We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, unfriendly staff, pool closes too early”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed here 2 nights in August. When I pulled into the driveway and unloaded the kids to go check-in, I was told that I needed to park in the parking garage FIRST and then check in. I thought this was interesting because the same guy was helping other people unload their luggage from their cars, and then waiting for them as they checked in. But we had to park in the parking garage, unload our car in the parking gargage and bring our luggage with us to the front desk and then check in. I have a theory on this, but hesitate to say. Anyway, minus the unfriendly staff, including front desk person, the hotel was nicely located close to shopping. There is a free trolley that will drop you off close to your hotel (not at) from Navy Pier. Our room was nice, bed and pillows were comfortable. The kids complaint was that the pool closed too early. Many of the hotels close their pools at 11:00. This pool closes at 10:00 pm so if you go out for dinner and don't get to the restaurant at 5:00, or go shopping later, by the time you get back to the hotel the pool will be closing. We did go one morning and it was neat that it was on the roof, (on the 5th floor) but in a city like Chicago with things being open later, it would be nice for the pool to stay open later as well. The biggest plus is that most things are within walking distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayhawk6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,897)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,618 - 2,624 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2009

We spent one night at the Doubletree after spending 3 nights in Westmont traveling into town each day. Both have their pluses, one being the cheaper prices out of town! We thoroughly enjoyed being within walking distance of everything! We parked our car early in the a.m. at the garage and checked in later. The next a.m., we walked around a bit thinking we'd be charged by the hour since we were past our 24 hour limit and were happy to still be charged the set $41 price that came with our room.

My son and I walked to Navy Pier that evening and I felt relatively safe walking back at night with just the two of us. Since it's a tourist area, you can always find someone to hang close behind.

The rooftop pool was nice, on the 5th floor, but ran out of towels on a chiily evening. They were replaced shortly after we left. We paid extra for a lakeview room on the 23rd floor but could see very little of it with the other buildings blocking the view.

Elevators were prompt and staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justanohmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2009

Justanohmom,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us here at the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Mag Mile. I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay; Westmont is a very nice suburb of Chicago. We look for ward to your return visit! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed here a week and found the staff helpful and knowledgeable. Location is just a couple of blocks off Michigan, convenient for shopping, also across the street from a Domenick's grocery store. Room was clean and well maintained. Lobby bar was inviting. Only downside was no free wi fi in rooms, only free wi fi in lobby. did not eat at any of the hotel restaurants, but West Egg across the street had great breakfasts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2009

CaliforniaJeanne,

Thank you for your feedback about our stafff and the great customer service that they provided. We hope that we will see you back at the hotel soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Hubby and I went to Chicago for a couple of days in July to go to a Cubs game and sitesee. The hotel was easy to find and parking was easy. The check-in went smooth and the welcome cookies were tasty.

Our room was nice and clean and had plenty of towels. The decor was modern and not something I would want at my house but cool to have in a hotel room. We could see a little sliver of the lake from our room, but we hadn't paid for a great view. The rooftop pool was nice. The water was cold and a hot tub would have been welcome. I guess there was wifi in the lounge area but we didn't use it.

We didn't eat in the restaurant there, but the menu did look good and compettiive pricing for other restaurants in the area. The location is within a decent walking distance of shops and many restaurants. The door man did get us a taxi so we could go to the Oak Street Beachstro, the food there was just okay. But it was neat to be on a Chicago beach with palm trees. We also ate at the Weber Grill (hubby's choice) and that had good food. We did go out at night and felt safe in the area around the hotel.

Overall the hotel was a good experience and next year when we go down for another Cubs game we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajrwdwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2009

Ajrwdwgirl,

Thanks for the great review and I am really happy to hear that you had a great stay! We strive to give the best customer service at all times and it is nice to know that we hit the mark. We hope that when you are back in the Chicago area that you will be back to the Doubletree Mag Mile. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

I stayed at the Doubletree for 3 nights July 10-13. Just a few blocks walking distance to Magnificient Mile, great eateries surrounding the hotel, and just a few blocks to the Navy Pier.

The rooms were very nicely decorated and the staff was very helpful and nice.

I think this was perfect location if you are interested in being close to the Maginificient Mile.

I would stay here again. Walking distance to eateries, a great wine bar down the street, and a few nice breakfeast restaurants. Short cab rides to other parts of town such as Mortons or Harry Carays.

About 20 minutes to Midway airport. Cab ride was $25.00 including tip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Services Admin Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

rvh0111,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Mag Mile!
It is always nice to hear from former guests about their great experiences here at the hotel. If your travels bring you back to the Chicago area we hope that you will visit us again!
Have a great day!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My wife and I chose the Doubletree for its great location and very reasonable price over the 4th of July. When we first checked into our room, the bathroom wasnt completely cleaned but once we notified the front desk, housekeeping was sent right up. After the 1st night in the room, the ice machine just outside in the hall leaked water into the hall and into our room. Once again the front desk didnt dissappoint and apologized and quickly moved us to a different room. Also, the concierge was great and offered a few different dinner recomendations.

As for the room, it was large with comfortable beds and pretty large bathrooms. We didnt go out to the pool but saw people in it constantly from our window. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting who wants to be near the Magnificent Mile. We would surely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Services Administrative Assistant at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2009

JMCBride,

Thank you for your positive feed back about your recent stay here at the Doubletree Mag Mile! I am sorry about the water incident, but I am glad that the front desk staff took care of you right away! We were glad you came and are pleased to hear that you will be back!
Have a great day!
The Doubletree Mag Mile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

3 of us stayed here for 6 days and loved every minute. Location is great for walking to Navy Pier, Millenium park, Magnificent Mile shopping and Riverside.
Used the "loop" to get to Sear's Tower.Used the Trolley Bus tour to see city highlights and then Wrigley's Park Stadium- excellent value.
Found that reasonably priced restaurant choice was a bit limited however breakfast at the West Egg opposite the hotel was very good.
Rooms at the hotel are well appointed and well managed.
Contrary to other reports we read we found use of the roof pool is free to guests.
All staff were very helpful however a special mention must be of Ron at reception who seemed to find that nothing was too much bother- a really nice guy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfielangleyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 191 in Chicago
5,051 reviews
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $120 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing