hotel is a short walk from MM and all the shopping. The pool, which is located near the top of this hotel is such a change from the ground floor experience. I know you are not suppose to look in others homes, but I could not help but to see in the homes that were in the buildings from one of the windows. The room was very quiet. I would recommend this hotel, especially if you need to save money for shopping!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Services Admin Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Jettygwk, Thank you for your nice compliments about the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile. We are glad that you had a great time and hope that you will be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Welcoming reception area with good staff and ground floor bar. Not on, but short distance from MM. Good size well appointed rooms. Did not eat in the restaurant as many options nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngandfiftyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 190 in Chicago
5,018 reviews
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing